Customer Reviews for

Play Dead (Andy Carpenter Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Always a treat!

Always a treat! Author has found a delightful formula - wry wit, courtroom banter, interesting plot twists - that is entertaining, yet never feels repetitive. Have read the series and started the next.

posted by 16900171 on August 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

If you love dogs and mysteries its a good book.

If you love dogs and mysteries its a good book for a rainy day.

posted by PAHall on September 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Always a treat!

    Always a treat! Author has found a delightful formula - wry wit, courtroom banter, interesting plot twists - that is entertaining, yet never feels repetitive. Have read the series and started the next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Terrific, relaxing read

    I read for numerous reasons - in this particular case, bedtime reading. This book is part of the Andy Carpenter series. They all follow a similar basic concept but with interesting variations that are at times rather clever. I am also a dog lover so the character, Tara, is an extra special touch. I do highly recommend this author - I have read all but the last book of this series and have started on the 4 or 5 other (thriller) books he has written. I always look for a book that my husband will enjoy - he is definitely hooked on these, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Wonderful

    Love this series - the author is soooooo funny and keeps me interested!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Calling all Doglovers

    I just started reading the Andy Carpenter series by David Rosenfelt and am now going back to all the books he's written and enjoying them. I especially love the fact that he's a doglover and especially the fact that he features Golden Retrievers.

    In this installment he's rescued a Golden that just happens to be wrapped in a murder/suicide case from 5 years ago. Trying to help out the sister of the accused, Andy is not only having his phone tapped by some government agency, but he's being shot at while driving.

    How did Reggie the Golden survive all these years and what does it mean to the prosecution's case against his owner? You'll have to read to find out. Along the way you'll enjoy Andy's conversation with his friend Sam that involve song lyrics and movie dialogue which is just another delightful turn in this book.

    I highly recommend this book as well as the others in the Andy Carpenter series if you enjoy a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    What a find!

    I recently stumbled across Rosenfelt's Andy Carpenter series, and promptly obtained all six books after reading the first one. This is a fun read, particularly after reading something much heavier as I do often. I like the way he develops his characters, and with only two left for me to read, I feel like I'm friends with most of the people in his plots. This series would make a good movie, and it would be interesting to see who would be picked to play Tara, his dog, who is obviously the star of the series! For those who like light mysteries from time to time, this is the book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    Loved it!

    I saw the Golden on the cover and bought this book. It was my first by David Rosenfelt but won't be my last! I plan to read every one. His writing is engaging, hilarious and keeps you in suspense till the end. The goldens involved don't hurt!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    STILL GREAT

    While I did not think this book was as good as his previous books, you cannot not love Andy Carpenter, Tara, Laurie, Willie and all the other characters. His song talking with Sam, his silent 'bodyguard' Marcus, His do-nothing secretary Edna, his sarcastic cop friend Pete and Vince from the newspaper are so real you feel like you know people just like them. All together they make the book outstanding even if this one was slightly weak.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent legal thriller

    In Paterson, New Jersey affluent attorney Andy Carpenter only accepts cases that interest him since he inherited millions. When he learns that Yogi the golden retriever is going to be executed for allegedly biting his owner, Andy who loves dogs especially this breed, provides a community service by representing this death row canine in this capital case. The court gives Yogi to Andy. As he walks his dogs, Yogi recognizes a nearby woman. Karen Evans explains that Yogi is actually Reggie, who belonged to her brother, former U.S. Customs Inspector Richard Evans convicted of murdering his fiancée, Stacy Harriman five years ago Karen thought Reggie was dead. Unable to resist as he witnessed the love between Karen and Reggie and assuming that Richard and Reggie would be even stronger, Andy decides the canine¿s former owner would not cold bloodedly kill someone he allegedly loves. Andy also thinks he has the key eye witness to the homicide, Reggie. He decides to represent Reggie¿s former human pet and like a pit bull keeps untangling a conspiracy cover-up that smells government in nature. --- Although it sounds like a dog lover fluff legal thriller, PLAY DEAD is a terrific tale due to the eccentricity of Andy who chases the truth like male dogs chasing a female in heat. The story line is fast-paced as Andy sniffs out clues trying to affirm his theory that Richard is innocent. Fans will appreciate this five bark novel starring an unconventional hero with an even more unusual eye witness. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Darkthorn bio

    Name: Darkthorn<p>Gender: &male<p>Age: 30 moons<p>Appearance: Red-violet tom with black ears and patches of black. Yellow eyes. Strangley enough, has a pale blue tongue. Thin, but still da<_>ngerous.<p>History: see res 7<p>Style of Attack: As<_>sissanation and brutal attacks.<p>Other: Likes to wear a face that says "If you provoke me one bit, I'm gonna go ps<_>ycho on you".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Love this series. Bought the first book and I won't stop until I've read them all!,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    SO ENJOYABLE

    Just keeps getting better i am hooked also i can see myself rereading them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    Legal Thriller Meets Dog Lovers' Mystery!

    Andy Carpenter, an independently wealthy lawyer who used his inherited wealth to set up a golden retriever rescue, is called in to save the life of a condemned golden accused of biting its owner. Few have his resources, whether it be creativity or finances, and Andy mounts a successful defense for the golden known as Yogi. However, Yogi turns out to be Richard Evans¿ missing, formerly believed to be dead dog, Reggie. It¿s Kelly, Richard¿s sister who finds Andy and claims Yogi is Richard¿s dog. She informs Andy that Richard is on death row for the murder of his fiancé Stacy. They had been on his boat with Reggie. When the boat is found, only Richard is on the boat unconscious with an open bottle of sleeping pills and Stacy¿s blood on the floor. Both Stacy and Reggie are missing. Later, a body came to shore with Stacy¿s dna, and Richard went to trial. Finding Reggie alive and other anomalies enable Andy to successfully win a new trial for Richard. There were two processes proceeding through the book. One is the preparation for the trial, and the other is the investigation into the original crime. When the trial fails, the investigation remains, and the investigation is very successful indeed. This is a quick moving, engrossing, and fascinating read. I loved it! It's the best of the Canine inspired mysteries I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2007

    Good beach read, but I liked Bury the Lead and Dead Center better.

    love love love this author and the andy carpenter series. As an owner of a golden retriever, I can relate to how he feels about his dog. Can't wait for another book. Do yourself a favor and read all of David Rosenfelt's books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2