Customer Reviews for

Plainsong

Average Rating 4
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Plainsong

A inside look at small town life is exactly what you get from Plainsong, a novel by Kent Haruf. Holt, Colorado is a typical small town with its fair share of drama and problems. This story of unlikely friends brought together by their family problems is heartwarming and...
A inside look at small town life is exactly what you get from Plainsong, a novel by Kent Haruf. Holt, Colorado is a typical small town with its fair share of drama and problems. This story of unlikely friends brought together by their family problems is heartwarming and will leave you wanting more.
At first glance Holt might seem like the perfect small town, but at a closer look you will see that it has a set of problems. A pregnant teen that gets kicked out of her house and Tom Guthrie's wife leaving him to raise two young boys on his own a just a couple of difficulties the town experiences. Luckily there are people with big hearts to help them out.
Maggie Jones offers Victoria a place to stay, but after her father and Victoria have a conflict it is clear it isn't going to work. So Raymond and Harold McPherons offer for her to go stay with them. It is a weird considering that the McPherons brothers are old farmers that had never lived with a girl except their mother who died when they were young. The relationship they form is what makes this story heartwarming and inspirational.
Another odd relationship that is formed is between the Guthrie boys and an old lady that lives in an apartment. After their mother leaves them she is one of the few women that they have in their lives. She enjoys the boys company because she doesn't have any other visitors. They form a great relationship that helps the boys through the tough time in their lives. In the little town when things seem like they are falling apart it seems like there is always someone there to catch it, but can it stay that way forever?
Overall, Plainsong is an excellent book that people that like to learn about small town life would love. The story is heartwarming, inspirational and can provide hope to people that are at a tough point in their life.

posted by Brandi31 on October 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Yuck- That's all I can say

My library is one that does not have alot of good books. Most of them are stupid, secular books that have no theme and no character devolopment. When I read the info on what this book was about, I literally thought to myself, 'Ok, this is going to be one of the rare boo...
My library is one that does not have alot of good books. Most of them are stupid, secular books that have no theme and no character devolopment. When I read the info on what this book was about, I literally thought to myself, 'Ok, this is going to be one of the rare books that is pretty good and well-written.' Well, about four chapters into the book, I realized that this book was the same, if not worse, than the others. I guess maybe I'm being paranoid, but it had every bad word in the English language multiple times. Almost all of the book dealt with adult content that young adults should not be reading, and there was absolutely nothing to learn. The characters had no development, there was no real plot, and even though I read it in one day, I can say that this is one that I will talk to my library about removing to save all the other teens from reading a book that is not worth reading.

posted by Anonymous on July 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Northern Midwestern

    Very much a northern, small town, midwestern story. It is a story in "black and white." Not colorful. But.....it is the way people live, think, problem solve up there. A sweet story with realistic events.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    so what that the characters are developed

    Lets hope after 300 long pages we get some character development. Not a page turner, but not bad on the other hand. One of those books when your friends see left on your coffee table, they think you are smart. Too many situations that made me feel uneasy. Glad I finished/got it over with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    Interesting read!

    I thought that Plainsong was a good book, although i did think that it was a little graphic and had to many swear words. This novel has a great story ling about a girl getting pregnatnt at the are of 17. She got kicked out of her mothers house and than was taken in my two elderly men you stepped out of their normal dayly routine to take care of her and love her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2005

    Believable Except for

    the use of profanity. It jumps off the page which indicates to me it seems somewhat contrived. The language would be more believable if the profanity was not used primarily in the context of anger and hostility. Even the professionals at the clinic and hospital speak in this consistent manner. However, the description of the small town plains community is otherwise right on and it is heartwarming the way the characters reach beyond their troubled lives and come together as a family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2002

    AN OKAY BOOK

    I like the author's style of writing very much, but when I finished the book, I was left with the feeling of 'so what?' While there are a wide variety of characters in this book, none of them are very likeable and/or memorable. This is a take-it-or-leave-it book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2001

    OKAY, BUT NOT GREAT!!!

    I asked for this book for Christmas, so my husband went & baught me the hard cover. All I can say...if you want to read it make sure you get it from a friend or find it in the bargain book section. It really was not worth all the money he paid for it. Don't get me wrong...it was an okay read, but not a page turner. Not exciting either. It actually took me a couple of weeks to get through it. In fact when I finished I just sat their and tried to figure out what the book was all about and what the meaning or message was suppose to come across other than...I don't know!!! If you just like an okay read or even a nice read burrow this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2001

    Pretty Cover...

    I bought this book because of the attractive cover and title. Nicely drawn out characters, but hoped for more interaction and less predictability. Don't let that stop you from buying it - it was a nice read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2000

    A Good Read

    The title of Kent Haruf¿s new novel really says it all. Plainsong describes the lives of some of the residents of Holt, Colorado; each of the different plots deals with issues of life, death, and the bonds that link a community together. The stories are told with a simple, understandable prose that creates characters who are more realistic and down-to-earth, and makes identifying with the characters possible. One of the things that sets Plainsong apart from other novels is Haruf¿s narration, which never quite lets us see into the minds of any of his characters. Like the emptiness of the Colorado plains that surround the small town, the thoughts of the characters are defined by their absence: Plainsong gains extraordinary realism with its characters by leaving out everything except what can be observed from the outside. This unique point of view makes Kent Haruf¿s Plainsong a truly memorable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2000

    Simply written with a good story

    It has a good/happy ending but left a few things dangling. Maybe to allow for a series of books to follow the lives of those in Holt. The story is a little too simple for me. Glad I read it though. If only to read about the McPheron brothers. They at least brought some humor to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2000

    An interesting look at relationships

    In this novel, Haruf explores many aspects of community living, and he highlights this point by setting his novel in small, rural Holt, Colorado. He challenges traditional social structures, but at the same time he affirms them. For instance, Haruf gives his own definition of what a family really is and how one is formed. He shows that the bonds we form with people who were once strangers can be just as strong and supportive as those we form naturally in our own families. This novel offers an in-depth look at how we all fit into society, how our social roles affect how we live, and how we can overcome the limitations that often accompany these social roles. After having the opportunity to hear Haruf speak, I know that he drew on his own experiences in creating his characters, and this knowledge has heightened my appreciation of their authenticity. While the plot is a bit slow and uneventful, the ideas and arguments that the novel raises, especially those redefining traditional social roles, make 'Plainsong' a worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2000

    Good depiction of common life

    Good summation of universal life according to commoners. The reason the story is relatable is that everyone can identify with one or some of the characters. But the lack of excitement in the story, other than a few fights and exciting scenes, the story is a little too.....plain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1