Customer Reviews for

Player Piano

Average Rating 4.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

vonnegutz first novel...i think

Considering that this book was written in 1952, it is one of his finest novels. I think that in his later works he tends to go a little too far trying to shock his audience. The book is not quite as comical as his later works. Human invisibility is one central theme tha...
Considering that this book was written in 1952, it is one of his finest novels. I think that in his later works he tends to go a little too far trying to shock his audience. The book is not quite as comical as his later works. Human invisibility is one central theme that Vonnegut addresses, taking the reader to a post WWIII world where the second industrial revolution is beginning to take place in the form of computerization. This has to be one of the first books that addressed the importance of computerz. check it out.

posted by Anonymous on April 28, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A So, So Book

This is not a terrible book, it in fact has a great plot. It's only flaw, which is a major one, is that it was badly executed, the climax was rushed and thrown out of detail.

posted by Anonymous on March 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2000

    vonnegutz first novel...i think

    Considering that this book was written in 1952, it is one of his finest novels. I think that in his later works he tends to go a little too far trying to shock his audience. The book is not quite as comical as his later works. Human invisibility is one central theme that Vonnegut addresses, taking the reader to a post WWIII world where the second industrial revolution is beginning to take place in the form of computerization. This has to be one of the first books that addressed the importance of computerz. check it out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    A Vonnegut Classic

    Kurt Vonnegut's best books always seem to have a main central message. Player Piano's is that human's need work. We need it to be happy.

    Player Piano came from Vonnegut's experience working for General Electric. Upon seeing a machine take over a number of people's jobs, he imagined what it would be like if a giant factory of machines took over all the factory jobs in a city. It's good for production but a terrible shame for all the people.

    Player Piano is a solid read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2015

    Callyclaw& co

    We would like to join

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2015

    Musicstar to all!

    Welcome to Songclan! This is your map around camp! Res 2 leads to the main camp. 3 goes to the medicine cat den. 4 is the leaders den. 5 has bios. 6 is the moonpool. 7 is the warriors den! See you around camp! ~Musicstar~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Pikapower

    "Ok. Thank you" sh meows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    The future is here

    Replace the word machine with the word outsource as yoi read the book andd you have our current situation

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    To confused tween

    Give him a note when your friend isnt around and tell him you like him and if he likes you more then you friend your friend has to take the fact he likes you and is ovet her- liamluver

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Ava

    Go with your crush and dont tell your friend. I know that people always say to tell cause its the right thing but your friend will most likely get mad at you. Been in your situation babe and my bff just got mad at me. Good Luck.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    READ THIS NOW

    OMG WHAT SHOULD I DO MY BFFS BF IS TOTS CRUSHING ON ME AND C.H AKA MY CURSH IS FALLING FOR ME OMG WHAT SHOULD I DO REPLY ~ CONFUSED TWEEN

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    CHATROOM HELP!

    How can you get a chatroom??? Write back to:cheerismylife101

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Gabby

    Hey i want to chat

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Anna to alena

    I saw you posted you need someone to chat with im anna and i just moved to america last month from england im 14 and i love coldplay adele ed sheeran and one direction wanna chat?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Truleigh

    Anyone wanna chat

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Hello any body here -dreamer girl-

    Hello

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Alena to Nick

    I know u dnt know me i just need someone to chat with

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Rent

    Rent

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    I am.

    ?..

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Great

    If you are looking for an edge of your seat suspense book, then this is not the book for you. This book is great though and i would definitely recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Prophetic

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted February 9, 2011

    I, for one, bow to our new robot overlords.

    I got my new nook stuick in a reboot loop which forced me to restore to 1.0.0 in the field. Thought I'd check out the vanilla while I had the chance, and browsed here to this entry. This stock keyboard is a bit tricky... Player Piano is really good too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3