Customer Reviews for

Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would?

Average Rating 4.5
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    What do we do when things don┬┐t go our way? How do we react whe

    What do we do when things don’t go our way? How do we react when our life looks completely different than we expected? As human, we want to understand the “why” but these issues are tough to tackle.

    Pete’s writing is incredibly relational, honest and easy to read. He writes as someone who has also experienced pain, failure, and shattered dreams. By telling the stories from his own life, as well as stories from family and friends, you feel like you’re sitting down with a friend, not reading a book. Pete writes with wisdom and boldness, although he will be the first to admit that he doesn’t have all the answers. He tackles this complicated subject well and shows hope to those who may be feeling like their own lives are falling apart.

    If you or someone you know is in need of encouragement after watching dreams shatter, then this book is a great place to start.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 [...] : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Well worth a read

    I don't know about you but this last year has not gone exactly as I thought it would or how I would have liked it to. It is during these difficult times that you try to figure out what is going on; the answers are not always forthcoming. When I was given the opportunity to read and review this book, I jumped at the chance hoping it might help me to understand why God does things the way He does. Pete Wilson uses real life stories of disappointments and tragedy along with stories of biblical heroes such as David, Joseph, and Ruth to help readers face their own situations, which can appear overwhelming. Through them he tries to show us that God is working to help us surrender our plans and to receive His. I found this to be a practical book for anyone who is stuck in an unexpected situation, wondering if God is still at work and to help them to see that God still loves them, even when it might seem hard to see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    When life gives you a B

    The book is filled with bible "stories about every day men and women whose plans didn't work out. It's full of people trying to figure out what to do with a life that wasn't turning out the way they expected." (page 11)

    Chapter by chapter Pastor Pete (I wonder if that's what his church members call him?) spells out some simple reassuring points to meditate on.
    The book certainly is not a "do these six things and your life will turn out fine." It can't be. no book can speak to your Plan B, or your situation and certainly no pastor or author can "fix" this time that you are walking in right now. This isn't a self-help book (at least not in that regard). No, this book reads more like a devotional where each chapter contains a bible story and a few of Pete's own journeys as a church leader.

    The best part about reading this book for me has been the "confirming" that I hear from another Christian. I have felt God telling me to stay close to him in this time, to continue to be patient and to stick close to other believers who can continue to encourage and pray for me - and those are some of the things that Pete talks about.

    One of the things I loved the most and took away from this was something Pete said about walking in these times of darkness. "When plan B is creating havoc in your life and God doesn't seem to be doing a thing, can you still worship him? Can you still follow him? When he's not orchestrating the circumstances of your life the way you desire, do you still trust enough to seek him with reckless abandon?" (page 119)
    Why do our lives "change" when the world around us changes? Should we be like a "reed blowing in the wind;" something that is moved and changed by our surroundings? Or should we be like the one who built his house on stone (Matthew 7:24)? Plan B can only be as strong and as devastating as your foundation.

    The reality is, life brings pain to all of us and through it all our anchor needs to be the saving grace of the cross. To make it through each day, I think we could all use some "power beyond ourselves." So rather than cursing the sky and shaking our fists at the heaven's we should be leaning harder on the one who is our shepherd.

    In your Plan B make Psalm 18:2 your daily mantra.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Choosing Plan B - A Prescription For Hope & Healing

    Wracked by feelings of despair? Fear? Panic? Overcome by hurt, doubt and anger? Need help deciding what to do in your life? Are you a Christian who feels as if God has deserted you? Author Pete Wilson, the pastor of Cross Point Church in Nashville has written a book that offers help and encouragement to those of us who feel all alone and overwhelmed.

    Change, both good and not so good, is a constant in nearly everyone's life and can leave one reeling (if life never disappoints you probably don't need this book). Things, people and places we take for granted can change in the blink of an eye. Jobs are lost, people get sick, friends and family can turn their back on us, money disappears and divorces happen every day to millions of people. Some see themselves merely as disappointed victims, but Pastor Wilson suggests that change can equal opportunity if only we can change our thinking. "God is still with you. And things will turn around, one way or another. Maybe not the way you planned. Maybe not the way you assumed God would handle it. Maybe not even the way you hope. But you will see God's hand at work - if not in your circumstances, then in your heart." (page 22)

    Perhaps choosing Plan B is the smartest plan of all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Worth your time. I promise.

    Perhaps the most difficult questions facing Christians are those that deal with evil and suffering. And we rarely ask these questions in a vacuum - usually it's because we or someone we know and love is suffering. Pete Wilson's Plan B is an honest, biblical exploration of how we should respond when our Plan A falls apart and we're left wondering what happens next.

    What's in the Book
    Wilson is the pastor of Cross Point Church in Nashville, TN, and he draws on his experience as a pastor (and as a human) to shape the book. He connects the worst stories our world has to offer - broken marriages, betrayal, death and more, all pulled from his life and the lives of his friends - to the Biblical narrative. His approach to the Scriptures is more midrash than exegesis, but I found this refreshing. By placing himself in the stories, by imagining what the characters faced and thought, he breathed a life into them that made his contemporary connections stronger.

    What I appreciated most about Wilson's approach to our pain is that he doesn't settle for easy answers. He thoroughly and fully grounds our pain and suffering in the world of the Scriptures and teaches us to look to the Cross as our comfort (though I would have preferred that he spend a bit more time on the hope of the Resurrection). But he refuses to offer us an easy fix, even when this means he has to throw up his hands and declare that he doesn't have all the answers.

    My only complaint (and it is small indeed) is that Wilson could have spent more time pointing us to the hope of the End, when we find fulfillment in the resurrection and final judgment, when God makes all things new. This is where our hope comes from - not the cross alone, but from the empty tomb.

    And most importantly, this book is helpful. Whether you've been through a "Plan B moment", you're in one now or know you'll face one in the future, this book will help you to trust in God's work in the midst of your crisis.

    The verdict? Plan B addresses questions all of us ask without resorting to cheap, unsatisfying answers. It's worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Inspiring!

    This might just become one of the books that I pass around to friends. There are a few books that just help out at certain points in life and this one really helps out when someone is feeling really stressed and needs somewhere to turn.

    Plan B teaches you how to let go of the stress and turn to God. Many people feel alone and forgotten when problems start to occur in their lives. Plan B shows you that God just has a Plan B for your life. It might not have been the life you expected but God is still there.

    These are the opportunities that bring you closer to God if you let them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hope and Encouragement

    "He (God) knows what you're going through. He's right beside you, sharing your pain, even though he may not take it away." pg. 96


    What do you do when your plan for something falls through? "Plan B" offers encouragement and strength through Scripture passages, personal stories, and wise applications that you can keep going. Pete Wilson masterfully shows how God stays with us though all the storms in our lives, never leaving even though we may think otherwise. Can you still praise Him when things go very wrong? Yes. Jan's story, as well as that of Jeff and Vicki, will encourage you. Is having to go to "Plan B" a bad thing? This book will help you explore that question and answer it for yourself.


    I enjoyed reading "Plan B" for many reasons. It is uplifting and yet doesn't downplay the way we feel when life takes a wrong turn. It was nice to read about over-comers! There were times I thought Mr. Wilson's use of today's lingo was too heavy, but it didn't ruin my enjoyment of this book. I recommend it not only to other individuals, but to groups as well. The topics explored lend themselves to discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Some our Plan B is Gods Plan A

    "What would you do if you were absolutely confident God was with you?" is a question that is asked in Pete Wilson's new book: Plan B, What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up The Way You Thought He Would?
    I sit and thought about this question for sometime, W all have a plan in life we call it are plan A. We want to get married, have kids, buy a big house and have a nice job that make us a lot of money. But something always gets in the way of are plan A that something is called life!
    Nothing goes to plan and we sometime have to go to plan B. Sometime we never find the right one to marry, we are unable to have kids, we still live in a small house, or we just got laid off a job that we really did not like to begin with. Sometime we lose the ones we love to unexplained things. Life happens and plan A is never goes as planned.
    When plan B comes about we stop and ask ourselves were is God? Why could he not stop this, why did He take him/her so early in life or why doesn't god love me more then the other that seem to have it all.
    Pete Wilson answers these questions and helps us understand the whys? This book came into my life we I needed it more then ever. I just hit my plan B and I did stop and ask Why God?
    If you are looking for a great book to give someone that is down on there luck or you just need a book to help you along the way. I strongly recommend you buy this book. It was great and I never have read a book as quick and understood it like I did with Plan B.
    My final thought on this is: Sometime are plan B is Gods plan A.

    Thank you to Thomas Nelson for an advance copy of this book.
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Plan B...hopefully I won't be needing this soon :).

    Plan B got me wondering- will I need this book in the near future, Lord? :) Oh, I kid, but not really...

    The author, Pete Wilson, does a really great job of dealing with this really hard topic of what to do when life isn't turning out how you always imagined it. He's funny and serious; not hokey or plastic. His stories come out of his real life, with real people that he interacts with and lives in community with. It's refreshing when an author doesn't have to reach to stories of well-known, famous people because they haven't actually dealt with the issue in real life. I've found his answers to this question to be real, helpful, and ultimately leading to the feet of the Lord. I think that this book would be a great gift to someone who is disappointed with where they are or are dealing with a rough time. I think this would be friendly to both mature Christians and cultural Christians. Let me know if you'd like to borrow it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Plan B by Pete Wilson

    This book is about those times in our lives when things don't go as planned. How do we face those challenges and how do we draw from our faith to find answers to some of life's most challenging times. The author writes in an easy to read conversational style. He touches on bible stories and current stories of people he knows. The examples of how Plan B comes into effect are interesting to read and easy to relate to when faced with life's curve balls.
    Life doesn't always go the way we planned. Sometimes we need to know that others are going or have gone through similar things that we must face also. It is reassuring to know that we can and will get through the rough spots if we just trust that God knows what He is doing and hasn't abandoned us. Although the book is well written, I have a problem with the simplicity of dealing with life's catastrophes by just believing that God is watching out for us and we just need to trust that He is watching over us and everything is just a part of His plan. Sometimes we just need to face reality and find help for ourselves. Yes, trust in God, but also use whatever resources are available to help you deal with whatever you must face.

    Plan B by Pete Wilson was provided to me by Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Booksneeze.com book review bloggers program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Plan B by Pete Wilson

    This story is unlike typical faith-based books. People always bank on their plan A and then their faith shifts when it is not come to pass. In his book, Pete Wilson details many personal stories including one in which he and his wife lose their child due to miscarriage. It's about not losing faith when plan A fails and that there is always plan B and that God has not left you, he just may have other plans for you. I found this book enlightening, refreshing and would definitely recommend it to those who are struggling. Everyone struggles with their faith from time to time and this book made it seem like we're not alone either in our struggles or in our wavering faith - Pete, himself, is a pastor. I think this would be great for personal and group study as it references so many quotes from the Bible. It can lead to introspection or group discovery. Well written and a good read.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Plan B by Pete Wilson

    We all have been there. No matter what part of the world we live in. No matter how rich or not so rich we might be. No matter if we live in the country, the suburbs, or the city.

    We think we have everything going our way. Then something happens. Life is interrupted. It may be a death in the family, you find out your son or daughter is on drugs, a loss of money, a spouse or partner leaves, or just maybe that last straw of everyday life. You think your plans for that perfect life is disappearing before your very eyes.

    What do you do?
    Do you have a Plan B?

    Plan B a book by Pastor Pete Wilson is a well written, easy to understand and inspirational book that helps us understand our options . We don't have to face life's hardships by ourselves. That is where the Plan B of life comes into play.

    I think the one simple, single, sentence that stands out most for me in the book Plan B is:
    "Plan B situations force us to rely on a power beyond ourselves."

    Pastor Pete Wilson gives example after example of real life situations with real people and parallels them with Bible scripture and stories in everyday language we can all relate to and understand.

    At first I thought this would be another preachy do right book. But I was wrong. The author Pete Wilson writes the book as if he is talking to you. Just you. In a friend to friend way not in a self-righteous way.
    I found the book Plan B by Pastor Pete Wilson very good, uplifting, inspirational, and would definitely recommend it.

    Thomas Nelson provided me with a complimentary copy of the book Plan B for an advanced reading copy through BookSneeze.com.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Comforting and Inspiring to dealing with your plan B

    I recently read the book Plan B: What do you do when God doesn't show up the way you thought He would by Pete Wilson. I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. This book was about having a change in plans in your life either for yourself or someone close to you due to any change in circumstances. The book gives example in the Bible of Plan B situations, how God and people handled various situations then and in our own lives, as well as gives insight into why and how to deal with Plan B situations. It contains discussion questions at the end of the book for each chapter to help think about and process what the author has discussed.
    I really enjoyed this book. I like that the author came across as authentic and genuine in telling the stories of his experiences and admitted when he didn't have all the answers. The book doesn't just give you an answer to dealing with every Plan B situation, but I don't think that there can be, it's not the simple. The advice that was given was backed up biblically. I did not like that the study questions were placed at the end of the book and not at the end of the chapters, as it seems less likely that a person will take the effort to go and read through them and more likely that they will forget they are there if reading the book alone. This book did give me insight and hope for myself and for helping others dealing with Plan B situations and helping to understand that we all have in mind what we want for our lives, but ultimately God knows and is in control.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You might need a Plan B

    What you would do when God doesn't show up the way you thought he would? Pete Wilson answers this question in Plan B. This book showcases a new dimension of hope and faith with realistic advices extracted from real life experiences.
    Pete Wilson is the founding and senior pastor of Cross Point Church, Nashville. Being a pastor, he has listened to many people who has gone through a tough times, getting downtrodden by their broken dreams and experienced a devastated failure in the way towards their goal of life. Plan B is flooded with many examples which display that God always turn out fascinating in volatile situations, when you expect him the least. As someone said, if things turn out your way its good, if didn't its better; cause then its God's way.
    Plan B is a must read for those who need motivation in their life. Even if you have never experienced any failure, which is next to impossible, it makes a good read benefitting the reader with guidance to survive in those twisted moments.
    It may look in first sight as a book enhancing Christian faith, but it is not. Though many advices are oriented in that way, but it never turns out preachy and makes a good read for everyone. Author's way of narration is simply admirable, as you will experience the laugh and grief of the characters portrayed by him for the practical wisdom.
    As the author says in this book, it is not about finding all the answers but about developing the courage and patience to move in life and keeping the faith in God. It is highly recommended for each and everyone, as you may never know when life takes a turn and you might need a Plan B.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Learn how God often does His best work in our most hopeless situations

    As Christians, we often expect God to show up the way we thought He would or even He should. When He does not, at times we are forced to abandon our initial plans and hopes, and have to turn to Plan B. What is Plan B? Simply defined, Plan B is the alternative plan that we have to adopt when the dreams, wishes, goals, expectations in our initial plan, Plan A, are shattered. What do we do? This is precisely what Pete Wilson, lead pastor of Cross Point Church, expounded on.

    Pete started off by inviting the readers to face up a reality of life that we often wish we can escape: Plan B is not an exception, but rather it is an inevitable reality. Plan B does not just happen to some people. Plan B happens to everyone at some point of time.

    Yet, as Christians we often assume God wants us well, and our lives would be smooth sailing all throughout. We may not even admit it, but we are pretty sure God is going to sweep down and provide for us the way only He could. And that is when we get ourselves into all kinds of troubles as we assume God must think and act the way we do.

    In short, reading this book reminds me of Philip Yancey's Where is God When It Hurts and Disappointment With God. Many of the points covered here are covered in these two books as well. But Pete's writing is refreshing. It is written with a tone of compassion and warmth.

    Be sure to checkout the book's website http://www.planbbook.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Plan B by Pete Wilson

    Plan B's are an inevitable part of being human. How we react when they occur is what sets us apart from one another. We don't have to feel helpless and abandoned. While giving us an honest answer about how we should react, Pete shows us that there is hope and often our Plan B's are God's way of strengthening and drawing us closer to Him.

    Pete uses real life stories and biblical principles that takes us on a journey of HOPE amidst our tragedies and shattered dreams. He shows us that God often does his best work in these painful situations. He also emphasizes the importance that community plays in our suffering. One of the most refreshing things about this book is that it's relate-able and honest. Pete is a down to earth and genuine guy who doesn't claim to know all the answers, but points us to the One that does. I love the fact that so many words of wisdom are packed into such a quick and easy read. I was so encouraged by this book that I was sad it had to end. It was incredible!

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Learning God is Always There Even During Our Plan B Moments

    Being through a few Plan B's myself, I was intrigued and excited to be able to receive and Advanced Reader's Copy of Plan B through Thomas Nelson Publishers' Book Sneeze program. In this book, Pete Wilson offers practical, insightful applications for making the choice when faced with Plan B's in our lives to simply trust that God is who He says He is, taking comfort in realizing He knows what you are going through, and hope for realizing He really does know what He is doing. Even though I have experienced my share of Plan B's in life, this book serves as an excellent reminder to view my hardships and challenges in life as an oppotunity to be the person God created me to be.

    Pete uses a nice mixture of stories from everyday life and Biblical stories of people going through Plan B's like Job, Joseph, Abraham, and the like. He presents the Biblical material in such a way that it is an excellent read for people not familiar with Bible stories or for people who might not have dusted off the good book in a while and need a reminder of how God's plans even the ones we consider Plan B's work out for a greater purpose.

    This book was a quick read as I found myself not being able to put it down. I would highly recommend it to anyone who needs the encouragement and knowledge that God is present in all our life's moments, and especially in our Plan B moments. I look forward to reading more from Pete Wilson in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Plan B

    Plan B by Pete Wilson is a book that I recently picked up to read as a part of booksneeze.com blog for books. I picked this book up, because I'm a huge Pete Wilson fan. He is the pastor of Crosspoint Church in Nashville, TN. He writes an awesome blog.
    This book is one of the books that I had always thought about writing. I don't have enough life experience for it to be really effective though. So I am so excited that you have a chance to pick this book up. Summary is easy. Pete says it on page 1,

    "Do you remember the day you discovered your life wasn't going to turn out quite the way you thought?"

    Whether it be tragedy, circumstance, failure, or disappointment, sooner or later life takes a drastic turn from our Plan A. Pete desires to offer genuine, honest encouragement and doesn't take the normal route of traditional Christians might when explaining real life.

    I was continually impressed with how cordial Pete was in giving heartfelt encouragement to readers, who if they are in the middle of a Plan B situation, would certainly need. Discussion questions in the back were a huge asset for me to digest content and begin to ask myself tough questions. Really, really hope to see this in Small Group/Devotion format. This book combined with real talk of a person's most intimate stories could bring small groups, families, and churches so much closer together.

    One criticism from my point of view. Wish he would have fleshed out the Bible Stories a little more, but I'm a geek. I really would have loved to been more involved in the stories of those characters as he relates their Plan B's to ours.

    Awesome book and a great gift for someone whom is fighting thru their Plan B. I'm praying that God rocks some people with this book and that the church can face life in a new, exciting, supportive way.

    You can find out more about Plan B, here at planbbook.com

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Plan B by Pete Wilson

    Have you ever read a book, and about 10 pages in, you realize that this book in going to have a significant impact on you? It has happened only a handful of times for me, and "Plan B" by Pete Wilson definitely falls into that catagory.

    In this book, Pete tackles one of the toughest questions we face in life: "What do you do when God doesn't show up the way you thought He would?"

    I found Pete's discussion of this difficult subject to be incredibly honest and personal. Rather than offering a "paint by numbers" approach to overcoming adversity, Pete candidly shares some of his own "Plan B" experiences as well as the doubts and desperation he felt in the midst of them.

    If you have recently been through a "Plan B" situation and are trying to make sense of it, or if you (like me) currently find yourself in one, this book is a great guide to help you find hope (or more accurately, the Giver of Hope) in your situation.

    You can see my full review here: http://kitpalmer.wordpress.com/2010/05/03/plan-b-by-pete-wilson-a-book-review/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Got Plan B?

    "Do you remember the day you discovered your life wasn't going to turn out quite the way you thought?"
    I certainly do. several times in my late 20's.
    And so has Pete Wilson.
    His book Plan B: What do you do when God doesn't show up the way you thought he would? Is an honest, yet hopeful, book about God's grace and mercy when Plan A fails and Plan B is created.
    He concludes the book on an honest note using the analogy of a bow, like you put on a wrapped present, and that because of sin, and the life we live because of sin, there is only the cross and grace and mercy from God through Christ that is for sure when even we seem to encounter a series of Plan B's throughout our lives.
    Wilson starts off with the sharing of several personal stories about his own encounters of Plan B as well as those with whom he has walked as a pastor. But I think that the strength of the book comes at the beginning in chapter 9 entitled "Me Too" and continues through the end of the book.
    Using the Biblical stories of Ruth, the John 11 account of Mary, Martha, and Lazarus, as well as the stories of friends who have had to go to Plan B, Wilson reminds us that "[w]e must be willing, if necessary, to abandon the life we've planned and dreamed of in order to receive the life that our God has authored for us."
    Pete's exposition of John 16:33, "Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world." (NLT) is a central part of the latter half of the book. But addressing both the reality of trials and the truth of Christ's overcoming, we are led to understand that it is in and through circumstances that God's peace and purpose is found.
    Chapter 12, "Waiting on God" is a powerful chapter on the linkage between learning to trust God and learning to trust God's timing. Wilson's insights helped me begin to examine my own lack of trust in God's timing and that I need work here.
    Published by Thomas Nelson, Plan B contains a discussion guide that while I did not closely review, is a plus in a book for both personal as well as group study. I found Plan B an honest assessment of God's grace and desires for us even if our own Plan B is due to our own disobedience choices.


    (Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Blogger Review program called Book Sneeze (www.booksneeze.com) I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.")

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2