Customer Reviews for

Plato and a Platypus Walk into a Bar...: Understanding Philosophy through Jokes

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Delightfully Humorous

I chuckled my way through this book. Anyone who believes philosophy is dull and better relegated to the musty halls of the previous century will be both surprised and delighted by Plato and a Platypus Walk Into A Bar. The book opens with a quotation from Groucho Marx,...
I chuckled my way through this book. Anyone who believes philosophy is dull and better relegated to the musty halls of the previous century will be both surprised and delighted by Plato and a Platypus Walk Into A Bar. The book opens with a quotation from Groucho Marx, thus setting the tone for the future!

What follows is a delightful comparison of age-old philosophy from various schools of thought worldwide to today's modern, confusing and often downright hilarious world. Included in the book are humorous cartoons from several artists, a glossary of philosophical terms and a timeline of great moments in the history of philosophy. I laughed and I learned a bundle. Plato and a Platypus Walk Into A Bar is a must for every librarian, scholar, student, professor or New Age theorist who ever blinked up at the bright sun and quietly asked the question, "Why?" Good for general reading and, in my humble opinion, a most worthy addition to one's permanent library.

posted by AnnBKeller on July 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Entertaining read

This book was an entertaining read on a boring subject. I found it funny and very pertinent.

posted by kyred on April 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Delightfully Humorous

    I chuckled my way through this book. Anyone who believes philosophy is dull and better relegated to the musty halls of the previous century will be both surprised and delighted by Plato and a Platypus Walk Into A Bar. The book opens with a quotation from Groucho Marx, thus setting the tone for the future!

    What follows is a delightful comparison of age-old philosophy from various schools of thought worldwide to today's modern, confusing and often downright hilarious world. Included in the book are humorous cartoons from several artists, a glossary of philosophical terms and a timeline of great moments in the history of philosophy. I laughed and I learned a bundle. Plato and a Platypus Walk Into A Bar is a must for every librarian, scholar, student, professor or New Age theorist who ever blinked up at the bright sun and quietly asked the question, "Why?" Good for general reading and, in my humble opinion, a most worthy addition to one's permanent library.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    Great Book!

    I am not presently reading this book perse but my boyfriend is, right next to me and laughing out loud on almost every page. So no, I'm not reading it but I am having the hilarious jokes read to me minute by minute. I will read the book when he is done but I feel like I am already involved. What a hilarious and wonderous little collection of insights and explinations this book has - I feel very secure reviewing it as yes indeed I have heard almost every one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A rabbi, a priest,...

    These guys are hysterical; I'd love to hear them do a regular podcast. A philosophical version on "Things you missed in history class". I don't know how much I really learned but I had a great time doing it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    one of the funniest books I have read for a long time.

    What is ' understanding?'
    After reading this book you are as far from understanding philosophy as you ever were but you will be very curious to find out more.
    Your faith in the human species will be a little bit restored.
    It is a first class feel good book.
    Keep it close to you for every day reference.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    Philosophical conversationalists, Dimitri and Tasso, have been ordained by Cathcart and Klein to guide us through a brilliantly written tome-free survey of philosophy as viewed through the lens of a 21st century skeptic. Plato and a Platypus opens the doors to the various schools of philosophy employing whimsical contemporary illustrations that at once surprise and inform the reader. There are startlingly delightful cartoons, too. Each page offers up an intro to a serious speech, an ice-breaker for a cocktail party, or an intellectual game for a baby shower. The reader is at once compelled to both keep reading and to cut away to share a passage with a friend. (That¿s what literate people do when tweaked--they read to one another. I suggest it be limited to people over the age of 6, though my 5-year-old grandson became intrigued when I shared a tongue-in-cheek segment.) Yet, this book is far from one big joke. It is a scholarly work, complete with timeline and glossary, both of which are laced with humor that belie the academic content. It would be a rational text for many a college class. Critical thinking comes to mind. So do religion, ethics, math, logic, pragmatism, and English composition. If you buy one, buy two. This little reader is the perfect gift book for celebrations and simple pleasures. It is ideal for the friendly neighborhood philosopher. It is also a fine open-anywhere for moments when you want to think deeply without the weight of war or taxes. It is a definite buy and keep book. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Lifts the Academic Stigma of Philosophy

    I took Philosophy in at the University of Tennessee. Man was I confused.
    This little book will give the prospective student a good insight to the science of thought without having to cut away the "fat" served in the traditional class room. The old thinkers fretted over word play. I re-learned what I had studied in college but on a more "down to earth" format. Now I understand. These Harvard writers lay it all out in plain simple english and explain the logic that confused generations of "thinkers of thought. After reading it I was thunk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect for Philosophy Beginners

    This book was great. First of all, it is easy to understand and covers the main ideas of many philosophies. It gives a broad understanding of the many different types of theories and thoughts out there. Second, it is sarcastic and funny so that even beginners can understand it and enjoy it. It's captivating so that you wont want to put it down (I read it while I was on vacation in Venice haha) I'm a student and it really gave me a solid base on my quest to learn philosophical principles. This book was on my wish list for a while and I am not disappointed that I finally bought and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    Plato and a Platypus Walk Into a Bar

    Absolutely hilarious! As a college student of philosophy, this little book brought the textbook into perspective with a lot of laughs included.
    A must read for philosophy students!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good idea

    This was an amazing idea- use jokes to convey the ideas of great philosophers. I don't know how they compiled all of them, but the result is a brilliant collection of funnies that plunge the reader into concepts of metaphysics, religion, ethics, language- there's a great paraphrase in the language part about why the questions in philosophy are so confusing- it's because they use confusing language (interesting points elaborated on in "Everyone Agrees").

    That really gets to the point- jokes are instant ways to conjoin two disperate ideas-just like philosophy. "Getting" a joke is much like "getting" philosophy and that's why this book is so brilliant and useful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    Great Intro Book

    I got this book for myself because it looked like a fun way to learn about philosophy. I was not dissapointed. My surprise came when my 10 year old read it and loved it as well. Although, I do not think he got all of the concepts he loved all the jokes. He has gone on to share the book with his teachers at school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is a really hilarious read about the various concepts in philosophy like empiricism, essentialism, rationalism, existentialism,deductive logic, inductive logic, and many others - all explained in a very humorous manner with the help of jokes drawn from various sources.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2007

    Groucho Marx Would Love It!

    Who would have thought humor and philosophy could come together in such a wonderfully readable and understandable fashion. It should be required for all college philosophy courses. Warning: Don't read the jokes first!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2