Customer Reviews for

Play Dirty

Average Rating 4
( 200 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

One of her best

I absolutely enjoyed this book. She didn't go with the usual formula and it was different. The ending was fabulous and surprising.

posted by Anonymous on October 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good read for a rainy day

I actually read this on a snowy weekend, nevertheless it was a good read. I didn't feel the same anticipation or thrill but she did step outside the box with memory sequences. It kept you wondering what happened on 'that night'. Because of not knowing what happened I do...
I actually read this on a snowy weekend, nevertheless it was a good read. I didn't feel the same anticipation or thrill but she did step outside the box with memory sequences. It kept you wondering what happened on 'that night'. Because of not knowing what happened I don't think I developed an attachment to the characters and their relationship. I always enjoy Sandra Brown's books and I appreciated the ending but this wasn't one of my favorites.

posted by BugnTysMom on November 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read for a rainy day

    I actually read this on a snowy weekend, nevertheless it was a good read. I didn't feel the same anticipation or thrill but she did step outside the box with memory sequences. It kept you wondering what happened on 'that night'. Because of not knowing what happened I don't think I developed an attachment to the characters and their relationship. I always enjoy Sandra Brown's books and I appreciated the ending but this wasn't one of my favorites.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Dallas Local Setting

    Nice read with all the usual pieces of a story-drama, sex, bad guys, good guys & girls and love. Living in the Dallas area it was fun to read about all the actual locations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    highly recommend

    Interesting story with unexpected twists and turns. Sandra Brown is my new favorite author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Highly recommended.

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Well worth the small charge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Good story

    This was my first Sandra Brown book. I liked the plot, i just thought it dragged on too much. And I did not feel the attraction between the main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Recommended

    Somewhat unique story line. Worth reading. I enjoy Sandra Browns books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Good Writer

    I really like Sandra Brown's writing. Her style is easy to ready. This particular book is not my favorite. The hero of the book is kind of an anti-hero. He is hard to like because he's hard to respect, even though Ms. Brown tries to redeem him by showing how his bad childhood affected him. Apart from the mistakes he made that sent him to prison, the "job" he was hired to do makes him even more unredeemable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Good

    Adventure, adventure, and more adventure. A exciting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    a little recommended

    It was pretty good......too much explaining, that was not doricted to the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    A

    B

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Murder Hot & Steamy Style

    "Play Dirty" is the first novel I have read from Sandra Brown, and liked the story. She writes mysteries with a little sexual spice. Some chapters are a little spicier than others. The twisted plot was very interesting encompassing: sports, murder, romance, oh yeah - with hot and steamy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A bit of a Let Down.

    I have read many of Sandra Brown's books and overall I would say that I have enjoyed most of them. I was a bit disappointed in Play Dirty and don't think it was one of her better stories. In Play Dirty I was always looking for what Sandra is known for; great descriptions of the character traits; superb plot development and a terrific ending. In my opinion these characteristics of Sandra were missing. I never really got the relationship Griff and Laura and Foster Speakman. This is an easy read and a relaxing read and even though I was a bit disappointed I'll probably check out her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    play dirty is...

    not as scary as her prior books, but still a good read. Ideal for the beach/pool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    Not Bad

    The fact is, this is a really long book yet it's able to keep your interest which, with any book, is difficult to do. That said, it flows and the story is interesting. The ending was a bit predictable. All and all though, it's entertaining enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    okay to read

    I was disappointed. Could not feel the love between Griff and Laura. Ms Brown is loosing her touch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    Disappointing

    Huge Sandra Brown fan but found this book flat, slow, predictable & a touch boring. Read a few pages every day & unfortunately had no problem putting this book down until the next day. I felt no connection to the characters nor any connection between the characters. Certainly, not one of her best. Over the last several years, her books have become hit or miss. This one was a miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    Good Points and Bad Points

    This was definitely not my favorite book from Ms. Brown. I enjoyed the originality of Griff's character. This is a guy who is not your standard, run of the mill hero. This dude has issues. He's a cheat, a gambler, and gets himself into the worst situations (including a stint in the slammer) simply by being himself. Nevertheless, he definitely has heart which made him a redeeming character. He certainly wasn't Tate (Mirror Image). Laura was a more run of the mill character except for her ability to be easily influenced, both by Griff and her husband. The main problem that I had with this book was the sequencing of events. Towards the end, along the romance plot, a flash back occurs that suddenly brings the relationship between Griff and Laura into clarity. But by this time, it truly is too late. I was already scratching my head trying to figure out what happened betweeen Laura and Griff that got them where they were. Again, it was too late to be believable. I was left with the impression that someone read the script and noticed a loose end only to have this 'flash back' inserted to tie the rope back up to the plot. It wasn't up to par. As far as suspense is concerned, I felt it lacked any real suspense. Unlike 'Mirror Image,' where the plot continued to thicken, you couldn't figure out who the bad boy was until the absolute end and when the pieces fell together, it left you floored. I would still buy any books from Ms. Brown. She is an excellent author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2