Customer Reviews for

Play On

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I love this CD, it's so great...Carrie Underwood does it again!!

    This soundtrack has so many good songs. "Cowboy Cassanova" is fun and upbeat, while "Temporary Home" is touchy and moving. Carrie has put together another great team and made a fantastic album. I'm a big fan!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Play On by Carrie Underwood

    Love it!!!!! I bought this cd for myself. I have listened to it over and over again. Would highly recommend it to everybody. Yee haw for OKLAHOMA'S CARRIE UNDERWOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So Glad I Have It

    Carrie is a great artist. I have both her first two album's, and when I heard she was making a new one, I was so pumped. I got up early on Tuesday the third so I could go pick up Play On before class (I just couldn't wait any longer). Totally worth it! I like her second c.d. better than her first, but there were still a number of songs on there I skip past when I listen to the c.d. So I was a little nervous that there would be a number of songs I wouldn't like on Play On. Not the case!! Most every song I really enjoy. My top favorites are Quitter, Look At Me, and What Can I Say. I listen to them again and again. All of the songs on the album are very original and have great melodies. You can tell they spent a lot of time and energy on this album to make it great. The only songs I don't really care for are Change, This Time, and Play On. This Time, especially, seems kind of like a filler to make the track list run longer. But obviously that's just my personal opinion and other people may love it. So if you were debating whether or not to get this c.d., my recommendation whould be: TOTALLY!!!! It's her best so far.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Best Album of Carrie's Career! Incredible!

    Every song on this album screams HIT! Carrie has come along way from American Idol. On this album, she has grown and matured into a bonafide superstar with incredible interpretive skills and artistry. Her vocals have never sounded better, especially on the beautiful ballad "Someday When I Stop Loving You", a must have download on this cd. On Cowboy Casanova, Carrie shows her fun, edgy side, and it rocks! On "Look at Me", Carrie shows a softer, more vulerable side in this beautiful love song.
    I love the duet "What Can I Say", a sad, beautiful ballad about love gone wrong. "Songs Like This" is incredible- a fun, rocking dance song that makes you just want to crank up the volume on your car. "Quitter" is infectiously catchy, and I give props to Max Martin as who knew he could write a good country song? There is much more to say but my fingers are tired. lol BUY. THIS. CD. NOW.!!! You won't be sorry! Congrats Carrie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic CD!!

    This is the best Carrie CD to date. I absolutely am addicted to this album. Way to go Ms. Underwood. You knocked it out of the park!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome Disc, her best yet!

    I was not a huge fan of "Some Hearts", Carrie's first CD. Some of the songs were great, but it sounded like she was being held back by other forces. "Carnival Ride" was much better...she seemed at ease with all the songs, and she proved the doubters in Country Music that Country was in her heart.

    On this CD, Play On, she tells country music she is here to stay. While radio is overloading Taylor Swift's teen anthems, Carrie is here to give us in our 20's, 30's, and even older, something we can relate to. The disc definitely has some pop flavor to it, but it's still country. Cowboy Casanova, the first single, is a toe tapping fun song. Mama's Song is a tender ballad telling a mother it's ok to let her baby go, she has found a great man. Change was written by the underrated Katrina Elam, and Carrie's delivery is understated and heartfelt. Undo it is such a fun song co-written by Idol's Kara DioGuardi. I'm sure many ladies out there can relate to telling a man that they want to "undo it". "Someday When I Stop Loving You" is a gorgeous country hearbreaker. Carrie's voice is exquisite on the song. "Temporary home" has 3 separate verses, and the 3rd verse literally brought tears to my eyes. Carrie's faith in God is once again evident in another great song, better than "Jesus Take The Wheel" and "So Small". "Look At Me" brings back Vince Gill on harmonies. Vince was the harmony on the Carnival Ride CD version of "I Told You So". It's a beautiful love song about being happy in love, something we don't hear from Carrie that often (maybe an ode to her NHL star boyfriend?) Play On is a good message song about going with the flow and keep going, even in tough times.

    This disc was worth the wait. It's a mature solid effort that covers a broad canvas of material, but it flows together seemlesslessly. Carrie's voice is in exquisite form, showing off range I didn't know she had.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Carrie roxss!(:

    i LOVE carrie underwood.<3 she is a great singer, and i just love country music.(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    conscious shopper

    I bought this for my husband for Christmas in 2009. He likes this artist and has several of her cd's.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    She just keeps getting better

    I like this album as much as her first two. I don't have a favorite as I like them all. This album is a good mix of fast and slow, light-hearted and serious, romantic and playful. All her fans and anyone who likes a great voice will like this album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Maybe I'm biased. Great CD

    I really enjoy Carrie Underwood. This CD did not disappoint. My husband and I enjoyed all of her songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's Really Good!

    I'm not really a country fan but I think Play On is a good album. There are a variety of songs in here: slow to fast. The beat is really cool. Each song has its meaning. Just buy it! it's only $10. Before Carrie, I didn't know much country Artists

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Play One

    One of my favorite albums.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3