BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Play Poker Like the Pros

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2007

    What a piece of garbage

    This book is just terrible, absolutely bad advice from start to finish. I know Hellmuth has a lot of name recognition, but he's certainly not a very good teacher of the game. Instead of this buy anything from twoplustwo or by David Sklansky. Theodore Korolchuk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2005

    Very good

    One of the best poker books I've read. Maby a little poor on odds and math behind the game.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2005

    an ok book

    I found this book to be alright. I think this book would help if you are just starting to play, but it doesn't give many advanced techniques.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2005

    Not that Great of a Book

    this book was an okay book. it really didnt help me out that much. when the book first hit the shelves,i bought it immediately thinkng it would be great. but it wasnt.basically the book just gives you common sense moves and tips.and through out the book all phil really talks about is how hes the best poker player and his past poker hand memories. it's really not that great of a book. save your money and get something else

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2004

    Insanely Good Book for Any Player

    This book is one of the best books out there for helping rounders or poker players to improve their game and learn new strategies. Some strategies he gives are very good and helpful. I have used this book and it has helped me in alot of major and some small tournaments. Some of those tournaments I was in trouble so I rememebered one of Phil's strategies and it helped me enough that I came in first in the tournament. Phil also gives great examples of past experiances of how the strategies were used in the World Series of Poker tournament at Binion's Horseshoe casino. This book will help you no matter what kind of player you are. You will learn alot from this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    Cool Book

    This Book was cool. It provided important and useful concepts about the game of Poker. I learned some new strategies, which identified some leaks in my game. Leaks in your game can come from anywhere!!! Leaks can originate from lack of aggression, overcalling raises, misreading opponents and any other number of ways. So this book helps. Many people look at poker the wrong way. They think to win they need to do all of this super fancy plays and mindblowing stunts. Well folks...there are not that many options in poker...you fold, call or raise. So its really hard to do thinks that will just fool your opponents all the time. To win at poker it is mostly limiting your mistakes and getting all that you can from winning hands and minimizing losses on losing hands...that's it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    Very good book

    I love how Phil breaks it down to guide you when presented different situations. It's presented well, and written well which makes all the information much easier to digest. It's helped me at home games, tournaments, and at tables at casinos. You can't really go wrong with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2004

    Thanks Phil

    'My comments relate to the Limit Hold'em content of the book, although I suspect it is fairly consistent with the book in its entirety. I make no pretences about the fact that I am an average Hold'em player. I play limit anywhere from 3/6 to 10/20 and make a nice profit over time, but I am definately not the kind of player that walks from a table to a round of applause :) Phil on the other hand needs no introduction. His reputation (great at cards, shocking at manners!) is known to anyone who takes an interest in the game. Like many players though, I rushed out and bought his book when it hit the shelves, and like most I was hugely disappointed... It's a story of 'I'm Phil Hellmuth, I'm great, and I'm gonna keep telling you I'm great, and now I have your money for a book full of rubbish!' I threw it the corner with the same feeling you get when another player draws to an inside straight and hits - bad beat! Let's face it. What seperates Mr Hellmuth and other big name players from the rest of us is an instinctive ability to accurately read a player, to the extent that they can almost read the suit of your cards, let alone the value. From there they pressure you when you're weak and back off when you're strong. For us mere mortals we need to rely more on the technical aspects of poker that make the foundation of any good player's game. Play Poker like the Pros is extremely light-on here. In fact more information can be found for free in an hour searching a few online forums. If you want to actually improve your game, any books by Sklansky, Malmuth or 'Middle Limit Holdem' by Ciaffone & Brier and the like are the way to go. If your new to the game and need a solid introduction, you can't go past 'Winning Low-Limit Hold'em' by Lee Jones. Just don't waste your money with Hellmuth. So how am I making a killing? Well, there seems to now be a wave of new players, 'Phil Hellmuth's Pheasants' I call them - the sixth animal not discussed in his book - and they're just waiting to be plucked. Invariably there seems to be at least 1 at every table. You'll see them three betting pocket 5's pre-flop and raising on the flop with second and middle pair 'to see where their at'. These players are the ones that were never good enough to begin with, hence they actually believe the diatribe, and have not improved with their latest book purchase. Once identified these muppets can be targeted so easily, because they become so predictable pre and post flop and almost all of them have zero talent on the turn and river play. (Interestingly, areas that are hardly touched by Phil's book.) In the 12 months prior to the release of 'Play Poker like the Pro's' I averaged a profit of $57 per hour. Like I said at the start, fairly average for the stakes I play. Since his book and the adjustments to my game to target the Pheasants that average has risen to $74ph. All I can say is 'Hurry up and release your next book Phil, so we can both get rich! ' Most truthful and correct review I found and just thought I should put this here since I did not see this here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    Good Beginners Book

    An excellent book for people just starting to play or wanting to learn how to play, but I don't recommended for advanced players (try Super Systems much better for advanced players).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2003

    A must buy for serious play

    The book's greatest benefit is not that it introduces you to the most popular poker games today, but its serious analysis of plays. This is not the book that you can read from front to cover and expect to know it all. You will go back to its different sections to understand the strategy. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2003

    Average

    The book is well written (easy to understand), and it will help a beginning player become a better player, and that's about it. I read super system before I read this book, and I much prefer it. I'd recommend this book to anyone starting out in poker, or to anyone who is looking for another view on the game. However, for intermediate to advanced players, the book doesn't cover anything of great value. Stick to Super Systems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2003

    A Pro Shares His Wisdom

    Very insightful given the fact that it's written by one of the best poker players of all time. I love the tournament replays he illustrates as examples of certain points throughout the book. I read the section on limit hold'em tournaments and the importance of playing Sattellites about ten times in a row. Even if you're an accomplished player, you may not realize how or why you've become successful - Phil knows, and his insight will add even more weapons to your arsenal. Just don't think you're going to beat Phil, though. Reading this book one gets the distinct impression that Phil has left his most deadly tacticts out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2003

    Winning your money back

    Phil your the man! I've went from losing alot of money...to winning that money back and then some. Phil breaks it down so it's easier for the rookies to understand how and what to do. This is a must read to start off your Hold'em game.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2003

    buy this book

    this book has taken my game 2 another level and will do the same for you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2003

    Great Book by a Poker Champion!!

    I enjoyed reading Phil's book. Although, my style of play isn't as aggressive as the style he recommends in his book, I was still able to adopt many of his techniques. Also enjoyed hearing about how this great poker player started out playing in his college days. Phil offers some great tips on reading players, and how to play against certain players. He also does a great job in breaking down principles of play into an easy to understand format. I would recommend this book more for advanced/intermediate players. I think beginners would get a better understanding of the game by reading 'Winning Low Limit Hold'em' by Lee Jones (5 Stars) A great book for beginners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2003

    Pretty good

    I just got the book and have read most of it. Although, like a previous review mentions it doesn't have much on position or on pot odds and such. It is still a pretty good book. I think for the price it is very good for beginners to intermediate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2003

    The Best Book on Poker Ever Written!

    Phil Hellmuth is one of the best Poker players in the World. He has won an amazing nine bracelets at the World Series of Poker. In Play Poker Like the Pros he has done a great job distilling his poker magic into easy to understand instruction. You can really win with these strategies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2003

    outstanding hold'em book !!!!!!!!!!

    I think that Mr. Phil Hellmuth Jr. is one of the best if not the best poker play ever. He brakes it down so any one can under stand. And helps beginners to advanced players can get a thing or two out of this book. Every asspect that I could think of was in here. That why I gave it 5 stares. And thanks you Phil you helped me so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2003

    Disappointing

    I'll be returning this book immediately. Mr. Hellmuth having won so many tournaments must surely know his game. The problem is, is he sharing it with us? I must admit that I only read the holdem sections, he has very little to say about position accept to mention a couple of times that it's always nice to have! Very little at all about odds. Overall his tone is very condescending, as tho he and fellow pros are great poker players, you're a wannabe so it's ok to give you partial information. Wouldn't want to burden a small mind with more than it can handle. At one point he talks about cards that help a player to win the pot and goes on to say, 'pros call these cards outs'. Instead of telling us how 'pros' talk wouldn't it be better to tell us how to figure outs? Before I say why I gave 2 stars instead of 1, I have one more gripe and it may be nitpicking . To further set the tone as if he were talking to third graders, where most writers refer to player types as rock, calling station, maniac, solid player etc, Mr. Hellmuth prefers that we learn: mouse, elephant, jackal, lion and eagle, I have no idea why. Having said all that, the strategies are still likely to make for winning poker sessions. Even though he doesn't stress position his play is so tight and agressive that it is unlikely that you'll be playing out of position very often. Good book for beginners not much for intermediate to advanced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2