Customer Reviews for

Plan of Attack

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The 'art' of equivocation.....,

    Mr Woodward: You are confusing us. <BR/>Equivocations are predominant in what you have written. <BR/><BR/>Democrats will buy your book as it can lead them to believe you are criticizing President Bush because his administration has caused hundreds of thousands of Iraqis to flee from one place to another and divide the country between the rival `ethnic' groups. <BR/>So, you are almost there. <BR/>Only the foolish had welcomed USA forces in Iraq and nothing could throw off the stupor that envelops the American public everyday with the mounting American causalities. <BR/><BR/>Republicans will also buy your book as it can lead them to believe you are supporting the daring and courageous actions taken by President Bush against Saddam Hussein because the Iraqi `tyrant' struck terror into the hearts of the `peaceful and happy' Iraqi people, and also you are reminding everyone that Hussein sponsored an attempt `to assassinate Mr Bush senior on a 1993 trip to the Middle East' (his visit to Kuwait). You have also alluded to the swift decline of morale in the Iraqi Army and their setbacks on the battlefield, which presaged its inevitable defeat and dissolution. <BR/>Also that USA is actually fighting against savages' medley of militias that have links with Al Qaeda. <BR/><BR/>In the Middle East, English readers are happy to see the marines `were in good shape.... ...although they are not used to fighting in contaminated environment if the Iraqis were to use chemical or biological weapons' <BR/>Whereas Arabic readers are seized by an ugly mood nearing despair when you are alluding to conspiracy between the Oil Tycoons to grab Iraq. <BR/><BR/>But still, everyone should buy your book as long as it makes us all happy. <BR/><BR/>BRAVO.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    Excellent!

    I read this book in NYC. I was recommended to read it by NY author and political scientist Monica de Bruyn (I'm a HUGE fan of hers, I LOVE her, she's outstanding!). Woodward describes the Bush Administration's policy in a non-partisan way (unlike most journalists!). He's a very insightful man, has dignity etc. I voted for Bush, and now I know for sure I made the right choice! I very, VERY much recommend Woodward's books to anyone who's interested in politics. He's an EXCELLENT author and narrator. KUDOS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2006

    General Powell Sums It Up...

    In PoA, General Colin Powell, the only member of the Bush Administration to have ever actually been in combat, sums up the situation by saying that he did not personally agree with the decision to go into Iraq. However, he would only resign if the reasons for going in were 100% wrong, and, in his view, they weren't. This is just one of many examples of such open candidness in Woodward's richly detailed narrative. Yet there are still some things that are not clear: What was Rumsfeld's role in the decision to go to war (if any)? How many people knew that the ' Rock Stars ' within Iraq would NOT agree to assist the US unless they were guaranteed that Saddam would be removed from power? How did those who warned of Saddam's WMDs reconcile the fact that the Intel was several years old? And what role did the Supposed Iraq-Al Qaeda ' Connection ' play in the decision to go to war? All in all, this book is highly recommended. Yet there are still some questions that are left unanswered. for this reason, it gets 4 out of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2005

    Awesome Book

    I bought this book to read while flying back to South Carolina.I found this book excellent.FINALLY a president who stands up and actually sees that we can not stand back and be sucker punched.A president that doesn't turn the other cheek when something goes wrong.Like the president before him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    The word 'Amazing' does not do this book justice!

    Bob Woodward is incredible. In the most non-partisan of ways he clearly and precisely delivers the account of how our President, his cabinet, and his confidantes, made the reluctant but necessary decision to go to war. He lucidly depicts the admirable resolve in our President to do what is right and to stand behind it always, but Woodward does not fail to point out the flaws in planning and policy. For all those people out there who claim that the Bush administartion had no plan for war of for post-war operations in Iraq, I challenge you to read this masterful piece of journalism. IT IS A MUST READ FOR ANYONE WHO DABBLES IN POLITICS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2004

    Competent narrative

    Competent and compelling narrative of the administration's frame of mind when it declared Iraq in breach of UN Security Council resolution 1411. Woodward's book is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2004

    Well, *I* was disappointed

    My impression was that this was a confused and poorly written book. Granted there was a wealth of detail, but it was not developed, nor was it organized in a way that clearly took the reader from one place to another. Buried within the wealth of detail might have been something worth reading, but there was little to assist the reader in following the narrative. Topic changes and muddled chronology made it almost impossible to find a purpose to the book. Concentrating on the intenal dynamics of the decision process seems to be the only point of the book, and it did not even do that well. There was little to no mention of any disention within the team nor of the failures to appreciate the importance of history. Additionally, the consequences of the 'Full speed ahead' mentality is not even discussed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2004

    Thanks for another trustworthy book, Bob!

    Interesting, enlightening, non-partisian. I've gained a new-found respect for our president after reading this book. Presidents, Republican or Democrat, they are a very special breed, indeed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2004

    Election Year Reading

    The hype by which this book was promoted the week of its release intrigued me. Woodward on TV went from talking, at beginning of week, as if he was reporting on 'The Salem Witch Trials' to the use of less-overheated prose by week's end. Some of what caught public attention seemd to me to be misunderstood comments by some of the book/s major interviewees. Read, and decide for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2004

    Recommended

    With all the political and tactical brilliance (and folly) of Logan Robert Bingham's metaphorical 'Hunter Rising' -- except this is a straight account of things that actually occurred.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2004

    Interesting

    An extremely interesting book regarding the internal conflict that involved two very distinct approaches to the Iraq problem. It must have been a very tough decision for President Bush to go to war. If the main details of this book are accurate, it should disprove a vast majority of what John Kerry and the left wing constantly preach. The decision to go to war when we did was the right decision. This book, for the most, helps clarify that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2004

    A Must Read!

    Veteran Washington reporter Bob Woodward continues to shine his lamp into the shadows of U.S. political life. Woodward has an uncanny ability to present a point of view without appearing biased, perhaps because he approaches truth with a complex worldview and eschews viewing individual leaders as either particularly good or evil. Although you may not want to hear what he learned, Woodward interviewed more than 75 officials directly involved in the war on terrorism, including spending three and a half hours with President Bush. He found out that Bush considered, and then planned, war in Iraq long before voters knew, and that his chief advisors debated it vigorously. Right or wrong, he seems to say, Bush's pivotal team members ¿ Cheney, Rumsfeld, Powell, Franks ¿ were entirely earnest. We strongly recommend this book to anyone who wonders how the U.S. became the proud new owner of all of Iraq's problems. It gives you a breathtaking behind-the-scenes understanding of the decisions, for good or ill, that led to America's second war against Saddam.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2004

    A must read !!!

    A well written account of the path that led President Bush and the nation to war. This is a must read for anyone who had any doubts if this war was necessary and if we went for the right reasons. I believe President Bush made a difficult decision and did what was right for the safety and security of our country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2004

    Great Book

    I thought this was a great book, and a fast read. I could barely put it down. Nice perspective of how the president thinks and acts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2004

    Bob Woodward is an interesting author...

    The contreversy of the book was more noticed than what I noticed: the planning of a war like in Bush At War. Some people think this book is partisan. I am somewhat a Bush supporter, and I think that Bob Woodward is lucky to get this much information for a nonfiction book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2004

    Terrible.

    The book is a passive account of how the white house handled the Iraq issue. Get real, in the book Mr. Woodward down plays the significance of the famous sixteen words in the state of the union address, he also refers to Joseph Wilson briefly but does not go into the scandal involved. I support my President, but for the sake of factual and accurate reporting I can not support this book. I will never read another book by Mr. Woodward ever!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2004

    magnificent read and extremely frightening!

    just finished an advance copy of mr. woodward's great new well written, well documentated book on mr. bush's newest deceit and cover ups! this is perhaps the most shocking account yet involving the decision to go to war with iraq-as opposed to finding osama bin-laden! bush man or not this is an honest and well documented book by a respected great writer-not to be missed no matter how you feel on the subject matter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2