Customer Reviews for

Play Dead

Average Rating 4
( 380 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(150)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Intriguing

Great bedtime reading...but I do skip over extensive descriptive passages.

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Obviously His First

Harlan Coben is one of my favorite authors. He wrote that you should not read this book if you haven't read any of his others first, and he's sure right about that. The plot is okay, but it isn't very well written and the ebook version is messed up. Don't spend your mon...
Harlan Coben is one of my favorite authors. He wrote that you should not read this book if you haven't read any of his others first, and he's sure right about that. The plot is okay, but it isn't very well written and the ebook version is messed up. Don't spend your money on this one.

posted by Kay-Z on October 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Lots of twists and turns - little too drawn out.

    Play Dead is Harlan Coben's first published novel. It has been rereleased this year. There is a letter from the author warning readers that if this is your first experience to reading one of his books he suggests that they stop reading, go and get another of his books and then come back to this one. I had to laugh because this book is my first by Mr. Coben and I couldn't read a different one because this was December's book club choice. So, I went into reading this book with an open mind.

    I can completely see how Harlan Coben has been able to keep readers spellbound and why he has such a following. The story he weaves is one that makes readers try to figure out what the hell is going on. He gives the reader just enough information to keep them hanging on to find out what next little secret he is going to reveal.

    Now having said all that, I can see why he was apologizing to his fans and telling new readers not to start with this book. It is painfully obvious to me that this is an inexperienced author. The story is rich with its twists and turns, but it is executed poorly. The book was 500+ pages and could have been told in 300 and I would have been satisfied. Often times the clues where all too stingily delivered to have them pounded into the ground over and over by different character view points.

    I found Play Dead to be an entertaining read. But I thought the two main characters were slightly superficial and the book a little too long. Other than that, I felt that Harlan Coben has great potential and wouldn't be averse to trying something else by him.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Good Start to Writing Career

    Good for travel reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    I enjoyed this book. I wouldn't say that it was one of my favorites but it was definitely worth reading. It was a little bland in places and could have used a little more creativity. All in all I would give the book three stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Not as good as you might think

    I understand it is his first one, it just doesn't connrct with me. Im 15 and a die hard coben fan ever since I read Live Wire and the 2 Mickey Bolitar novels. I couldn't bring myself to get into it. He even says as an authors note in the copy I have, " if this is your first book of mine, return it. I was young and naiive."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    One of his first novels

    Harlan Coben is one of my favorite authors. This was obviously one of his first novels and not as well written as the ones following, however, it is still worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Quick read

    Not as good as his later books but you can still tell how good of a writer he would become.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Play Dead immature early Coben work!

    Great introduction to the author for his later works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    early novel that should have remained unpublished

    I generally enjoy Coben's works. I was thoroughly enjoying Play Dead until I realized that there was a gaping plot inconsistency. Coben either made an honest mistake or deliberately misled the reader. Neither is acceptable and probably explains why this novel, written in the early 90's, was only recently published, capitalizing on Coben's amazing success. In this novel, we learn that a young boy witnesses his father's murder. The murderer doesn't know he has been seen and the boy is young enough not to pursue with the police. Who committed the murder (and others) is a huge part of the story. Coben has the young boy eventually meet the murderer thirty years later, recognize him, and start a blackmail scheme which evntually unravels all the other mysteries in the novel. Unfortunately, while this recognition occurs quite explicity about 2/3 of the way through the book, Coben seems to have forgotten that only a little earlier in time and nearly 300 pages earlier in the book, the young boy (now a man) met all the possible suspects. Since he didn't recognize the murderer at page 80, when he recognizes him at page 380, you have been misled for 300 hundred pages into eliminating possible suspects. I undertand this explanation is probably confusing, but if you want to read a 'whodunit' that is interanally consistent, however implausible, this is not the novel for you. With a little effort, Coben could have reworked the novel a bit, removing this problem, but chose to publish as it was originally written, with a very, very serious plot flaw. Very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    predictable

    It was an okay book. I enjoyed this book but was disappointed it was so predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    Just OK.

    It was basically too far-fetched, but I did finish it. Definitely not his best, but I have read many worse books from others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Recommended

    It's obvious this was a "first" book. However, the messed up plot is all Coben! But, he is right, read the Myron series or The Woods before reading this one... but it keeps you hanging and reading faster, just the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    good first book

    It was a good first book. I have really enjoyed Mr. Coben's books and I was interested in reading his very first attempt. I agree with another reviewer, I thought there was something wrong with my nook as I had a very difficult time reading this because of the way it downloaded. ??? all over the pages made it so hard to read, it was hard to keep up with the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    Too many typos

    Story was great - but you have to get through the typos in the ebook! Had a ? in between many, many words - was very distracting. I feel that my Nook should have the same quality editing as a book. I paid the same thing for this as I would have paid for the paperback in the store.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4