Customer Reviews for

Platform: Get Noticed in a Noisy World

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    Michael Hyatt has stepped up to the plate and literally knocked


    Michael Hyatt has stepped up to the plate and literally knocked this latest project, “Platform, Get Noticed in a Noisy World”, out of the ballpark! This book is not only entertaining, but it is a loaded “tool belt” of resources and ideas to help every person in building a successful platform to be viewed by the entire world.
    I can not only use this in the business world at the Texas Medical Center in Houston, but also in my ministry at my church and finally in my personal life. Hyatt has taken detailed efforts in the 60 chapters of this book to not only give ideas to increase your audience, but step by step instructions with resources included.
    Every business person, blogger, Facebook user and twitter user can receive an extra boost to their arsenal by reading, highlighting, underlining and implementing the proven steps detailed in this 280 page masterpiece.
    Are you living in a world where no one seems to be able to hear you scream? Then buy this book and start building your Platform today and before long even E.F. Hutton will be leaning in wanting to hear you whisper.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    Platform. It's not about diving into a swimming pool or even of

    Platform. It's not about diving into a swimming pool or even off a 1,000 foot cliff, but having a solid platform is crucial for both. The same goes for anyone who has something valuable to say.

    What Michael Hyatt provides in this book is, I believe, just as valuable. When you look across the landscape of social media, marketing, and advertising, it doesn't take a rocket scientist to tell you there's a lot of noise out there. Everyone seems to have a message, a blog, a product, a book that's soon to be released, and everyone's busy cramming their message down our throats. So the question of the day is: Is there a better way to get your voice heard? Michael's book answers that call with a soft, subtle, but ever so distinct voice that makes you want to listen up.

    Did I enjoy this book? Yes, I did. Did this book cause me to rethink my current focus for marketing? Yes, it did. Is Platform the sort of book that will be outdated in a year or so as technology and the social media world advance by leaps and bounds? No, it isn't. You will find no gimmicks here, just sound advice that is both timeless and hasn't been packaged before.

    There are so many practical tips in this book that I wouldn't know where to begin while sharing them. The chapters are short but concise, containing more information on each topic than most people even know is available. I will not doubt refer back to this book time and time again.

    Building a platform is critical to getting your message out to those who need to hear it, and I believe Platform is the book you need to quiet the noise and focus your efforts.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    Help Your Audience Find You!!!

    The old saying used to be that if you simply built a better (insert product or service)the world would beat a path to your door.

    That was probably never true - it's even less true today.

    The reality is that audiences are fragmented and bombarded with a blizzard of messages, which makes it even harder for your voice or ideas to be heard.

    That's where Michael Hyatt's insightful new book can help.

    The premise of Hyatt's book is that not only do you need to have a product, service or message that makes your target audience say "wow" - you need to let them know about it via a platform.

    The author describes the platform as a virtual network or tribe who's willing share your message, product or service to others who may want to hear, consume or purchase it.

    Toward that end, he clearly outlines the "5 planks" necessary to build your own platform as well as the actual steps it'll take leading up to your launch.

    Hyatt has not only helped launch hundreds of bestselling books during his more than 30 year career in the publishing industry - he has successfully done it for his own brand - building a platform toward a second career as a New York Times best-selling author, leadership consultant and national speaker.

    The bottom line is that you can either learn the lessons on your own by costly trial-and-error or follow Hyatt's sage advice, proven steps and help your audience find you!

    *Disclosure, I received a free copy of this book to read and review, which had no affect on my opinions shared here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Build a platform, yes, AND...

    Michael Hyatt's latest book is a practical and detailed guide to helping any author, speaker, organization or person who has a message to share. This book will help to establish an effective platform from which to launch and share any product, service or message. Michael's book is all of this AND: 1. A proven formula to accomplish ANY project you may have. 2. A take you by the hand guide that walks you through what types of thoughts you should be having in the beginning or dream stage of that product. 3. How to move those thoughts and dreams into goals; not just lofty goals, but one's you can and will accomplish. 4. How to overcome the speed bumps that will occur. 5. How to prevent the common problem of drift, a slow move from your original dream. 6. Tools and strategies to measure along the way. One thing I appreciate about Michael's writing is that he is well read himself. The writers I enjoy reading the most usually are. He quotes from a wide range of authors and disciplines and this lends to an excellent book; not limited to building a platform, which it does very effectively, but also a good read for the average person.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    I recently received an advanced copy of Michael Hyatt's book Pla

    I recently received an advanced copy of Michael Hyatt's book Platform: Get Noticed in a Noisy Word. As a published author myself I kept saying, "I wish I had read Michael's book 5 years ago." He fills the book with practical insight on how to build your platform, no matter your message or the size of your current platform. If you apply the principles he suggests, your platform will grow. It's not out of reach for anyone. And he backs up the book's credibility because he himself has used the principles he suggests and has amazing results to show for it.

    Its 60 short, pithy chapters make it easy to read with its bullets, suggested next steps, and further resources.

    When you read it, prepare yourself to face one problem: you won't be able to put it down but you will have to put it down because it motivates you to stop and list all the simple ways you can effectively expand the reach of your message.
    -Charles Stone, StoneWell Ministries

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    Michael Hyatt’s book “Platform: Get Noticed in a Noi

    Michael Hyatt’s book “Platform: Get Noticed in a Noisy World” is an instant classic! As former CEO and Chairman of a leading book publisher, he has seen the previous “evolutionary” old-school ways of building a platform available only to a select few dramatically transform into a “revolutionary” way of building a platform that is available to almost anyone today. He has taken that experience and created a masterpiece that provides the precise steps so that anyone can now build their own platform for success. And thankfully, he has put the content in an extremely digestible format with all the references anyone needs to get started. With compelling stories and insights, Michael’s head and heart are completely transparent as he provides everything that is needed for success in today’s world. Thank you so much, Michael, for putting this together! Keep up the God Work! ~Tom Schulte, Executive Director of Linked 2 Leadership and CEO of Recalibrate Professional Development

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    Michael Hyatt is an inspiration. He writes on leadership and lif

    Michael Hyatt is an inspiration. He writes on leadership and life at his blog. He is always sharing great ideas and suggestions for leading a better life. He openly shares with his readers.

    His new book, Platform, is no different. He shares incredibly helpful tips for developing a platform for your product, service, or blog. These are all proven strategies that have worked for him. His writing style is very organized and easy to follow. He not only provides the inspiration behind why to do these things, he helps tell you exactly how.

    This book is a reference guide for anyone who wants to build a tribe of followers. It doesn't matter where you are in the process. He will help guide you through it effectively. It is applicable for your business, personal and professional life. You would pay ten times the cost to hear this information at a conference. But Michael gives it to you in a simple, easy to use format that can be referenced for years to come. Then it's up to you to do the work and make it happen.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    Start here...if you have something to sell, whether it is yours


    Start here...if you have something to sell, whether it is yourself or a product read this first. Start by reading Platform: Get Noticed in a Noisy World by Michael Hyatt. You will save yourself time, energy, and money by reading this book first.

    In this day and age, even the most incredible creators with the best creationss (such as books, music, products, or ideas) need a platform on which to stand to be noticed. Without such, the creator and the creation get lost in the noise of the so many promoting so much.

    Michael has a gift of taking the brilliant and making it simple to follow. Without "dumbing down" his knowledge or insulting his reader's intelligence, Michael Hyatt has written a book virtually anyone can pick up and begin building their "platform." His chapters are concise with detail instruction. He encourages, he teaches, and he shares his personal experiences in an easy to read, easy to understand, easy to go back to time and time again, book.

    I highly recommend this to anyone who is looking to build a platform for their product or is in the process of building. You won't regret adding this book to your toolbox as you build.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    Building a platform is essential. As a writer, I've heard that a

    Building a platform is essential. As a writer, I've heard that a million times. Maybe more. The exhortation usually comes with a few specifics: blog, engage on Facebook and Twitter. Until now I've been following that advice blindly, doing what is required to participate in a changing industry.

    But, now I have a secret weapon--A platform-building coach in the form of Michael Hyatt's book, Platform: Get Noticed in a Noisy World.

    Platform took me beyond the bullet points and provided a blueprint for building a platform that will help me engage others on the topics close to my heart. I'm excited to implement the action points Michael Hyatt so generously provides.

    I've been reading his blog for years and have watched his platform grow exponentially. I never imagined he would take all he learned from his successes and failures and make those lessons available to me (and you).

    Michael Hyatt's expertise--and ability to put the cookies on the bottom shelf--combine to make Platform a book any writer could use to create opportunities to get noticed in a noisy world.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    A "Wow" Experience

    Ever read a book that completely changes your perspective? A paradigm shift of sorts? Platform by Michael Hyatt did just that for me. This book is jam-packed with relevant information on how to build your platform. Michael Hyatt generously provides you with step by step instructions and lists on how to start a blog, build a following, use social media properly (i.e., Twitter) and much more. Platform equips the novice to the seasoned professional. This book is a guide by which you can go back and refer to at any point or phase in your platform building. You will find nuggets on every page of this book. Michael Hyatt creates a masterpiece and a "wow" experience for his readers. There has never been a book written like this one. If you are serious about building your platform, I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    When Michael Hyatt Writes, I Listens

    As a writer and speaker there are certain people I glean from and Michael Hyatt is one of them. Hyatt sets the example for successful platform building. I’ve been an avid reader of his blog for years and he has taught me so much along the way. This book takes what Michael already does so well online to the next level.

    Platform: Get Noticed in a Noisy World gets my five stars for:

    * short, digestible chapters
    * a variety of stories that help readers relate
    * personal examples of Michael’s success and failure
    * a reminder to create that wow factor
    * practical, do-able advice (I found myself stopping to fix things on my website)
    * samples of Michael’s landing pages - so helpful to see
    * great tips on social media
    * a challenge to think differently about marketing (Yes, I’m a creative who rebels)

    Michael writes, “If you want to build a platform, it’s time to get the passion back.”

    I agree.

    Platform is a MUST READ for anyone who wants to make some noise, or better yet, some music with their product, ministry or business.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    Save yourself time and money: Buy this book.

    At the time of writing this review of "Platform: Get Noticed in a Noisy World" everybody has left a 5-star review. I almost left a 1-star review, just so I could get noticed...

    But that would be extremely unfair to Michael Hyatt, who has written the best book on developing your digital platform that I have ever read. If I could give it 6 stars, I would have.

    I have read many other books on developing your platform, and most of them focus on developing interpersonal relationship with your friends, neighbors, and coworkers, so that you can market yourself or sell your product. This is all vitally important, but most of these books had only a chapter or two on developing your online platform. At most, they have a chapter or two about having a website. In the digital age, this is just not going to cut it.

    It seems that many people approach their website and online presence in the same way Kevin Costner approached baseball in his movie, "Field of Dreams." We think, "If you build it, they will come." So we build our website, and nobody shows up.

    Michael Hyatt speaks from experience in this. When he was the CEO of Thomas Nelson Publishers, they went gangbusters on building websites for every book and author, only to find that nobody ever visited all these thousands of pages. Something more was needed than just a website.

    Now, after eight years of blogging and turning his blog into one of the most widely read and commented-upon websites in the world today, he shares with us all of his tips and tricks that he learned over the years.

    The great thing about developing your platform online is that it is open to everyone. The things that Michael shares can be done by anyone with a little bit of creativity and discipline. You no longer have to be a politician, a TV personality, or a megachurch pastor in order to gain a following and land a book deal.

    You just have to develop your online platform.

    And in this book, Michael Hyatt tells you how.

    The best thing about the book is how he shows that there are no magic bullets or secret handshakes to developing your platform success. Most of what he writes about in the book you can learn on the internet by scouring websites and performing endless searches on Google. By why waste time and spend countless hours sifting through thousands of potentially pointless blog posts when Michael Hyatt has done all the work for you, and written each chapter in concise, bite-size pieces which can be easily understood and implemented right away? Save yourself time and headache. Buy this book, and begin building your online platform today.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Are you waiting to be discovered? Whether you have a product or

    Are you waiting to be discovered? Whether you have a product or service to sell, a business to start, or even a ministry to launch, Platform is the book that will help you “Get Noticed in a Noisy World.”

    Whether you are a business person, author or speaker, Platform will explain not only why you need a platform to get noticed, but how to build one including these steps:

    Start With Wow – Creating a compelling product
    Prepare to Launch – Setting up branding tools and media kits
    Building Your Home Base – Building a website for yourself
    Expand Your Reach – The how-to’s of social media
    Engage Your Tribe – Monitor your brand and engage your audience

    The book is written in such a way that you can read it straight through, or pick the topics that interest you and dive right in. Clearly laid out, the book format offers easy to follow steps to start building, or expand your reach.

    For everyone hoping to be discovered, trying to step ahead of the crowd, or get noticed…Platform is the book for you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    When I teach at writers conferences, the word "platform&quo

    When I teach at writers conferences, the word "platform" reverberates off the walls, and would-be authors tremble under the weight of it. What I love about this book is how practical and simple it is. You will learn:

    1. What is a platform
    2. Why you need one
    3. How to build one
    4. How not to be obnoxious in the process
    5. How to find joy in the platform journey

    Michael Hyatt makes it easy. He gives you action steps, and he explains social media platforms in an understandable way.

    If you have a product (it certainly doesn't have to be a book), this book will prove to be a goldmine of practical, applicable information.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    All You Need To Build Your Platform

    Michael Hyatt recently released his newest book, Platform, and it's a smash hit.

    Having been the CEO and, now, the current Chairman of Thomas Nelson Publishing Michael knows a thing or two about getting noticed. One of those is platform building, something that many creatives lacked when pitching their products.

    Platform is the culmination of seeing the need and finding a way to show these creatives how to create a following. And Michael knocks it out of the park.

    In his book, he will show you how to:

    1. Start With WOW
    2. Prepare To Launch
    3. Build Your Home Base
    4. Expand Your Reach
    5. Engage Your Tribe

    Michael takes you through the steps of WHY you need a platform, WHAT a platform will do for you, and HOW you can build a platform. I've used his information on platform building and have seen tremendous growth in my blog traffic. This is how I know it works.

    You'll find yourself taking notes, re-reading sections, and discovering why you need to have a platform. Once you're finished, you'll be inspired and equipped to build your platform.

    If you're a creative who has had troubles getting recognized, this book is for you. Grab it today. You won't be disappointed!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Now you can raise your Platform! As a new follower of Michael


    Now you can raise your Platform! As a new follower of Michael Hyatt, I couldn’t have come on at a better time. Michael’s new book is just what I needed and I am sure many others will also. If you are aspiring to become a writer, artist, or other creative type, you need a “platform” just to get noticed. Michael teaches you the steps you need in a way that you can understand and apply. He provides the exact tools and resources that you will need to build your brand. If you have a message to get out, this is the book you need.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    Simply the best book on building an engaging platform I've read.

    Simply the best book on building an engaging platform I've read. It's clear, inspiring, and practical. A must-read for any blogger, writer, leader, pastor, or creative. This book well exceeds its worth ten times over. If you're building a platform or producing content in some form, this book should be on your desk at all times.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    This is an EXCELLENT BOOK! Very easy to follow & the steps

    This is an EXCELLENT BOOK! Very easy to follow & the steps aer laid out right there for you to follow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    Must read for (YOUR NAME HERE) !

    This has to be one of the best books I have read in the last twelve months! It is filled with invaluable information for anyone. From author to casual blogger to job seeker. For those who haven't heard, your platform will do more for you to get a job than your resume. You got it. I believe your platform is crucial to your success in your career. The resume is dead! With that said, this book by Michael Hyatt should be a fixture on everyone's bookshelf. First off, I struggled getting through this book. I didn't struggle for the reasons people often struggle with books. The reason I struggled in getting through this book is simple. Each and every chapter challenged me to think and explore topics I have not considered. It seems with every chapter I read I had a blog post to write. It needed digestion and spawned me to dig deeper. I encourage you to take your time going through the book and digest each chapter at your pace. As I mentioned earlier, this book is packed with such practical knowledge which will keep you thinking and cause you to go deeper to develop your platform.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    Not just a book about building a business...it's about building

    Not just a book about building a business...it's about building a life., May 19, 2012

    This review is from: Platform: Get Noticed in a Noisy World (Hardcover)
    Don't make the mistake of bypassing Michael Hyatt's book because you think you don't have a business or a product to promote. If you have a family, a spouse, or if it's just you and the dog, you have something or someone around which you can build a "wow experience."

    I've published four books, but it's not just the author-me that's excited about Platform. As a high school teacher for almost twenty-five years, I wish this book could be required reading for every state superintendent, every school board, every administrator and every educator. Instead of a ripple effect, there would be a tidal wave of change in classrooms.

    What impresses me about this book is that, unlike some others I've read about striving for success, it's not Michael Hyatt's homage to himself. Instead of "look at all the amazing things I've accomplished," this book's focus is, "watch all the amazing things you'll accomplish."

    Make an intentional purchase during the book's official "launch week," of May 21-25 and be ready for your first WOW experience!

    When you buy Platform: Get Noticed in a Noisy World during that week, you'll receive seven FREE bonuses (valued at $375.98):
    1. Platform Video Jumpstart Serier (6 video sessions)
    2. Why NOW is the Best Time Ever to be an Author (video)
    3. How to Write a Winning Book Proposal
    4. Writing a Winning Non-Fiction book Proposal eBook
    5. Writing a Winning Fiction Proposal eBook
    6. Digital edition of Platform
    7. Audio edition of Platform

    If that offer doesn't rock your world, then you really do need Platform!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3