Customer Reviews for

Planning To Live

Average Rating 4.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    Powerful Read

    This was such a powerful read. I wasn't expecting to be so moved, or to take the book's message to heart like I have. This book reminded me in such a good way of how I felt reading Gayle Forman's If I Stay.

    Rhiannon is a thirty-something perfectionist. She holds herself to unattainable standards and is always beating herself up about her weight and not being good enough at every part of her life. She has a tragic past, which is revealed little by little as she reflects on her life throughout the story. Rhiannon gets in a car wreck on the way home from her parents' house on Christmas Day. The whole reason why she's driving home in a blizzard is so ironic, because she's trying to escape the temptation of fattening foods at her parents' house.

    The story starts with Rhiannon stuck in her car, just off the road, and she can't reach her phone to call for help. While she waits to be rescued, she thinks back on her life. The entire book alternates between Rhiannon in her car in the present day and flashbacks. Sometimes this kind of writing style can be choppy, but it works well here and keeps the story moving at a fast pace. I found this book impossible to put down. Wardell grabbed me right from the beginning and I finished this book really quickly because I couldn't wait to find out if Rhiannon gets her happily ever after or not.

    Just One Gripe:
    Don't judge this book by its cover. The cookies actually play a large role in the story, and have a special meaning.

    The Best Thing About This Book:
    The best thing about Planning to Live is the positive message. You'll feel better about yourself and will appreciate your life more after reading this book. How many books can you honestly say that about?

    Appropriate for a younger audience:
    Yes

    Score:
    Characters: 5/5
    Plot: 5/5
    Setting/Imagery: 5/5
    Originality: 4/5
    Ending: 4/5
    Total Score: 23/25

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Wonderful read!

    This was a great book- one that i could completely relate too. I was so shocked by the ending i cried like i had just lost my best friend!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    First off, I feel like if you are going to rate any book, you sh

    First off, I feel like if you are going to rate any book, you should state why you are giving it the rating you are.  

    I am a huge fan of Heather Wardell.  I love that Heather expands her characters throughout her books, and really intertwines them!  
    Planning to Live is a phenomenal book.  You fall in love with the characters.  Not everything in life is all happily wrapped up in a nice package with a bow.  Heather really explores the depths of issues and that life isn't always a happy ending.  Although sad, it was a phenomenal book.  I highly recommend this!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Wow

    Loved this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Amazing

    My sister died recently and this is a book i wish id read before. It is an emotional read but the message is meaningful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    A Must Read!

    Wow. Loved everything about this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Thought-provoking

    This was unlike her other books, as it made me take a look at how I plan my future but sometimes fail to live in the present. Very insightful and a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    Emotional and Courageous with Quirky, Memorable Characters

    SPOILER ALERT SPOILER ALERT After "Life, Love, and a Polar Bear Tatoo," I completely CONSUMED every Heather Wardell book. This one took me completely by surprise. It was, as all her books are, very well-written, well-paced, and emotional with characters who are quirky enough to be interesting but realistic enough to be relatable. So many times, when I'm reading her books, I say to myself: "I know exactly how she feels!!" I admire Ms. Wardell's courage in NOT giving this book a happy ending - I absolutely did not expect Rhiannon to die in the car accident; I kept waiting for the cavalry to come around the corner, for her to finally reach her cell phone, or some other deus ex machina to appear. Kudos to Ms. Wardell for not flinching from the realistic ending - it packed such a huge emotional punch that I literally went, "Oh...no!" when I turned the page to the Meeting Minutes, and went back and forth to be sure that was the real ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    A Great Read!!

    In the midst of crisis, Rhiannon maintains her composure and begins to write letters to those she loves and cares for. While doing this, she reminisces of past experiences and relationships, allowing the reader to know and love her just as she is. Planning to Live is the kind of story that truly made me reflect on my own life and is a wonderful example of someone focusing on what one can control, as opposed to focusing on the "why me?". Through the course of the evening, Rhiannon realizes and eventually embraces the notion that life is about appreciating the small things along the way and the value of relationships. There are some surprises along the way, but it is not a heavy read at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best out of Author's books!

    I loved all of her books but this one was the best to me!! Great characters and story line. Written very well. I couldn't put this one down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wow

    I did not expect this book...I LOVED it, probably more than her other 2 books. Quick must-read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    Must read!

    This book was captivating from the start. I loved the flashback format of the book, it really helped to get to know all of the characters, even the ones who were no longer with us. The message of "life is about the journey not the destination" is not new, but this book really illustrates the message clearly and in a way that most people can easily relate to. I know the book spoke to me and made me think about how I try to manage my own life, and that maybe I could cut myself some slack in certain areas to enjoy life a little bit more! I couldn't put this down once I started reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2