Customer Reviews for

Play Dead

Average Rating 4
( 380 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(150)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Intriguing

Great bedtime reading...but I do skip over extensive descriptive passages.

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Obviously His First

Harlan Coben is one of my favorite authors. He wrote that you should not read this book if you haven't read any of his others first, and he's sure right about that. The plot is okay, but it isn't very well written and the ebook version is messed up. Don't spend your mon...
Harlan Coben is one of my favorite authors. He wrote that you should not read this book if you haven't read any of his others first, and he's sure right about that. The plot is okay, but it isn't very well written and the ebook version is messed up. Don't spend your money on this one.

posted by Kay-Z on October 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 383 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Intriguing

    Great bedtime reading...but I do skip over extensive descriptive passages.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Lots of twists and turns - little too drawn out.

    Play Dead is Harlan Coben's first published novel. It has been rereleased this year. There is a letter from the author warning readers that if this is your first experience to reading one of his books he suggests that they stop reading, go and get another of his books and then come back to this one. I had to laugh because this book is my first by Mr. Coben and I couldn't read a different one because this was December's book club choice. So, I went into reading this book with an open mind.

    I can completely see how Harlan Coben has been able to keep readers spellbound and why he has such a following. The story he weaves is one that makes readers try to figure out what the hell is going on. He gives the reader just enough information to keep them hanging on to find out what next little secret he is going to reveal.

    Now having said all that, I can see why he was apologizing to his fans and telling new readers not to start with this book. It is painfully obvious to me that this is an inexperienced author. The story is rich with its twists and turns, but it is executed poorly. The book was 500+ pages and could have been told in 300 and I would have been satisfied. Often times the clues where all too stingily delivered to have them pounded into the ground over and over by different character view points.

    I found Play Dead to be an entertaining read. But I thought the two main characters were slightly superficial and the book a little too long. Other than that, I felt that Harlan Coben has great potential and wouldn't be averse to trying something else by him.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Obviously His First

    Harlan Coben is one of my favorite authors. He wrote that you should not read this book if you haven't read any of his others first, and he's sure right about that. The plot is okay, but it isn't very well written and the ebook version is messed up. Don't spend your money on this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    Harlan Coben said of his first novel, "Play Dead", &qu

    Harlan Coben said of his first novel, "Play Dead", "I'm hard on it, but aren't we all hard on our early stuff?" Yes, Mr. Coben, but most people's early stuff isn't as good as your first published novel. "Play Dead" packs a punch full of twists and turns, and what is great is that even though I figured out one of the big twists about halfway through the back (by time it was revealed, I knew it was coming), there were others waiting for me that I did not expect leading to a satisfying conclusion that may have benefited by being a page or two longer. In fact, the copy I ready had nearly 550 enjoyable pages. I've read and will be re-reading the Coben backs I've previously read, and it amazes me what a talent he was even by his first novel. I would love to see an outline of this and other books by this author to see just how it's done with so many unexpected events taking place in his stories.

    So what didn't I like? Some of the dialogue. Coben often includes what I consider to be pointless conversation that shows how people talk to each other in their normal conversation, but for someone it often doesn't sound all that genuine to me. If it is genuine dialogue that people use, then maybe I need to be around people more (this is entirely possible!) This dialogue issue may not be a big deal when the Sheriff of an Australia town is conversing with a hotel owner, but when it happens between Laura and David, the two main characters, it very much so matters. As you can probably tell, though, this is nowhere near enough to not recommend this book and let you know how much I enjoyed almost every second of it. Definitely well worth playing along with this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Harlan Coben is one of my favorite writers.

    A fast read with enough twists to keep it interesting.
    Worth your time to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    A great read on NOOK

    Filled with twists and turns making it a very good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Myron back

    Time we had Myron back , and for my money having more of Win is very welcomeHowever I sense Harlan Coben is hoping Myrona nd Win have "fallen out"/ drifted apart so he does not have to write another one soon

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Good Start to Writing Career

    Good for travel reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    kept my attention

    i like to 'escape into a book' from page one and this book definitely did that - as it is the very first book by this author that i have read - and now i am hooked!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Harlan Coban's

    Evidently, this was one of the first books (if not THE first) written by Harlan Coban......and it reads as well as all his other excellent mysteries with a twist. (Only thing that could have been done was to have a professional editor,who has no reservations about WHOM she/he edits(!),edit the book so some of the FEW bumps got ironed out.....but this was against Coban's stated premise of leaving his youthful, earlier work of writing "stand as is.".).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    Not nearly his best

    I have read all of Harlan Cobens' books & have enjoyed them.This one ,his first novel that he admits he wrote twenty years ago is not nearly up to his standards. If you read this as your first Coben experience do not judge it but read on. This book is just all over the place and it is frustrating even to believe all the plots..Just give him a pass and move on .....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    Do not buy this book!

    Yes, I read the first page before I bought it. But, like probably a lot of you I said, "Hey, it's Harlan Coben, it's got to be good." Unfortunately, it's not. After plodding halfway through I realized I just could not read another page. It really bugs me when authors take advantage of a good reputation to slip one of their rejected stories out to us (a la Stuart Woods). Stuff like this will make us start asking for refunds.

    BTW, the review policy made me pick at least one star.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    I enjoyed this book. I wouldn't say that it was one of my favorites but it was definitely worth reading. It was a little bland in places and could have used a little more creativity. All in all I would give the book three stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    Too many page to text scan errors

    Too many "?" (question mark punctuation characters) litter the sentences of the book. It's like walking down a clear path when suddenly out of nowhere, an obstacle pops up and causes you to stumble. You just get irritated. Unfortunately, there is no way to know this in advance. For this alone, I give two stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2014

    I loved this book! He has become my favorite author!!

    I loved this book! He has become my favorite author!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Me

    This was the first of his books i read i thought it was great had to keep reading then look for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Not as good as you might think

    I understand it is his first one, it just doesn't connrct with me. Im 15 and a die hard coben fan ever since I read Live Wire and the 2 Mickey Bolitar novels. I couldn't bring myself to get into it. He even says as an authors note in the copy I have, " if this is your first book of mine, return it. I was young and naiive."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Awesome Read!

    I had a hard time putting the book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    To person who said Myron Back

    This was a great book. It was his first novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    highly recommended

    he said it was his first book, and I think its great. he is one of my
    favorite writers.

    smcAZ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 383 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20