Customer Reviews for

Plan B: Further Thoughts on Faith

Average Rating 3.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Right-winger Loves Anne Lamott

As I read the previous reviews, I thought it important that you hear from 'the other side.' I am a hard-core conservative, evangelical Christian pastor. I love reading Anne Lamott's personal journey books. She is funny, charming, thought-provoking, and sometimes down...
As I read the previous reviews, I thought it important that you hear from 'the other side.' I am a hard-core conservative, evangelical Christian pastor. I love reading Anne Lamott's personal journey books. She is funny, charming, thought-provoking, and sometimes downright irritating. But she makes me wonder if maybe what endears us to God is not our perfection, but rather our imperfection. Perhaps God loves me because of, not in spite of, my warts and blemishes. I don't often agree with her politics, but I adore her heart.

posted by Anonymous on May 21, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I am a fan of this author,loved Traveling Mercies and Blue Shoe, did not find this book as good.

posted by Anonymous on March 31, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    Blackbox Warning: Whiny complaints posing as reflection

    I absolutely LOVE Anne Lamott. I did NOT love this book. Ususally funny and insightful, this attempt was a departure from her usual writing - whiny, complaining left-wing rhetoric. Unless you hate (her words, not mine) President George Bush and love to hear him slammed repeatedly - and I do mean repeatedly - ad nauseum, in fact, you may find this book shallow and downright boring. I got the fact that she hates the president after about the 100th reference to it - enough already!!! Even the stories, few though they may be, that didn't deal directly with hating the president, were woven with her distaste for the man. Isn't there anything else going on in the world, in life, to comment on? While I appreciate freedom of expression, this would have been infinitely more interesting had she expressed something beyond political opinion - over and over.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2005

    Disappointed

    I am a fan of this author,loved Traveling Mercies and Blue Shoe, did not find this book as good.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2005

    Right-winger Loves Anne Lamott

    As I read the previous reviews, I thought it important that you hear from 'the other side.' I am a hard-core conservative, evangelical Christian pastor. I love reading Anne Lamott's personal journey books. She is funny, charming, thought-provoking, and sometimes downright irritating. But she makes me wonder if maybe what endears us to God is not our perfection, but rather our imperfection. Perhaps God loves me because of, not in spite of, my warts and blemishes. I don't often agree with her politics, but I adore her heart.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    YOU DON'T HAVE TO BE A CONSERVATIVE TO LOVE GOD

    ANNE LAMOTT'S BOOK IS A STRAIGHTFORWARD EXPRESSION OF HER LIFE AND ALL THAT HER LIFE ENCOMPASSES--FAITH IN GOD, DEVOTION TO FAMILY, A UNIQUE LIFESTYLE AND EMOTIONAL HONESTY. UNLIKE MOST BOOKS ON SPIRITUAL ISSUES, LAMOTT GIVES US A REAL LIFE IMPRESSION OF WHAT HOW FAITH CAN INTERACT WITH US AND THAT GOD CAN LIVE WITHIN US DESPITE OUR FLAWS AND POLITICAL AFFILIATIONS. IT IS DEFINITELY NOT A BOOK FOR THOSE EASILY OFFENDED BY OFF-COLOR LANGUAGE OR A POLITICAL STANCE OUTSIDE THE MAINSTREAM RIGHT-WING, IN OTHERWORDS, MY MOTHER WOULD BE OFFENDED, WHILE I EMBRACED IT. I LOVED THE BOOK. I WISH I KNEW ANNE LAMOTT AND SERVED WITH HER IN CHURCH AND AT PEACE RALLIES.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Not for me

    No good writing, no interesting stories, nothing to be learned about Jesus. Anne alternates between a few basic story lines: "I hate Bush and that's bad because Christians are supposed to love everyone", "raising a teenager by yourself is really hard", and "hey look at all the interesting and different friends I have (even a Buddhist teaches me about Jesus!)". And to make sure you remember it's a Christian book, she adds a cameo Jesus mention at the end of each story, tries to wrap it up in a little bow while shifting her tone for the take-home part of the story, like the cheesy music at the end of a romantic comedy that makes you think everything will end up swell again.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    A great book-on-tape

    My daughter (22) and I listened to this book on tape while driving 2,000 miles cross-country. We both loved it -- laughed and cried -- I am a very politically liberal Christian and she is not religious, but a writer who appreciates great writing. I LOVED reading reviews from other readers who are very conservative but also loved this book: we can join together in valuing Lamott's wise and funny appreciation of God, her fellow humans (she tries hard to love & forgive Bush in spite of everything), and the strangeness & unpredictablility of our existence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    Yes, Disappointing

    This is the only Anne Lamott book I have read and I won't buy another. There were amusing moments but though I am not a Bush fan I am disappointed by the hatred she expresses over and over. How can a professed Christian be so mean spirited?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    Recommended to anyone questioning the sanity of life

    I read this book in one day because I couldn't put it down. Each chapter spoke to my heart, mind and soul in a way that's completely Anne Lamott. If you're ever questioning the sanity of life, this book is for you too. A real winner!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    There are too many Anne Lamotts in the world, all of them trying

    There are too many Anne Lamotts in the world, all of them trying hard to be profound while being cute. Perhaps if she ever read
    Tacitus and Suetonius, who recorded the truly ghastly last days of the Roman Empire, she would not be so defeated by the puerile follies and
    and stupidities of Bush, Cheney, Rumsfeld, Rice and the rest.  Like the Roman Empire the American Empire is on its way out, and certain Roman
    senators simply went home and quietly opened their veins, so as to get it over with as quickly and quietly as possible. But they were mostly 
    Stoics.  Anne L and her clones are not Stoics; they are whiney, spoiled to death, middle-class children whose lives have not come up to the level of what they think
    they deserve, so they take refuge in alcohol, drugs, and self-pity. I hate to think that this woman thinks of herself as a Christian, but it does seem to me,
    following Kierkegaard's "Attack on Christendom," that the American church is now such a piece of hopeless fluff as not to deserve any commendations whatsoever.  Probably the
    last serious Christians were the members of the Confessing Church, like Bonhoeffer and Niemoller, who died for their faith in a distinctly non-whiny way under Hitler's regime.
    Speaking of Nazi Germany, it appears to me completely tragic that American 'Christians' like Lamott seem not to perceive the level of
    fascism America has now attained to, or the fact that as a totalitarian system, it is now the scourge of the world.  Iraq and Afghanistan are far
    from being our only victims, just the most recent.  And Goebbel's "Big Lie" is now firmly ensconsed in the American media in all
    its lying forms.
       My advice to Ms. Lamott is to lay down her pen and do something useful in the world, like clean kitchens, scrub toilets, or teach
    second graders how to sound out words.  Maybe, when she can undo those unbelievably horrible dreadlocks and look around her more clearly, she'll get an idea of how she can be useful at last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    Great read.

    I love Anne Lamott and have enjoyed all of her books. This one is no exception. She's witty, honest, and candid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2006

    faith and trust in God

    I though your book was right at the point, but, how can you be a christian and hate at the same time? there is a conflict there. Bush is no fan of minds. I enjoyed the book. keep up the wook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    Anne's Got It Goin' On

    The fact that Anne Lamott hates Bush as much as she does makes me love her all the more. I am a patriot, a Christian, and a mother, and I think this country has gone far off course with this president. We need writers like Anne Lamott. We need writers who are Christians, and not war hawks and not blindly following anyone who says the 'right' things and then acts in a way that proves the true character. Lamott is one of the important writers of our day. She 'gets it.' I own all her books now, and will buy her next one, too. The only downside for me in reading her work is the awful feeling once I finish one of her books that I'm never going to find anything else that good to read. Keep writing, Anne!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2005

    Untie the Knot

    Anne Lamont is an interesting egg, and a tough one to crack. She has an extremely charismatic writing voice - as powerful and utterly captivating as ¿My Fractured Life¿ or ¿The Glass Castle¿. But how she uses that voice is decisively different. Singing to a left wing harmony she writes of a knotted up life, a life that is unpretty and filled with conflict. Subjects range from mid-life hormones to parenting her teenager, all coming full circle to her spiritual search. There is no balance to Lamont¿s writing. It jumps back and forth, up and down like a see-saw. That¿s what makes her odd assembly of essays so utterly captivating. If you enjoyed ¿My Fractured Life¿ and ¿The Glass Castle¿ this is a great compliment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2005

    Stunning!

    Like all Lamott's work this is absolutely gorgeous! Thought provoking, well written, laugh out loud funny and unbearably sad. I'm sorry I finished, I have this book on my bedside table to read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2005

    A terrible book from a great author

    I loved Traveling Mercies so I was very excited about this new book. I was highly disappointed with her attitude and her bitterness. I could handle the fact that she is adamently against President Bush however her need to weave that hate into almost every single story she told went a little far. She was so whiny and so angry, I felt uncomfortable reading some of her stories. I felt like her views on what it means to be a Christian are also highly skewed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2005

    What a great follow up to Traveling Mercies

    What a terrific follow up to her last book, Traveling Mercies. She is just as spiritual, just as funny, and just as real! I laughed out loud throughout the book. A follower of her writing will welcome the updates on Sam and Father Tom. Reader beware..followers of the 'George Bush philosophy' will not find this book at all amusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    Not the Usual Great Anne

    I have found Anne's other books inspiring, heart-warning and very human. Therefore, this book was a tremendous let-down. Although she is still a good craftswoman, in this book she seems to come from a place of anger and bitterness. She doesn't like her weight or her age much, she is happy her mother is dead because her own life is better, she whines because her son is 'mean' to her and doesn't understand her (he is 13!), and she despises G. W. Bush to the extent that he is poisoning her life. This book is definitely not vintage Anne - wry, funny and warm. Too bitter, too petty, too self-obsessed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2005

    Another Lamott Winner!

    Annie Lamott is a rare gift to readers. I love her courage, intelligence, honest humor, depth of heart and fine writing talent. Buying her book, I know that I will be alternating between tears and laughter (and sometimes both). I know I will be touched, entertained AND inspired. I pause before the next chapter, knowing that I will be venturing into a different emotion or thought-line than the previous one. Will I read now or be surprised later? So interactive! But most of all, Annie is about heart and love and grace manuvering through this world in our lives and I appreciate sharing the path with her. Great follow-up book to Traveling Mercies (or intro to). P.S. If you are a believer in Bush and will bite off the head of anyone who isn't, you'll be eating this book. Personally, I appreciate her courage to put her truth into the world as a free American human being.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2