Customer Reviews for

Plato and a Platypus Walk into a Bar...: Understanding Philosophy through Jokes

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Delightfully Humorous

I chuckled my way through this book. Anyone who believes philosophy is dull and better relegated to the musty halls of the previous century will be both surprised and delighted by Plato and a Platypus Walk Into A Bar. The book opens with a quotation from Groucho Marx,...
I chuckled my way through this book. Anyone who believes philosophy is dull and better relegated to the musty halls of the previous century will be both surprised and delighted by Plato and a Platypus Walk Into A Bar. The book opens with a quotation from Groucho Marx, thus setting the tone for the future!

What follows is a delightful comparison of age-old philosophy from various schools of thought worldwide to today's modern, confusing and often downright hilarious world. Included in the book are humorous cartoons from several artists, a glossary of philosophical terms and a timeline of great moments in the history of philosophy. I laughed and I learned a bundle. Plato and a Platypus Walk Into A Bar is a must for every librarian, scholar, student, professor or New Age theorist who ever blinked up at the bright sun and quietly asked the question, "Why?" Good for general reading and, in my humble opinion, a most worthy addition to one's permanent library.

posted by AnnBKeller on July 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Entertaining read

This book was an entertaining read on a boring subject. I found it funny and very pertinent.

posted by kyred on April 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Bathroom Read

    If you're buying a book about Plato and a platypus, chances are, you don't need a read course on philosophy. I think this book is equally entertaining for academics who need basic references in philosophy as well as those who enjoy tidbits of half-witted jokes to understand complicated ideals like existentialism.
    The book is divided up into easy-to-understand sections, but I would not call this an authoritative text on philosophy. It's sometimes funny, sometimes interesting, and sometimes worth a minute or two. I think it's a perfect book for the bathroom, to be honest. I would not sit down and read this book all in one sitting and it's not Cliff Notes for those being tested on philosophy. But if you want something conversational, entertaining, and hate subscribing to magazines, this book is for you.
    Buy it for your professor in the humanities, buy it for a student who could use a little help in the area, buy it for someone who reads the New York Times but not the New Yorker.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Funny and Enlightening

    I took a philosophy class in college and fell asleep almost everyday but always regretted not understanding philosophical ideas that are common place. This book explained them in a fun and interesting way that was not only comprehensible but did a pretty good job of keeping me awake. It's probably not the best book for someone who's already a philosophy expert but for someone who is just trying to figure it out, it's a good choice. Also, the jokes are pretty funny at times.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    A very entertaining and enjoyable read

    I loved reading this book- it was funny; I laughed at least once per page.
    I read a few pages over several sittings, so perhaps that accounts for my feeling of not having actually learned all that much about philosophy, but I would recommend it to everyone looking for some entertainment, and I would still recommend it to someone who is on the prowl for some clarification of philosophic concepts, for they may have far better luck than I did!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun read, maybe learn something too

    Philosophy is so hard to get through, so this little book with its humor made some things clearer. I'm not sure I'll remember much, but I did appreciate the glossary and index at the end of the book for reference. I remember struggling with a general Philosophy course in college. This book would be a good addition to a syllbus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Recommended - for children ages 15-90.

    Philosophy made fun. Filled with funny and clever jokes. Thomas Cathcart and Daniel Klein work great together. I will be reading their other books as well hoping they are as good or better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun introduction to Western philosophy

    I'm just far enough away from the philosophy classes I took in college that I don't really want to delve into individual works by each philosopher, but I'm still just as fascinated by and interested in their ideas as I ever was. What, then, to do? Pick up Plato and a Platypus Walk into a Bar, of course! It was just as amusing as I'd hoped, and a rather surprisingly adept and lucid presentation of many of the main ideas throughout the history of philosophy. I would've appreciated a bit more information on Eastern philosophy and the ideas behind feminism, but this slim volume does an excellent job of presenting philosophy as encountered by those in the authors'---and my own---day-to-day Western existence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    This is funny because it explains many philosophers

    I quoted the authors in a paper in a philosophy class

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    Funny Stuff for Smart Thinkers

    Philosophy education while making you laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Phunny Philosophy

    Definitely more of a joke book than a philosophy book, but an absolutely entertaining read. Serious philosophers should probably avoid this book, but "weekenders" like myself will find more than a few insights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2007

    Funny, but offensive

    This book is an excellent introduction-to-philosophy book. The chapters are broken down into the most basic components, explaining each with enough detail to keep one's attention, but without the complexity that may cause the average reader to put down. Take out the occasional cursing, lewd jokes, and some negative connotations towards God 'which do offend me personally' and this book would receive five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1