Customer Reviews for

Platform: Get Noticed in a Noisy World

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    I started reading this book on Saturday morning and I ended stay

    I started reading this book on Saturday morning and I ended staying up late just so I could finish it on Saturday night, it's litterally that good! I can't believe how much value is in this book, it could be an entire college course!

    If you want to spread a message, start a business online, become an author, become a speaker, then you need to read this book first, go back and read it again to make sure you didn't miss anything, then move forward. This book is a step by step guide to success, told in a way that anyone can understand and implement.

    It's worth every dollar, if you read this book and implement the knowledge in it, one day I'll be writing a review about your book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    Platform is a "Life Textbook" for anyone with a messag

    Platform is a "Life Textbook" for anyone with a message of value. If you are building an organization and you want to share your vision with the world in a meaningful way, READ THIS BOOK!
    Thanks Michael, we appreciate you and your wisdom.
    Bob Kuebler
    Author
    "Wisdom From The Hood"
    "Prayer The Book" & "Mentorology"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Informational

    Great read. Lots of easy, can do advice. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    Michael Hyatt is an expert on the subject and this book delivers

    Michael Hyatt is an expert on the subject and this book delivers. Everything you wanted to know about platform building and then some. Why not go to the master himself?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Consider the iPhone. Did it succeed because it¿s a remarkable de

    Consider the iPhone. Did it succeed because it’s a remarkable device, or because legions of Apple evangelists received and carried its message far and wide, making it a must-have? Both, says Michael Hyatt, chairman of Thomas Nelson Publishing. Success requires a great product, and great products demand a great platform. In this manual, consisting of snippets from his blog, Hyatt offers simple, effective ideas for boosting your online presence and developing a tribe of followers who will spread your message. Although some entries are too basic for an experienced business leader, getAbstract recommends this to-do list to any rookie businessperson, service provider, writer or speaker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Highly recommend

    For anyone in business this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Very highly recommended

    Great book full of little details that can change your life. The wisdom found inside Platforms pages is phenomenal. For any with or building a fan base, public speaking career and others. My only disappointment was in the last chapters discussing the legalities and guidelines. I do understand th eimportance of them being there but perhaps they would have worked better as an appendix portion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Click here

    "For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son; that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life" - John 3:16 ††† JESUS LOVES YOU

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    G

    Boring, boring, boring.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Very timely - Good for internal focus as well as external

    I purchased this book based on the author and the subject. I am interested in how to get my message heard on two fronts. One is an external message focused on a cause. The second is related to my job and how to promote the activities of my group. I feel that the principles work for both areas. Great insight from a personal who has dealt with similar areas as myself.

    A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Platform is an in-depth step-by-step look at how to develop a so

    Platform is an in-depth step-by-step look at how to develop a social media presence. Michael Hyatt has taken many of his former blog posts on the subject of building a social media platform, cleaned them up, added to them and put them together into this great how-to guide. This results in the book being broken up into around 60 very short chapters. Each chapter is brief and to the point and the content is divided up into bulleted lists, numbered lists and specific action items. This means that you can read the book in short bursts and take action on everything you read. This book is a must read (and is the best work I've read on the subject) for anyone looking to build a tribe of online followers in order to build a business or simply to get your message out into the world. Platform will also stay on your desk to use as a reference anytime you have a question about your social media platform.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    recommended

    This book is recommended because it gives practical ways to engage social media, providing basics and more advanced ways to build a following. Hyatt also geared the book more towards those established companies needing direction in social media. I did not think the book targeted the beginning entrpreneur, but I still think it was worth purchasing and reading. I'm already using some of his methods.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Great road map

    I've been busy creating my platform for the last year and I'm excited to apply many of Michael's insights - really a comprehensive plan - to build my business. I bought the book because he has added value to me through his blog and has the credibility of having created a platform himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    sounds good

    Just got the book after a long wait, Haven't had time to read it, B&N needs to give time to read before soliciting a review.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    A great read for the beginner and also the social media veteran

    I highly recommend Michael Hyatt 's new book. If you are new to social media or even a seasoned veteran, you will find it to be a great resource. This book is well written and packed with rich, detailed information that will inspire your own ideas for using social media for business. You will find yourself making lots and lots of notes from every page. It is one of those resources that you will go back to again and again. I also will recommending it as a "must read" social media marketing resource for all of my clients.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Down-to-earth, detailed guide to marketing via social media.

    Unlike a lot of similar books that get your engine revved up with big-picture ideas, but leave you spinning your wheels when it comes to details, Platform provides the nuts and bolts of how to build a social media platform to increase your business.
    The book is written in a way that's geared toward solo-entrepreneurs (writers, speakers, consultants) where YOU are your brand, but it can easily be interpreted for other types of businesses as well.
    One of the great things about Platform is that you can use it as a workbook, going page by page and implementing ideas as you read them. (It's not written as a workbook, but it seems to work that way.)
    This is a great, easy read, with a lot of valuable content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Extremely Practical!

    This book is an easy read and a step-by-step guide to marketing anything. As an author and speaker, I'm currently in the process of marketing my new book "Desperate For Hope" but I don't have a huge marketing budget. Platform shows you how to get the word out without spending a bunch of money you don't have. I particularly apppreciated the fact that he included all the different internet resources he uses. I was surprised at what is available out there for the average guy who doesn't have a marketing team. This book delivers on its promise! Buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Extremely helpful and encouraging.

    Michael Hyatt shares his vast wisdom in an accessible style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must get your hands on it!

    I enjoyed every detail spoken in the audio book, read by Michael Hyatt. I recommend it to anyone who's desire it to be great at public speaking, writing, communicating, and leading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Best leadership book of 2012

    Michael Hyatt is the Chairman of Thomas Nelson Publishers, which makes him the coolest man alive since most of the books I read are from TNP and now they are the proud publishers of the Voice bible. Mr Hyatt writes books and blogs about leadership, productivity, publishing, social media, and, on occasion, stuff that doesn’t fit neatly into any of these categories.

    His latest book, Platform “Get noticed in a noisy world” is exactly what the title implies. This is a must read for anyone who wants to be noticed among the crowd. And this is the kind of leadership book I like, the chapters are short, easy to digest, packed with punch and there is TON of information here to devour.

    If your self-improvement goals are to read one leadership book a year, make it this one! This is 60 chapters of equipping that you can use in ministry or the business world. In fact, I would argue that this book would be applicable to anyone who wants to get noticed, especially in fields that are flooded with competition.

    The other great thing about this book is, it’s relevant. Unlike some leadership books that just get reprinted with new covers, Platform is about modern tools like websites and social media and Michael gives you great advice how to use them.

    Hyatt also takes time out from advice giving to offer real stories of his personal successes and failures making for a delightful and easy read. Highly recommended!

    Thank you to Thomas Nelson for providing this book for a fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4