Customer Reviews for

Planet of the Apes

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Classic, but still relevant!

    I found this book very interesting. I have always been a fan of the movie series, so thought I would check out the source material. It is a very quick read, but well worth it. I would love to discuss certain parts of the book on here, but I don't want to spoil it for anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2006

    What a read!!!

    Three men set off for Betelgeuse, a journey that takes two years from their viewpoint. Thanks to relativity, though, centuries pass on Earth. Journalist Ulysse Merou and his two companions encounter no difficulty establishing orbit around a habitable planet and descending to its surface in their space ship's launch. Once there, they make first contact with the planet's Human inhabitants under what they don't understand to be fortuitous circumstances. They're swimming naked, on a hot day, when a beautiful and equally bare Human female notices them and approaches. She reacts violently to the presence of their pet chimpanzee, and runs away in horror when she realizes that the clothes piled nearby belong to these members of her own species. Nova, as Merou names the woman, brings others to see the newcomers. Stripped of all their technology, and even of their clothing, the three Earthmen have just started trying to understand these people when they - along with the tribe they've unwillingly joined - become targets of an organized hunt. The hunters are gorillas, assisted by chimpanzees. While most of the tribe's members are slaughtered, including one of Merou's companions, he and Professor Antelle (the Betelgeuse expedition's leader) are among the 'lucky' captured ones. Alive, but separated, with Merou winding up caged in what he soon learns is a laboratory. Author Boulle uses the role reversal he's thus established, of apes vs. Humans, to stage a chilling and succinct morality play. At first it seems that his main theme is Humankind's lack of compassion toward 'lesser' yet highly intelligent creatures (our own planet's various ape species), but as the book progresses the reader realizes he has a far more disturbing agenda. Boulle's real concern is what makes Humans - well - human. What qualities do we possess that have combined to give us dominance over all of Earth's other species? Is it possible we might sacrifice that dominance, one day, on the altar of sloth and/or other flaws indulged instead of conquered? Witty, brutally clever, and filled with material so 'hot to handle' that I'm not a bit surprised most of it never made the transition from novel to motion picture script, this venture by a mainstream writer into speculative fiction fully shares the wonderful irony of Boulle's at least equally famous (and, I suspect, far more widely read) THE BRIDGE OVER THE RIVER KWAI. This is satire at its finest, a book to make readers sputter with laughter and shiver with fright simultaneously.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    This book is more enjoyable than sex. That is all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    I, Addison, think it is a great book. ?Addison Paul Bridwell

    FONOMONAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    I think it would be super awsome to be ape

    No school no IRS or taxes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Amazing

    I grew up watching the movies and enjoy all of them. This book is simply amazing its got so much more detail and takes its time unlike the movie and im glad i have devoured every page of this book and enjoyed it. I think they should make a movie more close to the book the original movie as good as it was could of been better by staying closer to the book. I def give this book 5/5 stars absolutely amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Beyond Amazing

    Simply amazing and brilliantly written. You're pulled through Ulysses' struggle to assert his mind and soul, and you rejoice alongside him in his triumph, only to come full circle with his bizzare and catastrophic return to Earth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review

    No text was provided for this review

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Loved it

    First off let me be clear: the book and the movie (any version of the movie you care to name) have very little in common. Therefore disregard any precocieved ideas you have. The book reminds me of jules verne in its style... not really able to articulate why, but that is high praise. Its well worth reading and you really ought to do yourself the favor of reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Excellent Book.

    I don't care for the modernized cover but what a good book. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    recommend

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Anonomous source

    Havent read the book yet but the movie was great so i think that the book will be geat to but usually the book is much better than the movie soif the movie was godd then the book will be much better

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    check out

    very good book in many ways better the movies i'am glad i read the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    Good Stuff

    This is a solid novel that keeps you guessing even if you already know the infamous ending. The characters are interesting and the pacing is solid. The book rarely slows down except for small portions toward the end. Any of you thinking of avoiding the book because you saw the Tim Burton flick, don't worry. The book isn't half as bad, and the ending is much more reasonable. The book is all around exceptional and solid for any sci-fi fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2002

    Entertainment, and just that.

    Planet of the Apes, hum, wasn¿t that with Rowdy McDowell? Okay, Pierre Boulle and the ape thing, an allegory of world-gone-wrong, space travel, crash landings, baby chimps that could be featured in Marco Ferreri¿s Bye Bye Monkey, Good-vs.-evil, a smashing ending and much more. Where Man is Brute and Ape is Intelligent reads the tagline, adjoining a lurid photo-montage from the film itself. I acquired this handy purchase at the bookstore for a buck. Indeed, it kept me pretty interested and I finished it in a few days, but it¿s not something to rave about. Is there a simian manifesto amongst these brittle pages that may change my beliefs and cynical philosophy? Simply pulp material to be read once then placed under those old copies of Cracked magazine. And it was made into a swell remake by Tim Burton. A precious little tale but definitely no Ulysses.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2002

    What an ending!

    As for the rest of it, it's all right, but I have to wonder what was lost in the translation. Some parts read too elementary, like a childrens book. However, I thoroughly enjoyed it and definitely recommend it to any ape-o-phile!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2001

    GREAT BOOK

    This book is spectacular. It combines adventure, sex, romance, and science fiction all in one. YOU WILL ALL LOVE IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2001

    Wonderful Book

    This was a wonderful book, and I wished that it could have been longer. This brilliant book is a must read for fans of the old movie and for hard Science Fictoin fans. I wont ruin the story for those of you that dont know it but the book pulls everything off far more believably than the movie with Charlton Heston. This book is well written, and full of suprises. I must read for any Science Fiction fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2