Customer Reviews for

A Plain and Simple Christmas

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent story of Amish that left their community and wished to return to visit

    The Amish people live a noticeably different life from others, a life that has strong belief in God but also a plain simplistic family life that differs from outsiders. If an Amish person leaves their community, they leave their style of life and are shunned by the remaining family members and others in the Amish community. The only exception is when a young person is given the option of taking a year or less away from their Amish community to roam the outside world to decide if they prefer the Amish way or the outside way of life. This period of time is called rumspringe. Anna Mae Beiler McDonough was one who chose to leave her Amish family to get married to an Englishman, as the Amish refer to Americans outside their communities. Ana Mae and Kellan were married and settled in Baltimore where they lived a happy life with their children. Kellan owned a Chevrolet dealership and Anna Mae was pregnant with their first child due in January. As Thanksgiving and Christmas approached, Anna Mae had a very strong desire to go and visit her Amish family back in Lancaster, Pennsylvania but she knew that many in the family would be dead set against her returning since she had turned her back on them when she married outside the community. Anna Mae wrote to Kathryn, one of her sisters, and expressed her desire. When a return letter came it brightened her life with the great news that her sister would do all in her power to prepare the family for a visit from the McDonough family. Kellan was hesitant to allow his pregnant wife to make a trip that could be stressful and no one knew what would occur when they arrived in the Amish community. Kathryn said she would make reservations at a nearby bed and breakfast so they had a good restful place to stay. Kathryn's husband, David, was also against the visit knowing that Anna Mae's father was the local Bishop and he would not look at or speak with those who had been shunned by leaving their faith. They eventually decided make the trip and despite Anna Mae's pregnancy becoming close to delivery, her doctor gave approval. When they arrived most of the family greeted them with open arms but several were distant with them and Anna's father would leave the area where any of the McDonough's were. The visit was so wonderful for most of the family and the family bakery was brimming with all kinds of Christmas goodies making that store a great gathering place for the women. All the attempts to get Anna's father to recognize his daughter failed. But, when labor began early and Anna Mae and Kellan were stuck in a snowdrift while a snowstorm blew in the entire area, the rest of the family had to respond to help that baby come into the world. A terrific fictional story that gives a good account of Amish living and their inter-relationships whether outsiders or Amish. A great family story. Thanks Amy Clipston.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    recommend

    Loved it! Would definetly read other books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    I loved this book

    Amy Clipston has written another endearing book. This one shows us how belief in God can make anything happen. The Amish aren't portrayed as holier then thou and have human failings just like the rest of us. It was a fast read and I cried through the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Yeah

    It kicks ass

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Wonderful book! I could not put it down. I have read other books by Amy Clipston and have recommended this one and the others to my sisters and friends. There are discussion questions at the end of the book which makes it great for book clubs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Thia This book is awsome

    I love this book because it is awsome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Loved it!!!

    If you love to read about the Amish you'll love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Written for possibly a 10 year old in mind

    I couldn't finish reading this book it was, in my opinion, written so predictably that I was bored to tears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Wonderful book

    I would recommended this book to everyone who enjoys reading about the Amish people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Loved the Book

    I am a big fan of Amy Clipston and her writing of Amish fiction. This book did not disappoint. She makes you think about love and forgiveness through different eyes. I wish that she would write faster so that more books would be available. If you love Cindy Woodsmall, Cynthia Keller and Marta Perry, you will love Amy Clipston!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Very good!

    I really enjoyed this book! I plan to read all of Amy Clipton's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Love Christmas Stories!

    This is a wonderful book and very enjoyable to read. This is great author. You won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Heart-warming

    Amy Clipston hits another one out of the park with "A Plain and Simple Christmas". A heartwarming tale about the relationships between family members, and the gifts of healing, reconciliation and grace. A wonderful inspirational novella written in the same fresh style as Clipston's other books in her Kauffman Amish Bakery series. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Okay okay! I'm hopelessly in love with Christmas stories any time of year!

    Synopsis from Zondervan:
    "In A Plain and Simple Christmas, from the author of the widely popular Kauffman Amish Bakery Series, shunned Anna Mae doesn't receive the welcome she expects when she pays a visit for Christmas and her world begins to fall apart, leaving her to question her place in her family - and her faith in Amish tradition."


    My take on it....


    Amy Clipston, author of the Kaurffman Amish Bakery series, has baked up a delicious confection in A Plain and Simple Christmas. It is a tale of love, heartache, discernment, deceit, and hope for a Christmas miracle.


    The characters are alive and real. The emotions are raw and at times unchecked. Anna Mae, a young Amish woman who left the faith to marry an Englisher, longs to be reunited to her family in Paradise. Her mother, Mary Rose, aches for her youngest daughter in the deep way only a mother can ache. Both seek Father God in prayer. Kathryn, Anna Mae's sister-in-law, longs also to see the family reunited. Will God answer her prayer for confirmation?


    What about the men? Kellan, Anna Mae's husband, fulfills Anna Mae's desire to visit her family; but, how committed to reconciliation is he? Henry, Anna Mae's father, bishop of the district, has shunned his daughter for leaving the family, the faith, and him. What can soften his hardened heart? Will Anna Mae's brother, David, find it in his heart to forgive?
    Is anything to hard for God?


    Enter into this world of blizzards, chocolate cake, and Christmas miracles. It's a cool way to enjoy some warm hours...
    even on a hot day.


    Five stars.


    I thoroughly enjoyed this story and will seek out more of Amy Clipston's books.

    I received this book from Zondervan free in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Heartwarming story!

    This is a wonderful story of faith & hope. A great Christmas story. Short, but well worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Plain and Simple Christmas

    Bestselling author, Amy Clipston, well known for her Kauffman Amish Bakery series has brought readers a Christmas story about an Amish girl who defied her community and married a man who wasn't Amish. A Plain and Simple Christmas is a story about the love that families share regardless of the circumstances that arise to keep them apart, how God works in mysterious ways to bring about healing and what part love plays in religion.

    Anna Mae McDonough was shunned four years ago for marrying a man who wasn't Amish. It's Christmas and she desperately wants to find a way to bring her family back into her life. She's pregnant with her first child and is feeling the separation in very deep way. When she shows up at Christmas her family seems less than thrilled and Anna's life begins to spiral out of control. She begins to doubt herself, her decisions and even her faith. But, Christmas is the season of miracles. Can Anna Mae and her family put aside their differences? Or is it really too late.

    I have not had the privilege to read any of the Kauffman Amish Bakery stories. A Plain and Simple Christmas is my first read from Amy Clipston, but it certainly won't be my last. Clipston's style of writing really appealed to me. It had a very emotional quality to it that pulled me in as a reader and made me really feel for the characters. Not only was Anna Mae suffering from being estranged from her family, but her family suffered as well. The dialogue used between the characters also showed great use of empathy. It moved the plot forward while also creating intimacy and conveying a lot of emotion for the readers to pick up on.

    This was very emotional book. I can't imagine being apart from my family at Christmas time, let alone any other time of the year and adding to that a first pregnancy would be almost unbearable. Anna Mae was such a compelling character, readers will be able to feel her pain and understand her longing to have both her family and her faith. When it seems she can't have but one or the other. I loved the way the author was able to convey the seriousness of her decision to marry someone outside her faith. Clipston also shows the confusing emotions of those in her family, especially her father, when he tries to reconcile what he feels is his daughters betrayal of their faith, with the feelings of love he still feels for her.

    I really enjoyed this novella and felt it was just right for the holiday season. At just under 200 pages, it's a quick read, which is wonderful for the hustle and bustle this time of year. It's a story about love and understanding and that's what Christmas is all about to me. I recommend this one to readers who love Amish fiction, Christian fiction or just a good heart felt Christmas read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    A HEARTWARMING STORY OF AMISH FAITH, LOVE AND FORGIVENESS!

    A PLAIN & SIMPLE CHRISTMAS by Amy Clipston is a heartwarming, sweet inspirational fiction/general. it is well written with strong characters,details and depth. It has Amish,faith,love,forgiveness,birth of a babe,separation of a family member,family, shunning,an Amish marrying a Englisher, following God's will no matter the consequences, and the miracle of Christmas.This is a sweet heartwarming story of faith and family differences and the coming together of a family. Anna Mae is shunned by her family after marrying Kellan, an Englisher by her family. Her father, the bishop of their Amish community refuses to welcome her home for a visit. Anna is with her first child and determined to make amends with her family. She wants her child to her family. Her husband only has a sister. She enlists the help of her sister-in-law. Although, all does not go has planned. We have a near delivery of their baby in a barn, a disastrous dinner at Anna's brother's house, and the forgiveness of her father after her husband shows him the Christian way. This is a quick read, fast paced, page turning story of family, forgiveness,the bond between mother,daughter,family and the miracle of Christmas.I would highly recommend this book for it is a great read for Christmas and will lift your spirits. This book was received for review from Library Thing and details can be found at Zondervan and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    Highly recommended

    I love this book. You just can't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One choice can change your life forever.

    One choice can change your life forever.

    Amy has written a wonderful tale full of the struggles, choices, and consequences. Her storyline is easy to follow and visualize. Her characters with clear voices, ridged standards, and differing opinions provide unexpected results.

    Christmas is a time when hearts can heal and lives transform. Anna Mae and Kellan make a journey back to the Amish community of Anna's birth. Shunned because she chose an Englisher for a husband Anna seeks to reunite with family and friends. Will she succeed? Will the spirit of Christmas soften broken hearts?

    A Plain and Simple Christmas is a rewarding read for a snowy day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    A Heartwarming Tale!

    Amy Clipston hits another one out of the park with "A Plain and Simple Christmas". A heartwarming tale about the relationships between family members, and the gifts of healing, reconciliation and grace. A wonderful inspirational novella written in the same fresh style as Clipston's other books in her Kauffman Amish Bakery series. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3