Customer Reviews for

Played (Deception, #2)

Average Rating 4
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT

Read it in one night and it was hard to put down! Great characters and great plot.

posted by evanescenceSE on October 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very good reading

Well-written suspense, complicated characters and plot, even if not totally believable. Would have liked a bit more tying up of some loose ends (what happens with Christina's mother for instance).

posted by Ma-Bat on January 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT

    Read it in one night and it was hard to put down! Great characters and great plot.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent weekend read

    As a fan, I've read all of Barbara Freethy's books and loved each one. Played was no exception.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    In San Francisco, Barclay Auction House will sell the Benedetti Diamonds especially one special gem with a heart inside. Local security and a team from Italy guard the treasures, but are unaware of the tunnels below the auction house. Meanwhile at a gala, art historian and genealogist Christina Alberti wears the fabulous star diamond of the collection. Attending the party is FBI Agent J.T. McIntyre who thinks his college roommate sociopath thief Evan Chadwick will try to steal the gem. Stefano Benedetti worries Christina might help her father steal the gem.--------------- Christina checks the gem and overall it looks okay but there is no heart inside. She wonders if a mistake occurred or her father somehow pulled a switch. J.T. and Christina are attracted to one another and he warns her that if the diamond is stolen, she will be blamed due to her father. He begs her to come clean with him for he believes she is hiding something. She says he will arrest her anyway so why should she trust him. When the gem is stolen, he joins her on the investigation that leads to her father in Italy not his former friend in California, but J. T. fears Evan is coming for father and daughter.------------ This is a terrific romantic suspense made more powerful by the complex relationship between the lead couple as her father comes between them. She believes her father would not hurt her so he must be innocent while he thinks otherwise that her dad is the thief. The strong support cast augments the fast-paced tale while a terrific final twist that will surprise readers. In spite of the improbable scenario that the villain, who has no grasp of reality, employs deep analysis of the logic of others that enables him to learn information faster than the Feds or others, fans will appreciate his cat and mouse game.---------- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Very good reading

    Well-written suspense, complicated characters and plot, even if not totally believable. Would have liked a bit more tying up of some loose ends (what happens with Christina's mother for instance).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!!

    This book is a continuation of "Taken" (Deception, #1) and is a masterpiece from the author again. I would definitely say that this is another one of Barbara Freethy's books that I can't put down. I read it in one seating!!! You just can't put it down!!! And....of course, with the Nook, it is so easy to read!! Love it!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2006

    Played is a definite must read

    For suspense, mystery and more twists than a San Francisco street, this book has it all! The police investigation could have used more research, but the plot did not suffer. A definite romantic mystery!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    played

    i love this book... they keep u going...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    Turned off

    The plot was good. But I am continually disappointed in the language used. It is so hard to find authors who don't use vulgar language or lengthy detailed love scenes. I won't read any more of her novels.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Excellent

    Finally an author with a great set of books Mystery and Romance
    Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    Enjoyable Read

    This book was as hard to put down as the first book in the series, Taken. I enjoyed the romantic suspense and there were plenty of surprises as the story unfolded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2014

    Awesome love story! A must read.

    Awesome love story! A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    I just finished Played and I loved it. I read Taken in one day

    I just finished Played and I loved it. I read Taken in one day and Played the next day. I truly enjoyed both of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    Recommended if you like romance & suspense.

    Enjoyable, an easy read, fast paced, doesn't make you think too hard,
    which I personnally like much of the time. Life is complicated enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Dan

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I thought the book was great. I could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Breakdown

    "Knockout, i think i heard her" he says, walking over to where Nightslash was. Knockout looks around

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Nightslash

    Iz back @ base.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Played

    Excellent,

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Captivating

    Author draws you in from the first book and keeps you reading to end of this book and you never know whats gonna happen next its a great read action adventure love drama everything you could want in a book!! Amazing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    Very good. Enjoyed the characters and a good twist at the end.

    Highly recommeded-love that the characters are so likeable and in their 30's.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8