Customer Reviews for

Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would?

Average Rating 4.5
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    PLAN B

    This book blessed my soul. I read it at a point in life where wondered if at all life makes any sense. It was like my life was cascading down an avalanche of disappointments and heartaches.

    Three things are emphasized in this book
    1. Expect Disappointments
    2. Know that God is in it with you.
    3. Rely on him for a way out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hope in the midst of despair...

    Learn how God often does His best work in our most hopeless situations.

    You just found out your spouse of 27 years has been having and affair. Your savings is quickly going down the drain because of a bunch of unexpected home or car repairs. You've just been diagnosed with terminal illness. You didn't get accepted into that school you had your heart set on. You're stuck in a dead-end job and keep getting passed over for promotions. Sounds like a lot of fun, huh?

    The sad news is that we live in a world where things like this happen all the time. But the great news is that God intends all things to work together for good. Pete Wilson, the senior pastor at Cross Point Church in Nashville, has written his first book, Plan B, in which he offers not just real life examples of these situations, but also includes examples straight from the Bible that offer encouragement and hope for his readers.

    The book includes a section at the back called "For Thought and Discussion" that can be used when leading a small group study or book club and there is a notes section behind that which gives more information about the quotes he used in each chapter.

    I found this book was a great overview of situations that I may run into myself or might be asked to help counsel someone through. Pete's book offers a lot of real life examples where God's work has been seen but also provides others where it's just plain hard to see how God might be working in the particular situation.

    I enjoyed this book on so many levels. It is a fairly quick read and if you've ever heard any of Pete Wilson's sermons, his book reads just as naturally as he gives his messages. His book made me realize that while the speed bumps that I'm going through in my life are difficult, there is a purpose and mine just happened to be very minor compared to quite a few of the examples that he used. He brings a great balance of Biblical references, real life examples, wisdom, humor and best of all, he's a pastor/author that is authentic and admits that he doesn't have all the answers.

    I plan on keeping this book handy to re-read and share with my friends.

    Be sure to checkout the book's website! http://www.planbbook.com/

    THE FINE PRINT. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Good book, feeds meat eaters with good steak, medium rare

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    What do we do when things don┬┐t go our way? How do we react whe

    What do we do when things don’t go our way? How do we react when our life looks completely different than we expected? As human, we want to understand the “why” but these issues are tough to tackle.

    Pete’s writing is incredibly relational, honest and easy to read. He writes as someone who has also experienced pain, failure, and shattered dreams. By telling the stories from his own life, as well as stories from family and friends, you feel like you’re sitting down with a friend, not reading a book. Pete writes with wisdom and boldness, although he will be the first to admit that he doesn’t have all the answers. He tackles this complicated subject well and shows hope to those who may be feeling like their own lives are falling apart.

    If you or someone you know is in need of encouragement after watching dreams shatter, then this book is a great place to start.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 [...] : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    THIS IS A MUST READ!

    Permission to Speak Freely
    By: Anne Jackson

    I am a bit late on this review because I have had the book a LONG time. Ironically though I finished this book in a day.
    The books tagline is "Essays and Art on Fear, Confession, and Grace" and it is just that. Anne is a very transparent writer as well as speaker. Anybody who follows her blog knows she bares it all. She is a broken woman and seeking after the heart of God. She posed the question of "What is one thing you feel you can't say in church?" Hundreds responded with letters, emails and postcards.

    Some of the book was inspiring and a bit of it was sad to see the oppression in the the church walls. The book is formatted much like postsecret. As a matter of fact I'm confident that was their inspiration for the style it was written.

    Images and graphics are interwoven with heart-wrenching stories. There are essays and testimonies in the book that will make you want to pray harder for the state of the "Church". The book is also sprinkled with tons of graphics and "postcard" style art with secret testimonies that will shake the brains and hearts of naive people in the church.

    She does address the hope in Christ, but we also know this is an eternal journey so sometimes it seems there is not much hope on this side of death. All in all I really enjoyed reading this book and having met Anne before it just made me pray harder for her.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    If you are going through a life change, this book is for you!

    When I first go the opportunity to review Plan B: by Pete Wilson, I wasn't quite sure what I would uncover when I open the book. I've never had the opportunity to hear about this man, but after doing a quick search I realized he really knows what he's talking about. So, I had no problem really diving myself into this book.

    First, and foremost, this is a wonderful book to give someone who is just starting their live: graduates, new parents, divorcee's...etc. There are so many life changes that really can mess us up if we aren't fully prepared. This book covers these life changes and helps us know how to deal with them.

    The truth is that Pete helps us understand that we can't avoid these changes, but we can learn to deal with the hurt, frustration, and disappointments along the way. If you are struggling with a life change, this book is for you and you will learn great tips!

    Remember, life often catches us by surprise. If we can learn to handle those changes as Pete Wilson offers us, we can really learn to tackle situations better! No matter what situation you are going through, this book can help you get a game plan to be prepared on dealing with big life issues!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Well worth a read

    I don't know about you but this last year has not gone exactly as I thought it would or how I would have liked it to. It is during these difficult times that you try to figure out what is going on; the answers are not always forthcoming. When I was given the opportunity to read and review this book, I jumped at the chance hoping it might help me to understand why God does things the way He does. Pete Wilson uses real life stories of disappointments and tragedy along with stories of biblical heroes such as David, Joseph, and Ruth to help readers face their own situations, which can appear overwhelming. Through them he tries to show us that God is working to help us surrender our plans and to receive His. I found this to be a practical book for anyone who is stuck in an unexpected situation, wondering if God is still at work and to help them to see that God still loves them, even when it might seem hard to see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Plan B

    Well, I never expected the events that happened in 2010. I had a plan in mind and then Plan B kicked into place... we had someone walk up to us and ask to buy our house, sold our house, lived out of suitcases for a month, found and bought a new home, moved into and made the new home livable in time for our second child's birth. Talk about having things laid out in your mind and then God changing the plans you had. And during all this I saw a book by Pete Wilson on Plan B: What to do when God doesn't show up the way you thought he would? by Thomas Nelson Publishing. I thought it'd be a great book to read based on the circumstances.

    I feel this book is perfect for the twenty or thirty something that is going through the phase of life where nothing seems to be going as planned and nothing seems to be making any sense. A quote I found reassuring from the book was, "Your dreams may not be happening, and things aren't turning out the way you expected, but that doesn't mean your life is spinning out of control. It just means you're not in control." It seem liked during the point in my life that this book was placed into my hands that I thought I had things under control. Even though I have been a Christian all my life and have read and heard the scripture that says "Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and don't depend on your own understanding," it seemed like I thought I had it all under control and my plans were solid.

    Well, God changed his plans and had a "Plan B" in store, and Pete Wilson's book helped play an important role in that. I would highly suggest this book to anyone, but specifically the twenty or thirty something. I plan on reading this book throughout the coming years and sharing it with others, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Exceptional Insight, Everyone Needs To Read This!

    I had the privilege of interviewing Pete Wilson, on our radio show "Kingdom Highlights", for his new book, "Plan B" What do you do when God doesn't show up the way you thought He would? published by Thomas Nelson.

    Let me start out by saying that there are some books, not many, that need to be read many, many times so that the depth of what has been written gets into the depth of us. This book is one of them. Pete Wilson is the Founder and Senior Pastor of Cross Point Church in Nashville, TN and he has experienced much in his career so he knows about "PLAN A". Plan A is easy, that is our plan. We are going to have the perfect spouse, with the perfect kids, have the perfect job, lead the perfect ministry while living in the perfect house where we entertain our perfect friends. Then we experience the spouse who wants a divorce, children who take drugs and/or got o jail, we lose the job, our friends betray us and the house goes into foreclosure. Those experiences are what Pastor Wilson calls Plan B.

    "Plan B" happens to all of us and we should not be shocked when it happens for how we react to the situation is what is going to define us. By using stories from the lives of David and Joseph and Joshua as well as others Pastor Wilson shows us how they reacted and what we could do to change our reactions. Most times when we are in a Plan B situation we get angry with God. In this book Pastor Wilson helps us draw closer to God. This book should be up there on the shelf next to our Bibles because we are going to refer to it often. I recommend it highly.

    If you missed the interview for "Plan B" and would like to listen to it please go to Kingdom Highlights where it is available On Demand.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    Missing An Important Piece

    I appreciate what Pete Wilson delves into in this book, sharing stories of pain from his own life and the lives of others. However, there seemed to be one element to this book missing that I kept waiting to show up, but never did. That is the fact that Christians have an enemy, aka Satan, who's objective is found in John 10:10, "The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy..." When we accept the call of God on our lives & follow Jesus we have to know that the enemy would love nothing more than to derail us from succeeding. He'll hit us with anything he can...relationship failures, disease, death...the enemy wants to steal from us - our peace, our joy, our finances, kill us - in the spiritual and the natural, and destroy us - so that we don't fulfill the reason we were born. He knows that we are a force to be reckoned with and if he can distract us from our purpose and disguise himself so that we don't know how to fight back we will end up defeated. John 10:10 continues to say..."I [Jesus] have come that they may have life, and have it to the full." God is for us. God is on our side. I was disappointed that this book made it seem like every "Plan A failure" was from God. I think the biggest lie we fall into is the thought process that "God sent me this sickness, God killed my child, God took away my job...because He wants to teach me a lesson." Does that sound like the God of John 10:10 - or could that mindset be exactly what the enemy wants us to think so that we waste our energy asking God "why" instead of fighting back and telling the enemy he can't steal from us, he can't destroy us and he can't kill us. The enemy is a bully. No true victory comes from our "Plan B" situation until we begin to exercise our faith, find out who we are in Christ, learn what authority we have on earth and begin to walk in it. We need revelation on that.I believe this is a great book in raw form and that the author meant well, but unfortunately I would not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    BookSneeze book review Plan B

    Pete Wilson is the pastor of Cross Point church in Nashville, TN and the author of WithoutWax.tv blog. The book, Plan B, mirrors the message and the person that he presents in both the church and blog mediums.

    Plan B is a book intended to help the reader deal with those moments in life where things have not turned out the way they had dreamed or hoped. Let's face it, most of us have either had one of those moments or will. Someone once said that life is what happens when we are planning for it. So how can we deal with those unexpected twists in our lives? While this book is presented from a faith standpoint and will speak very clearly to the Christian reader, it brings a lot of practical wisdom that the non-Christian reader will benefit from as well.

    Pete's conversational style has a way of drawing the reader in to the inner circle of the stories he relays as examples for the lessons he has learned from his own life or from others. It is easy to laugh along and to grieve along with the persons inside that circle that Pete invites you to witness.

    So what do you do when faced with that moment when the world seems to fall away from under your feet? Do you run? Do you stand paralyzed not knowing what to do? Do you struggle with who to turn to or understanding where help can come from?

    I believe everyone in their life has a time where things do not go as planned. You lost a loved one to early, a spouse walked out, or you are battling a physical aliment. No matter what the situation is Pete Wilson shows us through passages of scripture the many biblical characters who lived their whole life living out Plan B and how God used their Plan B to bring healing and glory to God.

    If you have someone who is going through a difficult time this would be the prefect book to pass along. This will be a book I keep on my shelf to read whenever things don't go as I had planned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    When life gives you a B

    The book is filled with bible "stories about every day men and women whose plans didn't work out. It's full of people trying to figure out what to do with a life that wasn't turning out the way they expected." (page 11)

    Chapter by chapter Pastor Pete (I wonder if that's what his church members call him?) spells out some simple reassuring points to meditate on.
    The book certainly is not a "do these six things and your life will turn out fine." It can't be. no book can speak to your Plan B, or your situation and certainly no pastor or author can "fix" this time that you are walking in right now. This isn't a self-help book (at least not in that regard). No, this book reads more like a devotional where each chapter contains a bible story and a few of Pete's own journeys as a church leader.

    The best part about reading this book for me has been the "confirming" that I hear from another Christian. I have felt God telling me to stay close to him in this time, to continue to be patient and to stick close to other believers who can continue to encourage and pray for me - and those are some of the things that Pete talks about.

    One of the things I loved the most and took away from this was something Pete said about walking in these times of darkness. "When plan B is creating havoc in your life and God doesn't seem to be doing a thing, can you still worship him? Can you still follow him? When he's not orchestrating the circumstances of your life the way you desire, do you still trust enough to seek him with reckless abandon?" (page 119)
    Why do our lives "change" when the world around us changes? Should we be like a "reed blowing in the wind;" something that is moved and changed by our surroundings? Or should we be like the one who built his house on stone (Matthew 7:24)? Plan B can only be as strong and as devastating as your foundation.

    The reality is, life brings pain to all of us and through it all our anchor needs to be the saving grace of the cross. To make it through each day, I think we could all use some "power beyond ourselves." So rather than cursing the sky and shaking our fists at the heaven's we should be leaning harder on the one who is our shepherd.

    In your Plan B make Psalm 18:2 your daily mantra.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Choosing Plan B - A Prescription For Hope & Healing

    Wracked by feelings of despair? Fear? Panic? Overcome by hurt, doubt and anger? Need help deciding what to do in your life? Are you a Christian who feels as if God has deserted you? Author Pete Wilson, the pastor of Cross Point Church in Nashville has written a book that offers help and encouragement to those of us who feel all alone and overwhelmed.

    Change, both good and not so good, is a constant in nearly everyone's life and can leave one reeling (if life never disappoints you probably don't need this book). Things, people and places we take for granted can change in the blink of an eye. Jobs are lost, people get sick, friends and family can turn their back on us, money disappears and divorces happen every day to millions of people. Some see themselves merely as disappointed victims, but Pastor Wilson suggests that change can equal opportunity if only we can change our thinking. "God is still with you. And things will turn around, one way or another. Maybe not the way you planned. Maybe not the way you assumed God would handle it. Maybe not even the way you hope. But you will see God's hand at work - if not in your circumstances, then in your heart." (page 22)

    Perhaps choosing Plan B is the smartest plan of all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Starts off good but loses oomph

    In "Plan B," Pete Wilson attempts to provide new answers to the questions readers have when life gets difficult, when Plan As don't work out and people are forced to consider Plan Bs.

    According to Wilson, most answers, or at least the kind of answers Christians are looking for, can't be found. Instead, Christians must wait on God's timing and anchor themselves in God and the hope He provides. Christians should not run from hard times, but should try to look for ways to grow and be transformed through difficult circumstances, whether it be sin or the loss of a job. Wilson tells his readers to hope Someone rather than hope for something because God's plan is much better than the plans of man.

    Wilson starts off with originality and depth, but soon loses the qualities that make "Plan B" a worth-while read. The first few chapters take Biblical examples and provide new light that makes readers think. The latter half of the book, however, gives the same old, cliche answers that most readers will have heard a million times. Some messages need repeating, though, and many readers will find new hope through "Plan B." If nothing else, the book is worth buying or checking out to read the first few chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    okay but not great

    This book begins with some good truths, those that seasoned Christians may need to be reminded of at times and truths that new Christians need to hear.

    Everyone at some point wakes up to discover that a part of their life is going to be nothing like it was planned. What happens when it seems that God's promises to you are not being accomplished? Perhaps you don't have the answer to the question - Why? Pete Wilson reminds us of the experiences of Bible characters and uses modern day stories from his experiences as a pastor to attempt to help people face those questions.
    David had been anointed as the next king and had experienced his first success in killing Goliath. He then began working in the palace only to find King Saul jealous and bitter.
    Joshua found himself the leader after Moses' death. He had to trust God enough to take the risk of stepping into a flooded river to cross to the land of promise. Good stories, with wonderful truths - yet I would recommend that if you read this book, you read it with your Bible open. At times Pete Wilson adds emotions to the Biblical characters that the Bible does not mention.
    The book does show that having problems or tragic things happen does not mean that God is not with you or that He doesn't love you. Wilson says "so often instead of giving us what we think we deserve, instead of taking away our pain.....He (God) offers us the promise of His presence. But this is not a consolation prize. It's exactly the gift you need ..." I love that statement, yet later in the book, he refers to Christ's death on the cross as the "ultimate Plan B". Perhaps I read into it something that the author did not mean, but He fails to quickly and clearly say that the cross was truly God's Plan A and that perhaps circumstances in our lives, things that we look at as a Plan B are in reality God's original plan. I must admit that much later in the book he says that we must be willing to abandon our life plans to receive the life that God authored for us, but the point should have been made much quicker rather than calling the cross a Plan B. He also states that in Jesus' prayer in the garden before His death, Jesus was saying, "I don't like this.....I'm not even sure I can handle this." He is making a point concerning getting rid of idols in our lives and following Christ's example and attitude of not my will, but Thine, however, saying that Christ was wondering if He could handle the circumstances is unacceptable in my opinion. I would like to once again encourage you that if you read the book , please compare it to the ultimate book of Truth, God's Word, the Bible. That's good advice no matter your circumstances!
    I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I'm Living Plan B

    It's one of life's little ironies that my reading of "Plan B" by Pete Wilson was interrupted by an uptick in symptoms from a chronic life-threatening illness. "What do you do when God doesn't show up the way you thought He would?" (the book's subtitle) is a great question to consider when you're in an infusion clinic waiting for your IV to finish running. Yeah, I'm living "Plan B."
    I have to confess that I approached "Plan B" with an arms-crossed show-me attitude. Still in the midst of an 18-month (so far) journey that's involved (so far) betrayal, rejection, unemployment, financial collapse, life-threatening illness, chronic pain, disability, and adjusting to dependency on my care-giving wife and friends, I was curious what Wilson could offer that some well-meaning Pollyanna hadn't said already.
    So let me say that Wilson gets it right at every turn. "Plan B" is the product of a heart informed by a deep faith in God and tempered by a committed pastor's exposure to real life. No empty platitudes or cheesy slogans here, Wilson writes about reliance on who God really is, as revealed in the Bible and 21st Century experience.
    Wilson's "Plan B" isn't your typical sugar-coated "Kumbaya, My Lord," better-by-and-by advice book. Wilson quickly and repeatedly points out that most often what really causes us to question God is a matter of timing or method or some other choice of details. Here God is God - the loving, just, Almighty, All-powerful, King of the Universe. And I'm not.
    Peppered with anecdotes drawn from some of life's hardest questions - the one's that inspire the roughest "Where is God now?" moments - Wilson provides an always relevant and extremely honest practical book that goes beyond mere happy thoughts to answer the "but what do I do now?" that lingers over every "Plan B."
    Oh, and Wilson's book didn't seem at all out of place in the infusion clinic. It stood up even there - which makes me confident that it'll stand up for your "Plan B" as well. Get this book.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Plan B by Pete Wilson isn't bad but isn't great.

    Wilson uses stories from his own experiences and from the bible as examples of how life doesn't always go the way we want or expect it to; sometimes the little things, and sometimes huge, life-altering things. The stories are relatable, as we all have experienced something that didn't go the way we imagined it would.

    The book is an easy read, but I still had trouble finishing it because it got a little boring for me to keep reading about another person who was disappointed. The book is full of "plan b" examples in life, which were expected, but I didn't get anything from that. I already knew life doesn't go smoothly for everyone, but what I was expecting in the book was more of a religious answer or explanation, or at least more advice on how to deal with those times that plan b comes up in our lives.

    Part of the title is "What to do when God doesn't show up the way you thought he would" gave me the impression the book would offer more guidance, which I didn't find here. I read the book with hope that I'd learn how to better deal with my own struggles or disappointments, but I didn't come away with anything new. The book reminds us that God is always there even if it seems like he forgot about us, but I was hoping for something that struck me a little more than that.

    I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com http://BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Worth your time. I promise.

    Perhaps the most difficult questions facing Christians are those that deal with evil and suffering. And we rarely ask these questions in a vacuum - usually it's because we or someone we know and love is suffering. Pete Wilson's Plan B is an honest, biblical exploration of how we should respond when our Plan A falls apart and we're left wondering what happens next.

    What's in the Book
    Wilson is the pastor of Cross Point Church in Nashville, TN, and he draws on his experience as a pastor (and as a human) to shape the book. He connects the worst stories our world has to offer - broken marriages, betrayal, death and more, all pulled from his life and the lives of his friends - to the Biblical narrative. His approach to the Scriptures is more midrash than exegesis, but I found this refreshing. By placing himself in the stories, by imagining what the characters faced and thought, he breathed a life into them that made his contemporary connections stronger.

    What I appreciated most about Wilson's approach to our pain is that he doesn't settle for easy answers. He thoroughly and fully grounds our pain and suffering in the world of the Scriptures and teaches us to look to the Cross as our comfort (though I would have preferred that he spend a bit more time on the hope of the Resurrection). But he refuses to offer us an easy fix, even when this means he has to throw up his hands and declare that he doesn't have all the answers.

    My only complaint (and it is small indeed) is that Wilson could have spent more time pointing us to the hope of the End, when we find fulfillment in the resurrection and final judgment, when God makes all things new. This is where our hope comes from - not the cross alone, but from the empty tomb.

    And most importantly, this book is helpful. Whether you've been through a "Plan B moment", you're in one now or know you'll face one in the future, this book will help you to trust in God's work in the midst of your crisis.

    The verdict? Plan B addresses questions all of us ask without resorting to cheap, unsatisfying answers. It's worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    Plan B by Pete Wilson

    Plan B is the guide book for those of us who have ever said, "This isn't how life is supposed to be playing out." (I think that encompasses all of us.) Or if you thought by now you'd have that degree/job/marriage/child (fill in your dream) that you'd been hoping for. Perhaps you got to where you wanted to be only to have your success toppled by loss, illness, unemployment, or any number of other dream-crushers. Life has turned on a dime and now you find yourself constantly wondering where God is in all of this disappointment. After all, isn't He aware of the plans you have for you? Why won't He just show up and make it all okay again?

    In Plan B, Pete Wilson takes our questions, struggles, nagging doubts and moments of faithlessness and sifts them gently through wise teaching, real-life experiences and Scripture. The book uses examples of other believers who have endured overwhelming and unexpected plan B life-altering situations, as well of stories of Moses, Joseph, Job, and more who throughout biblical history experienced their own plan B's centuries ago, and how God worked in all of these situations for His glory.

    I loved reading Plan B. It was a hard book to put down because the more I read, the more I recognized myself in what I was reading, and the more I came to realize how universal this concept must be among people; surely there are scores of us living lives different than the ones we dreamed of. This book offers hope and direction to those of us who wonder, "What's next?"

    There's nothing as constant as change. Be ready. Order your copy of Plan B today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    A Plan B Book

    Plan B
    Plan B, by Pete Wilson, reads like a generic "What Do I Do When Something Terrible Happens and I'm Wondering Where God Is?" sort of book. He offers examples of time when things go wrong in life that God is still present, even if it is not obvious. He interchanges personal experiences with experiences of those close to him. However, often the experiences of those he knows are the most heart wrenching.

    I feel awkward reading the book when in one chapter he tells a story about his son peeing in a swimming pool and in others he writes about friends who suffered dissolving marriages, deaths of those close to them, and much more. This isn't to say Pete doesn't have a voice in this pain. One chapter outlines how he and his wife went through a miscarriage, and I think that chapter is one of the strongest out of the book, and that is because it is the most personal to him. The other chapters clumsily move from a funny story of embarrassment to serious stories of heartbreak. While everyone needs to laugh, the funny stories are often out of place.

    Second, as I mentioned at the beginning of the review, the book is generic. Almost every Christian self-help book I see now deals with finding God through personal crisis. And they all use the same Bible stories (Joseph) and all presume the reader is asking the same questions (But what did I do to deserve this?). This is not necessarily bad, but for me I don't see a difference in reading a different book over another. If I was struggling, I would go first on a friend's recommendation. If they recommended this one, then Great! If not, I'd choose a different one. There isn't enough to differentiate the tangle of other books.
    2/5 stars
    I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com [...] book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5