Customer Reviews for

Platform: Get Noticed in a Noisy World

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    I started reading this book on Saturday morning and I ended stay

    I started reading this book on Saturday morning and I ended staying up late just so I could finish it on Saturday night, it's litterally that good! I can't believe how much value is in this book, it could be an entire college course!

    If you want to spread a message, start a business online, become an author, become a speaker, then you need to read this book first, go back and read it again to make sure you didn't miss anything, then move forward. This book is a step by step guide to success, told in a way that anyone can understand and implement.

    It's worth every dollar, if you read this book and implement the knowledge in it, one day I'll be writing a review about your book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    Platform is a "Life Textbook" for anyone with a messag

    Platform is a "Life Textbook" for anyone with a message of value. If you are building an organization and you want to share your vision with the world in a meaningful way, READ THIS BOOK!
    Thanks Michael, we appreciate you and your wisdom.
    Bob Kuebler
    Author
    "Wisdom From The Hood"
    "Prayer The Book" & "Mentorology"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    Michael Hyatt is an expert on the subject and this book delivers

    Michael Hyatt is an expert on the subject and this book delivers. Everything you wanted to know about platform building and then some. Why not go to the master himself?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Click here

    "For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son; that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life" - John 3:16 ††† JESUS LOVES YOU

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Very timely - Good for internal focus as well as external

    I purchased this book based on the author and the subject. I am interested in how to get my message heard on two fronts. One is an external message focused on a cause. The second is related to my job and how to promote the activities of my group. I feel that the principles work for both areas. Great insight from a personal who has dealt with similar areas as myself.

    A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Platform is an in-depth step-by-step look at how to develop a so

    Platform is an in-depth step-by-step look at how to develop a social media presence. Michael Hyatt has taken many of his former blog posts on the subject of building a social media platform, cleaned them up, added to them and put them together into this great how-to guide. This results in the book being broken up into around 60 very short chapters. Each chapter is brief and to the point and the content is divided up into bulleted lists, numbered lists and specific action items. This means that you can read the book in short bursts and take action on everything you read. This book is a must read (and is the best work I've read on the subject) for anyone looking to build a tribe of online followers in order to build a business or simply to get your message out into the world. Platform will also stay on your desk to use as a reference anytime you have a question about your social media platform.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Great road map

    I've been busy creating my platform for the last year and I'm excited to apply many of Michael's insights - really a comprehensive plan - to build my business. I bought the book because he has added value to me through his blog and has the credibility of having created a platform himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    A great read for the beginner and also the social media veteran

    I highly recommend Michael Hyatt 's new book. If you are new to social media or even a seasoned veteran, you will find it to be a great resource. This book is well written and packed with rich, detailed information that will inspire your own ideas for using social media for business. You will find yourself making lots and lots of notes from every page. It is one of those resources that you will go back to again and again. I also will recommending it as a "must read" social media marketing resource for all of my clients.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Extremely Practical!

    This book is an easy read and a step-by-step guide to marketing anything. As an author and speaker, I'm currently in the process of marketing my new book "Desperate For Hope" but I don't have a huge marketing budget. Platform shows you how to get the word out without spending a bunch of money you don't have. I particularly apppreciated the fact that he included all the different internet resources he uses. I was surprised at what is available out there for the average guy who doesn't have a marketing team. This book delivers on its promise! Buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must get your hands on it!

    I enjoyed every detail spoken in the audio book, read by Michael Hyatt. I recommend it to anyone who's desire it to be great at public speaking, writing, communicating, and leading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Best leadership book of 2012

    Michael Hyatt is the Chairman of Thomas Nelson Publishers, which makes him the coolest man alive since most of the books I read are from TNP and now they are the proud publishers of the Voice bible. Mr Hyatt writes books and blogs about leadership, productivity, publishing, social media, and, on occasion, stuff that doesn’t fit neatly into any of these categories.

    His latest book, Platform “Get noticed in a noisy world” is exactly what the title implies. This is a must read for anyone who wants to be noticed among the crowd. And this is the kind of leadership book I like, the chapters are short, easy to digest, packed with punch and there is TON of information here to devour.

    If your self-improvement goals are to read one leadership book a year, make it this one! This is 60 chapters of equipping that you can use in ministry or the business world. In fact, I would argue that this book would be applicable to anyone who wants to get noticed, especially in fields that are flooded with competition.

    The other great thing about this book is, it’s relevant. Unlike some leadership books that just get reprinted with new covers, Platform is about modern tools like websites and social media and Michael gives you great advice how to use them.

    Hyatt also takes time out from advice giving to offer real stories of his personal successes and failures making for a delightful and easy read. Highly recommended!

    Thank you to Thomas Nelson for providing this book for a fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    It was so surreal. Mike used the word picture – slam-dunk,

    It was so surreal. Mike used the word picture – slam-dunk, in Chapter 1. For a moment, my mind floated to Rick Pitino’s time-out account in his book Success is a Choice. Providence was down 10 points with five minutes left to Austin Peay University. This was a game changer for Rick Pitino. If Providence wins, they would go to the Final Four. This win also opened the eyes of the New York Knicks organization and offered a coaching job later that summer.

    Rick gave the inside the huddle motivation. The team was tired, flustered, and fear began to rear its head in the heart of the players. He started slowly in a calm low voice to rally the confidence of the players. Rick capped the talk with, “For the next five minutes we can rip out hearts and throw them on the floor. Just throw them on the floor and see what happens” (page 197).

    Mike called a time out, too in PLATFORM, Get noticed in a noisy world. He brought me in the huddle with calmness, raw passion, and fire. He sorted the issues by helping me see two challenges – content (product or services) and platform.

    Platform presents easy to follow strategies. As I begin to build my platform, Chapter 3, Exceed Market Expectations and Chapter 9, Think Bigger… No, Bigger! - stand at the forefront of my attention.

    In Chapter 3, Mike paints a vivid picture of a total consumer experience at a corporate lobby. He describes how to create a “wow” experience with the lighting, decorum, name tags, coffee being offered, and receptionist’s bearing to make guest more welcomed. These details helped me visualize how I can create a “wow” experience with my fliers, website, blogs, and anything and everything that relate to building a platform. In Chapter 9, let me list the sub-points: 1) Imagine the possibilities, 2) Write down your dream, 3) Connect with what is at stake, 4) Outline what would have to be true, 5) Decide what you can do to affect the outcome, 6) Determine when this happens, 7) Review you goals daily.

    If you have reached this far, thank you reading. I know you are searching (like I am), collecting ideas to build a platform. If you are a writer, in sales, or in business, this book is a must have. If you are building a life, Platform offers proven advice to shape a life. Get hold of the book. Get another one for a friend so you can read the book together. The learning experience is more fun when you bounce ideas to friends and get a raw unhindered response. From there, you can build and refine your platform and your life.

    Mike, thank you for sharing golden nuggets of wisdom and tested and proven advice in PLATFORM. As Zig Ziglar once said, “See you at the top.” Thank you for sharing the path to get there. For me, I am taking the scenic route.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    I can see how this works after reading 50-60 pages on the airpla

    I can see how this works after reading 50-60 pages on the airplane yesterday. Just those few pages have given clairity to a project I have. Isn't that what you want when you go to a book like this? You are developing your own road map not Michael's. I am looking forward to finishing the book. In my view, PLATFORM is well worth your time to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    Michael Hyatt has written one of the best books about social med

    Michael Hyatt has written one of the best books about social media I have seen. In clear and concise language, he walks the reader step-by-step through the process of clarifying your vision for social media, launching your site, how to hand and moderate comments and how to use social media to amplify your efforts. I appreciated the in-depth coverage he gave to affiliate programs and how to use tools like Google Analytics, Google Alerts, Hoot Suite and Twitter. His encouraging style empowers readers to get started. If you have a small business, want to build a presence on the Internet or just use Facebook, Twitter and Google+ better, this is the guide for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    Excellent book - clear, practical, inspirational. I especially l

    Excellent book - clear, practical, inspirational. I especially loved the section on dreaming big and setting goals - Michael Hyatt actually made this hard-core realist believe that she could in fact, dream big. Thank you Michael!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Fantastic! I plan to use it to promote my own books, and I've r

    Fantastic! I plan to use it to promote my own books, and I've recommended it to all my author clients through my writing/editorial services. If you're an author, read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Platform by Michael Hyatt is not only a must-read, it is a conti

    Platform by Michael Hyatt is not only a must-read, it is a continual reference! It is absolutely chock-full of powerpacked principles for building your platform. What do you want to say? What do you want to sell? Having success at creating your brand and maintaining a loyal following is no big secret. It is a simple matter of knowing where to go to get the information. And Michael Hyatt has power-seeded his years of success and experience into what I like to call a manual for mastery and he has delivered it to the masses for easy and continual consumption. Social media secrets have been revealed!!

    I am an aspiring author, and with Platform I have discovered that it doesn't matter if you are a novice like myself or if you're a seasoned professional like Michael at marketing your brand; having this book in your possession and applying its principles will prove for you to be the catalyst for greater connectivity with your target audience as well as an inspiration for further creativity. You want to have this book!! And if you know of anyone in business, industry, or ministry who wants to be more successful at getting the word out and bringing the revenues or the results in, then you want them to have a copy of this book too!! There is application across the board for anyone who wants to have a platform.

    Again, an absolute must-read and continual reference!!

    Keith L. Bell
    Admissions Specialist and Director of Spiritual Emphasis for
    Liberty University Online


    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    It has been a struggle the past two weeks to fit in reading this

    It has been a struggle the past two weeks to fit in reading this book. There was the meeting I was attending, travel and a full week on-site with a client. However, as we all know, if something is important to us we will fit it into our schedules. I began the book before arriving at my client's office on Monday morning for a "Web Presence Planning Meeting." How timely was this?

    During our meeting we would be having discussion about the firm's elevator speech. I have had an elevator speech for a number of years, but I didn't have a structure to share with the client before reading Mike's book. Right there on Sunday evening in Chapter 9 was the information I needed for that meeting. A couple of other points came up during our meeting that I could draw on the book for answers.

    As I read this book, I used the highlighting and notes tool in my Kindle app on my iPad. I have highlighted and made more notes in this book than any other I have ever read. I have a list for me of actions to take, and I am in the process of making a list for 3 of my clients that need to be reviewed and addressed to move them forward in their development of their web presence.

    I don't do many book reviews. A business book must have real value to me in order for me to spend my time on it. I don't really look at PLATFORM as a book. I look at it a one the tools in my toolbox to improve my business as well as the businesses of my clients.

    Thank you Mike for this great tool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    'Platform' by Michael Hyatt is THE how-to book for anyone wishin

    'Platform' by Michael Hyatt is THE how-to book for anyone wishing to grow their platform. Honestly, I did not know what to expect from a book like this but it is an absolute treasure trove of practical, applicable information. This book is to platform building what Moneyball was to baseball...THE blueprint of how to be the best there is.

    Hyatt delivers 60 chapters (thats right 60!) bursting with the hows, the whats, and the whys, all in simple to read, easy to understand bullet pointed lists. On top of this he points you to other top quality books, software, blogs, etc.

    My own platform will grow exponentially because of this book.

    What you will get out of this book is directly proportional to how you apply it once you are done reading. This should be a no-brainer. When an author, who has 100K Twitter followers and a blog with a reader list larger than some countries, tells you exactly how he got to the top, you should listen and follow in his steps.

    Go ahead and click on 'Add to Cart', you'll be glad you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Fantastic Book!

    Engaging from the first chapter (intriguingly titled “Start with Wow”), Platform: Get Noticed in a Noisy World was as engaging as it was informative. The practical step-by-step advice on how to build a significant following was incredibly motivating. It demolished my pre-conceived notions that you had to have money and influence to generate a significant community of followers. Michael Hyatt’s book underlines that success is realized through hard work, determination and generosity – not funding. Platform provides an invaluable resource for anyone looking to promote themselves, their product, or their services. I highly recommend Platform!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3