Customer Reviews for

Plantation

Average Rating 4
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I first read Dorothea Benton Frank 3years ago on a trip to america and I have read every book she has writtten to date so far ,but this is my favourite . She is the only author I buy the hard book edition as I can't wait for the next book.

posted by Anonymous on January 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

BORING

I read at least 250 pages. It almost put me to sleep.

posted by Anonymous on June 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    A reviewer

    I first read Dorothea Benton Frank 3years ago on a trip to america and I have read every book she has writtten to date so far ,but this is my favourite . She is the only author I buy the hard book edition as I can't wait for the next book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    FABULOUS BOOK

    This book was FABULOUS!!! I picked it up our Library's annual book sale on the table with books about the South!!! Who would want to live anywhere else but the South? This book is soooo rich in character descriptions and if you are from the South , you surely know a family like Miss Lavania's or you are part of one!!!! I had a Millie in my family growing up and I loved this character!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    A great story!

    I liked this one. It was a touching, emotional story that you will enjoy! It is the story of Caroline who never wanted to live on the plantation at home again with her family. She fights it the whole way but ends up coming back. Her mother is funny, eccentric and after many events, Caroline moves back to the plantation. It is a great story that is totally relate able. I want to visit Tall Pines badly after reading about this place! I actually laughed out loud and cried. It is a great story with great characters.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Dorothea Benton Frank is one of my favorite authors. This is one of her most touching works. The characters are well developed and animated. The story line is moving, funny, and colorful. If you have not read Dorothea Benton Frank, this is a wonderful example of her style and wit. I look forward to each new work, just wish she could write faster.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    I have read Dorothea Benton Frank's books since about 2001 or and enjoy the Low Country emphasis.

    Due to the holiday's I haven't had many chances to casually read so I am still working on this one. The main character is based in New York and I don't care about that setting, but the connection to the low Country and her family bring it back to the type story that I like. I hope to finish this in the next day or so. There is a lot of suspense involved in whether Caroline returns to New York and how she handles her family's issues.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    I Haven't Laughed This Hard

    Fiddle dee dee! I haven't laughed this hard in a long time!! I really think you have to be a Southerner to truly appreciate all this book has to offer 'phrases, etc.'. I have been gone from the South for over 35 years, but I truly did laugh until I cried. I saw lots of my dysfunctional family in this novel. This is the first book I've read by this author, but I'll definitely be reading more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2008

    BORING

    I read at least 250 pages. It almost put me to sleep.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    A delightful read!

    Do yourself a favor and read this book. PLANTATION was my introduction to Dorothea Benton Frank's prodigious talent. I paced my reading toward the end of the book because it was about to end. But help was to be found at Barnes & Noble as I found the companion books listed (and quickly added them to my Wish List).

    I was completely invested with each character's life as I read PLANTATION. Ms. Frank drew me in and her writing held me to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Another great book!

    Dorothea Benton Frank is one of my favorite authors. I want to read all of her books, and I'm nearly there! Will be sorry to not have any more to read. Hopefully she will continue to write these great low country books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Great story!

    I loved this book-it was very realistic and so humorous! There were things in this book that everyone can relate to when it comes to thier family. I will definately read more of this writers books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Great story, many funny points

    I loved this book. The characters really come to life!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    After reading Folly Beach, I couldn't wait to get my hands on an

    After reading Folly Beach, I couldn't wait to get my hands on another one of Dorothea Benton Franks' books. I then read Sullivan's Island. Now I am hooked on her writings. Once I start one, I just don't want to put it down until I am finished. Reading her books fills many lonely hours for me. They are like going back home. I am not from the low country, but Greenville, SC. I am about to get Plantation and can't wait!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    highly recommended

    these books would mkkae great christmas presents. Love the author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    I'm having a hard time getting through this. I have enjoyed many

    I'm having a hard time getting through this. I have enjoyed many of Ms. Frank's books but this one just doesn't have enough of a story and the characters are too shallow for me. I'm about 300 pages in and looking forward to being done with it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Great Story

    Beautifully written story of support and love not only of family members but of those around them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Enthralling...

    A wonderful immersion into a facet of Lowcountry culture, lifestyle and personalities. Certain passages were so poignant they made my heart pang.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    A must read!

    Her books always make me want to go to the "low country". Dorothea Benton Franks books are very captivating. I always enjoy reading them and have a hard time putting them down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Hightly Recommended

    This is my all time favorita Dorothea Benton Frank book.
    So much so I have it in paperback and now on my Nook Color.
    It's all about a quirky southern family in SC, but a very
    real and believable family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Don't Judge a Book by its Cover-Really!

    I was given this book by my grandma (oddly enough). After reading the description, I was skeptical. It didn't seem overly interesting, but I was bored and needed something to read. So, I dove right in. I was pleasantly surprised! This book was hilarious! The character development was very good and the plot was great. I have since read several of Ms. Frank's other novels and she is a fantastic writer. Her books are witty, funny, emotional, and relevant. I highly recommend this author to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Must Read

    If you enjoy books set in the south this is a must read. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and will be purchasing more by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6