Customer Reviews for

Planesrunner (Everness Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Electropunk, more like. (Excellent book!)

    Pardon me if I'm wrong, but I seem to remember Everett describing it as 'electropunk' (or something similar), not steampunk. (Also, this is one of my favorite books, and more people should read it!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Steampunk?

    You cant add a gear here and some rust there and call it steampunk. Steampunk is based off of the Victorian Age, which is very much looked past when thinking about the aspects of steampunk.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Omg! This book is amazing! Seriously, I loved it. From the time

    Omg! This book is amazing! Seriously, I loved it. From the time spent in Everette Singh’s home world, to the time spent in the other parallel, I adored every minute of it. The story just picked up from the beginning and kept me drawn in ’til the last page. I’ll try to go into detail without spoiling it; obviously I will try to do all of this while containing my excitement. J



    The story itself reminded me a little of the television show, Sliders, endless amounts of other Earths in parallel universes. All of them different, some with just a slight change other so different they are unrecognizable. Great premise for a show, great premise for a book too. Of course the similarities in the story pretty much end with the whole idea of parallel universes (but it still brought to mind Sliders).



    The mechanics behind world travel made sense in the context of the story. Moreover, I really loved the amount of detail the author gave. Especially the little tidbits involving how the different worlds had evolved, where they splintered off from each other, and then the details of the worlds themselves. I felt like I was there in all the Londons right alongside Sen and Everette. The descriptions were immaculate, even how McDonald describes the gulls.



    “…Gulls rose up…crying in their dead-soul voices.” A very apt description of Sea Gulls I must say.



    I must note I had a slight problem with some of the Airish slang. Not the fact that it annoyed me simply that I sometimes had to stop for a minute to figure out from the context of the conversation what was actually happening or being said. Some words took me a few times to truly decipher, but overall – once I adjusted – the slang just added more texture and flavor to Sen’s London. It really helped to show even more of a difference between Sen’s world and Everettes. Plus, in the back of the book was a neat little extra showing where Airish slang came from and its ties to the real London in our world.



    While this book can be enjoyed by adults, I think is also good choice for younger readers. As I said before the book drew me in and didn’t let me back out until the very last page. It is open ended, not a sheer drop cliffhanger, but you know that there is going to be more, so much more to the story. Only a few problems have been solved, many more have been created.

    Still I think the book is worth picking up, and I can’t wait ’til the next book in the series comes out. Fingers crossed it’s sometime soon! I give this one 5 out of 5!



    ~’til next time all you palones and omis be sure to stay bona!
    Originally Reviewed at:Mother/Gamer/Writer
    Reviewer: AimeeKay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining, well-imagined parallel universe adventure story.

    This is faster paced than McDonald's adult science fiction with enough meat on its bones so that adults will find it enjoyable,too. I liked the quirky characters and the vividly portrayed "steampunk" London (made real enough that I wanted to visit it).
    First in a series, and when the book ended, I wanted it to go on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1