Customer Reviews for

Play Dead

Average Rating 4
( 380 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(150)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Intriguing

Great bedtime reading...but I do skip over extensive descriptive passages.

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Obviously His First

Harlan Coben is one of my favorite authors. He wrote that you should not read this book if you haven't read any of his others first, and he's sure right about that. The plot is okay, but it isn't very well written and the ebook version is messed up. Don't spend your mon...
Harlan Coben is one of my favorite authors. He wrote that you should not read this book if you haven't read any of his others first, and he's sure right about that. The plot is okay, but it isn't very well written and the ebook version is messed up. Don't spend your money on this one.

posted by Kay-Z on October 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Harlan Coben is one of my favorite writers.

    A fast read with enough twists to keep it interesting.
    Worth your time to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    A great read on NOOK

    Filled with twists and turns making it a very good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2014

    I loved this book! He has become my favorite author!!

    I loved this book! He has become my favorite author!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Awesome Read!

    I had a hard time putting the book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    To person who said Myron Back

    This was a great book. It was his first novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    highly recommended

    he said it was his first book, and I think its great. he is one of my
    favorite writers.

    smcAZ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Good Book

    I love Harlan Coben & this is another of his great books. It kept me intriged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Fantastic

    I love all of Coben's books. This book was chosen for my Mystery Book Club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Wow

    This book when purcharsed i wasnt sure how good this was going to be.. There are many places were you want to cry with the person then at the same time you feel sick about something you read.. This book was very hard to put down many twist and turns wasnt expecting.. I have always loved Harlen Coben books they are all amazing.. When he has the author note in the first few pages about not reading it if you have never know him he's right.. One of he best books for me is the woods. Thumbs u!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Great book

    Highly recommend this one, along w/all of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Loved this book.

    Loved this book. Could not hardly put it down. I even dreamed about the book, trying to figure out who did it. I highly recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    couldn't put it down!

    Even though this is one of Harlan Coben's first novels, it was great. I feel as if I know the characters personally. I definitely recommend this book to Harlan Coben fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What a Ride

    Holy Cow what a twisted ride Harlan takes you on in this amazing book. If you like the "what is going on" type of books with so many twists and little hints this is a MUST read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    VERY HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    This is another great book by Harlan Coben. Keeps twisting and turning until the very end. A must read for those who like this genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    If you didnt like it, You are crazy

    I love Harlan Coben as an author! He has amazing twists and turns that keep you guessing. Yes you can figure out part of what happens, but for the entire plot its not as easy to figure out. I think for even his first book its great and I think you have to be crazy to not enjoy it. I love the plot and how he ties everything together. He says this is his first novel and he has not read it for twenty years, well, if that was his first novel I say he did amazing for a young author. I will recommend this book to anyone and everyone!! Just like I recommend and of Coben's books!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    one of my favs

    just like any other novel by harlan he kept me guessing until the end. He may be hard on himself gor this one, but in my opinion it was a great read. I fell in love with the characters from the beginning and was very happy with the ending. Coben never dissappoints!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    LOVED IT!

    This is one of my new favorite books! It kept me guessing, and thinking the entire time! I couldn't turn pages fast enough!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Favorite Coben Book ever!

    harlan Coben writes in the note at the beginning of this book, to put this back if this is the first of his your going to read. He wrote it over 20 years ago in college. However, i have read almost all of his books, and this is my absolute favorite!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Fantastic Book

    I have never read a book that I found to be any better than this one. From the beginning to end it kept me on the edge of my seat and caused me to lose some sleep because I resented the time that sleep kept me from reading this delightful book. This was my first Harlan Coben book but I can assure you it will not be my last.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    Must Read

    This book kept me going from the first page to the very last. Every time I thought I knew what was going to happen he threw a curve ball. The characters were so strong I ached for them and was afraid of what the next page would bring. I loved it!! It is definitely one of his best!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8