BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Play Like a Man, Win Like a Woman: What Men Know About Success that Women Need to Learn

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Also applies to women who own a business or are self-employed

Gail Evans provides very practical advice in a very matter of fact way. As a consultant and trainer for Woman Owned Businesses and author of ¿Capitalizing One Being Woman Owned¿ I always look at women's business books from the woman-owned angle. Although the book is wri...
Gail Evans provides very practical advice in a very matter of fact way. As a consultant and trainer for Woman Owned Businesses and author of ¿Capitalizing One Being Woman Owned¿ I always look at women's business books from the woman-owned angle. Although the book is written primarily for women that are employees, almost everything in it is applicable to women who own businesses or are self-employed. One of the best parts of the book is the guidance on "getting picked for the Team." The "rules" in this section definitely apply to women business owners in negotiation and especially in marketing their products and services. There are several places in the book where Ms Evans points out that women don't ask, often waiting to be asked. This approach will not work if a woman business owner is seeking financing or selling her products/services. The advice in this section could help make a huge difference for women business owners. The very best advice in the book is about how women can use their relationship orientation and skills wisely and to advantage; women business owners can apply this to running and marketing their business. One other very good section is the explanation about "Yes is Yes." Unfortunately, we women don't always accept a Yes immediately, but continue explaining, seeking reassurance or justifying. I would recommend this book to any of my Woman Owned Business clients and workshop attendees.

posted by Janet-Christy on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A bit Disappointing

I am a business student in my first year of college. When I found this book I thought that it would help me succeed not only in the business world but also in college. I was very let down. I did not agree with most of her points she brings up. I felt as if she were maki...
I am a business student in my first year of college. When I found this book I thought that it would help me succeed not only in the business world but also in college. I was very let down. I did not agree with most of her points she brings up. I felt as if she were making excuses for herself and many others. I don't find it hurtful to be a woman in the corporate world. I only find that more empowering. Evans brought up every typical stereotype that could possibly be brought up and in my eyes that does not make her any better than the people that made those stereotypes. Although, some points she made were very valuable and could potentially be helpful, most of the material in the book was not for me.

posted by Anonymous on March 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    Also applies to women who own a business or are self-employed

    Gail Evans provides very practical advice in a very matter of fact way. As a consultant and trainer for Woman Owned Businesses and author of ¿Capitalizing One Being Woman Owned¿ I always look at women's business books from the woman-owned angle. Although the book is written primarily for women that are employees, almost everything in it is applicable to women who own businesses or are self-employed. One of the best parts of the book is the guidance on "getting picked for the Team." The "rules" in this section definitely apply to women business owners in negotiation and especially in marketing their products and services. There are several places in the book where Ms Evans points out that women don't ask, often waiting to be asked. This approach will not work if a woman business owner is seeking financing or selling her products/services. The advice in this section could help make a huge difference for women business owners. The very best advice in the book is about how women can use their relationship orientation and skills wisely and to advantage; women business owners can apply this to running and marketing their business. One other very good section is the explanation about "Yes is Yes." Unfortunately, we women don't always accept a Yes immediately, but continue explaining, seeking reassurance or justifying. I would recommend this book to any of my Woman Owned Business clients and workshop attendees.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2000

    Female College students must read!!!

    I am the first to admit that unfortunately, I am not a big reader outside of the classroom. THIS BOOK KEPT ME TURNING PAGES UNTIL THERE WERE NONE LEFT TO TURN, AND I WANTED MORE. Not only did I learn much about men and their business 'game,' I learned much about myself and much about how women think. This book is highly inspirational; I have more faith that I will succeed in business now than I would have had otherwise.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2008

    A bit Disappointing

    I am a business student in my first year of college. When I found this book I thought that it would help me succeed not only in the business world but also in college. I was very let down. I did not agree with most of her points she brings up. I felt as if she were making excuses for herself and many others. I don't find it hurtful to be a woman in the corporate world. I only find that more empowering. Evans brought up every typical stereotype that could possibly be brought up and in my eyes that does not make her any better than the people that made those stereotypes. Although, some points she made were very valuable and could potentially be helpful, most of the material in the book was not for me.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2004

    Good review for women who are thinking about executive levels

    This book encompases several simple steps that might make it easier for a woman to manuver in the workplace. Especially workplaces that are dominated by men. If you are looking at mid-manager/executive levels then this is something you might want to read. But if you are unsure of where you want to go in life, you might want to try 'Going to the Top' by Carol Gallagher.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2003

    A MUST for all women BEFORE you get into the workplace!

    I wish that I had this book back in college when I was interviewing. It could have saved a lot of head/heart aches. You'll find that the women featured come from all walks. I could actually hear some of my mother's advice and her friends' voices coming through the pages with their wisdom. Buy this for your girlfriends, your mom, any woman in the workforce. From temp to CEO, there are valuable points for all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2000

    Great Workplace Advice for Men and Women Alike

    This book was a fast and informative read. As a recent graduate of college, and fairly new addition to the work world, this book contained advice that I think will help ground and guide me through my career. I think it is a book from which any person, young or old, will benefit.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2002

    Excellent Choice for any woman in the work place.

    If you are looking for a hard luck story about how woman have been denied promotion in the work place, then DON"T READ THIS BOOK!!! This book gave outstanding pointers and fabulous insight for all woman in the work place. Whether you work part time or full time, this book is a must read for all woman. Expect to learn things you can do in your career starting today in order to gain advancement on your job. There are many pointers that help you take charge of your career no matter what your profession.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2001

    Powerful!!

    This book is a must read - especially for young women just getting ready for the work force, I will be handing mine down to my two daughters. This book was such an easy read, and every thing she says makes you just sit back and go...oh, thats why he did that! LOL

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2000

    A Must Read for all women!!!

    Fabulous book -- Smooth read with incredibly applicable insight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2000

    Great insider advice for women

    I wish I had this book when I started working for a Fortune 50 company 15 years ago. It would have kept me from stubbing my toe because I didn't understand how the guys played the game. I bought 5 copies and have given them as graduation gifts to my nieces and friends. This and 'Simple Money Solutions' should be required reading for all women and girls.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2000

    PERFECT ANALYSIS , a ' MUST HAVE BOOK'

    I found a lot of things from myself in the book. We know about dilemmas in business world for women. If you will compete for your future, in men's world, read the unwritten rules of the game! And i believe there are a lot of men who are not aware of these secrets!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2000

    You Must Read This Book!

    Gail Evans has done a brilliant job of letting the cat out of the bag and letting women know exactly what they've been missing. As I read her thoughtful and too familiar account of some of the ways women get left behind in today's male run businesses I couldn't help but think how useful this would have been for me directly out of college. This book is a MUST READ for any young woman about to enter the workplace and a MUST CATCH UP AND READ for any woman who is struggling to make to positions of power. The advice is so easy and applicable. It is one of the few books I have read where I come away with a real plan of action. Thank you Gail Evans for sharing your insights. Now the good ol boys best look out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2000

    We've come a long way - but not far enough!

    Gail Evans openly sheds light on the dirty little secret in America's board rooms - and dares to take on the male-dominated corporate world where other women have kept quiet. As a woman of the Generation called `X', this startling revelation comes just in time. Young women in the corporate world today have certainly benefitted from the struggle of our fore sisters and we revel in the relative equality afforded us by their braveness in the past. But our equality perception is shortsighted if we believe that all progress has already been made and that we don't need to do anything about it. As Evans shockingly points out, 'women make up almost half of today's labor force but in corporate America they don't even share half the power and only four of the Fortune 500 CEO's are women'. This is an abyssmal and disheartening realization especially for young women - and one which Evans' book lays out a daring strategy designed to overcome. `Play Like a Man, Win Like a Woman' reminds us that success in the business world IS about strategy. Because men have dominated the business world for so long - they have developed their own rules without the input of women. Evans clearly identifies these rules, makes us aware as women of their importance to operating in business- and then provides useful and practical advice on how women can diplomatically follow these rules and finesse them to our (READ: women) advantage. `Play Like A Man, Win Like A Woman' is perfect for young women wondering what it takes to get to the top and how to do it - and in the process learn ways by which we can make our own strides in the fight for corporate equality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1