Customer Reviews for

Planning for Love

Average Rating 4
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Plan on falling love with this series

Reviewed for Read Your Writes Book Reviews

Planning for Love is the first book I’ve read by Christi Barth. I am SOOOO glad this book is part of a series. This will so NOT be the last book by Christi I will read.

Ivy Rhodes is a twenty-nine year old wedding planner...
Reviewed for Read Your Writes Book Reviews

Planning for Love is the first book I’ve read by Christi Barth. I am SOOOO glad this book is part of a series. This will so NOT be the last book by Christi I will read.

Ivy Rhodes is a twenty-nine year old wedding planner and co-owner of Chicago’s Aisle Bound, a wedding consulting company, with her best friend Daphne Lovell. Ivy is a hopeless romantic and believes in happily ever after, long-lasting love. Her parents have been happily married to each other for forty years.

Ben Westcott is a cynic who doesn’t believe in marriages lasting past the “I Do’s”. Bennett’s entire family is full of un-happy ever afters. He believes his family has been cursed by his great-great-grandmother a hundred years ago. Interestingly enough, Ben is the cameraman for a wedding reality tv show.

When I started reading this book, I actually found the author on Twitter and asked if I was supposed to be laughing as I was reading it. I was expecting a romance, but I wasn’t expecting to find myself laughing at the characters. This was one of those rare books where I actually liked ALL of the supporting characters. By the end of the book, Ben and I both realized that this statement was true, “Family isn’t always blood. It’s the people in your life who want you in theirs; the ones who accept you for who you are. The ones who would do anything to see you smile, and who love you no matter what.”

I loved that the book started each chapter off with an advice quote like, “Life is what happens to us while we’re busy making other plans. - John Lennon” or “Love is an ideal thing, marriage a real thing. - Goethe”. Yes, I’m a planner and a hopeless romantic as well.

This isn’t one of those books that’s going to make you cry. But it is one of those books which will make you go, “Awwww.” Ernest Hemingway said, “It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.” To that I can say, Ivy and Ben do realize that they love each other and Ben is finally willing to put down roots and take a chance on love and the elusive happy ending that his family has never had. The journey that this book takes you on to get there is the magical part of romance that I love.

Did I mention that I was doing the happy dance, when I found out that this was part of a series? I can’t wait for the next book, A Fine Romance.

Source: Net Galley

posted by ReadYourWrites on October 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Borrrrrrring!!!

This book dragged on and on. I love to read but this one took me forever to get through. Def would not recommend.

posted by 18404604 on March 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Plan on falling love with this series

    Reviewed for Read Your Writes Book Reviews

    Planning for Love is the first book I’ve read by Christi Barth. I am SOOOO glad this book is part of a series. This will so NOT be the last book by Christi I will read.

    Ivy Rhodes is a twenty-nine year old wedding planner and co-owner of Chicago’s Aisle Bound, a wedding consulting company, with her best friend Daphne Lovell. Ivy is a hopeless romantic and believes in happily ever after, long-lasting love. Her parents have been happily married to each other for forty years.

    Ben Westcott is a cynic who doesn’t believe in marriages lasting past the “I Do’s”. Bennett’s entire family is full of un-happy ever afters. He believes his family has been cursed by his great-great-grandmother a hundred years ago. Interestingly enough, Ben is the cameraman for a wedding reality tv show.

    When I started reading this book, I actually found the author on Twitter and asked if I was supposed to be laughing as I was reading it. I was expecting a romance, but I wasn’t expecting to find myself laughing at the characters. This was one of those rare books where I actually liked ALL of the supporting characters. By the end of the book, Ben and I both realized that this statement was true, “Family isn’t always blood. It’s the people in your life who want you in theirs; the ones who accept you for who you are. The ones who would do anything to see you smile, and who love you no matter what.”

    I loved that the book started each chapter off with an advice quote like, “Life is what happens to us while we’re busy making other plans. - John Lennon” or “Love is an ideal thing, marriage a real thing. - Goethe”. Yes, I’m a planner and a hopeless romantic as well.

    This isn’t one of those books that’s going to make you cry. But it is one of those books which will make you go, “Awwww.” Ernest Hemingway said, “It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.” To that I can say, Ivy and Ben do realize that they love each other and Ben is finally willing to put down roots and take a chance on love and the elusive happy ending that his family has never had. The journey that this book takes you on to get there is the magical part of romance that I love.

    Did I mention that I was doing the happy dance, when I found out that this was part of a series? I can’t wait for the next book, A Fine Romance.

    Source: Net Galley

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Too much repetition

    The book has over six hundred pages. I found that it was too long and became boring. I skipped pages because there were too many repetitions and even then I couldn't finish the book. I did not connect with the characters and the story was not believable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Borrrrrrring!!!

    This book dragged on and on. I love to read but this one took me forever to get through. Def would not recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Planning for Love is a light flaky pastry with heavy cream insid

    Planning for Love is a light flaky pastry with heavy cream inside. Ivy and Ben are at the opposite ends of the marriage spectrum. She’s all about weddings and romance and love; he wants nothing to do with any of that, especially the love part. Ivy is wedding planner extraordinaire and just happens to end up featured on “Wild Wedding Smackdown”, a reality TV show about bad weddings, the worse the better, because of one of her brides. Ben happens to be behind the camera for it. After the wedding, Ben and Ivy burn up the night only for Ben to walk away.

    Now Ivy is being featured on a new reality TV show “Planning for Love” and is working toward her dream shop. Without warning, Ben is thrown back into her life as the stand in cameraman for her new show. Though hurt by Ben’s previous actions, Ivy can’t stop herself from falling in love all over again.

    But Ben has some skeletons in his closet – a family curse, a ruined career, and a whole lot of pride. Ben’s angsty brooding is more than a match for Ivy’s sweetness. It is this tug of war that keeps Planning for Love from becoming overly saccharine and too light and airy. Ben and Ivy complement each other very well. Along the way, we meet a set of secondary characters all of whom could easily be protagonists in their own books. They are as well crafted and finely drawn as Ivy and Ben.

    RATING: 4

    REVIEWED BY: Monique Neaves,My Book Addiction Reviews

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Good

    Loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Intresting read

    Good story line, a nice read for travel, vacation or destressing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Good story line. Enjoy.

    Enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Damn

    Loved the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Liked some aspects but felt it dragged in spots

    I liked that the premise of the book was centered around reality tv. That made the story seem very current and relevant. However, it seemed to drag in places and i didn't like that it promotes the idea that people will change for love. In my experience, adults dont change dramatically and it is unfair to expect them to. If you want to spend the rest of your life with someone, it should be someone who is already a good match for you. Dont expect someone to become your perfect match just because they love you. That may work temporarily but you will probably be disappointed in the long run.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Very sweet story

    This is a very sweet, well written story. I liked the characters and the plot was fun. If you are looking for sex scenes, this book isn't for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Check it out!!!

    I absolutely adored this book!!! I love the razzing between friends! I loved how they all helped out...especially in the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Awwe!

    Great characters. Looking forward to the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome new series!

    I loved almost everything about the book Planning for Love. The characters—both main and supporting—were fun and quirky, and the dialogue and situations had me laughing out loud more than once. I absolutely didn't want to put this one down. Even though Ivy was so put together and organized (and skinny, even though she daily brought he co-workers bakery items and BBQ—how is this possible? Oh, right; fiction) as to make me feel woefully inadequate, I couldn't help but love her. How can you dislike a character who loves B&J's Phish Food? I know, it's just not possible. Plus, she did have to put up with bridezillas galore and MOBs (mothers-of-the-bride) from hell literally daily as a wedding planner, so I guess she deserved the rest of it. And Ben…perfect blend of hotness, gallantry, and snark. Sigh. 99% of the book was totally unputdownable. I only had two little issues with this book. First—I'm fine with a jaded commitment-phobe who sees failed marriages everywhere and therefore doesn't believe in love. Totally believable. But an otherwise rational guy who honestly believes in a family cursed by a gypsy? A bit of a stretch. Second—the resolution of the story was reached just a bit too quickly and easily (though Ivy probably wouldn't agree, for the reader it comes off as pretty badda-boom, done). Neither really detracted from my ultimate enjoyment of the story, though—I will definitely be looking for more from this author as well as the next book in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Hott Synopsis: How can a man who has no belief in the romance of

    Hott Synopsis:
    How can a man who has no belief in the romance of life be the creative genius behind the most popular reality wedding shows on television?
    Ivy Rhodes was born to be a wedding planner – she picked her colors before she picked her college – even though the right man hasn’t walked her down the aisle. She not only sells romance she believes in it. So, when she finds that the man of her dreams just doesn’t have the heart for long-term she makes a plan to change her mind.
    It’s not devious when you’re Planning for Love.

    Hott Review:
    I devoured this book. I absolutely could NOT put it down!! I can’t believe I waited so long to read it!!
    What I liked: This book was just plain fun. It was a hilarious tale of a hopeless romantic and a cynic who both are smart alecks & sarcastic.
    What I didn’t like: The single tryst wasn’t terribly graphic but some of the language and the obscene references will turn some off. They weren’t prolific but definitely noticeable.

    More…
    Author: Christi Barth
    Source: Harlequin Reader Sruvey & Amazon Free Read 2/14/2013
    Grade: A
    Steam: Adult +
    Setting: Chicago, Il
    Series: Aisle Bound #1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    I received this ebook free from Harlequin as a Tell Harlequin me

    I received this ebook free from Harlequin as a Tell Harlequin member.  I was not required to review it, only do an email survey, which I've completed.  However, I've made a policy for myself to do reviews on every book I read.  Planning for Love was hard to get through.  It wasn't one of those books that I just couldn't put down, as a matter of fact,I  put it down quite often!  The premise was a wedding planner, Ivy, who was good at her job, employed several people in her business and was interested in finding true love herself.  She also had a dream of starting another business, a romance shop.  Ben was a newsman that had been ousted from his job from a misunderstanding and was now filming weddings for a reality show.  Ivy was looking for a happily ever after just like her parent's marriage of 40 years, Ben was only looking for one night stands.  I didn't like some of the language the author used.  The story would have gone along fine without it. I also don't like to read explicit sex scenes, whether between married people or especially between singles.  The imagination is a wonderful thing that a lot of authors do not grasp.  This book wasn't one of my favorites, it was just an O.K. book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Read Co

    A Fun Read Contemporary, Chicago


    Ivy Rhodes is a hopeless romantic and the best wedding planner in the business. She isn’t going to let anything get in the way of getting ahead and most certainly not a personal problem. She isn’t about to let a heartbreaking and recent one-night stand get in the way when she is asked to star in the reality show Planning for Love.

    Bennett Westcott is a videographer that didn’t handle his encounter with Ivy well at all. Watching her smile and great body through the camera every day makes him want to try for some no strings attached fun with her.

    The more time they spend together shows Ben that Ivy isn’t at all what he imagined her to be namely a wedding-crazed bridezilla. He has never trusted himself to make a relationship work let alone last. Now he has to try and convince Ivy to give him another chance.


    This is a romance that takes the reader on a very fun ride. The situations at times are comical and seeing how the character react makes for a very enjoyable read. It is also interesting to see how the characters overcome their respective pasts to get the future that they find that they really want to have with each other. This story kicks off a series that if they rest live up to this one should prove to be a wonderful series to read and enjoy. It also gives a fun spin to both weddings and reality shows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Kendal

    Cryd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Good

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Dsak

    Kkk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Fun Read

    Really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5