Customer Reviews for

Playing Dirty

Average Rating 4
( 240 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great read

This was a great read. The writing is beautiful, the story wonderful. I can't wait for the next book to come out.

posted by BookaholicTracy on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

BORING

I could not get into this book so I gave up. The story is slow to unravel and the characters have no substance.

posted by 6569506 on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 242 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    A must read!

    I LOVED it! What a fun read. Only one criticism in that the weight issue was a bit overpowering here, especially for someone who had supposedly conquered this problem years before. Fun stuff, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    So so

    Not my typical romance novel read. It was a little edgy for me. The leading lady was too miss wonderful, happy to serve all the time. One thing that i really appreciated about her though was that she isnt a tooth pick like so many other heroines are made out to be. Refreshing to have a male charater who likes a woman with a little meat on her bones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Loved it!

    Definitely a fab read! Impressed and will look for this author again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    I love Susan Andersen but... been there, done that

    I was so excited when I saw that I had a new Susan Andersen to read. There's really only one book of her's that I've gone back and re-read but she is definitely one that I'm never disappointed with. Playing Dirty was not an exception. In either sense. I wasn't disappointed, really, but I'm not going to be reading it again.
    It was all very expected. This is the third book in a series and the last one came out in July of 09. I'm glad she released the third because there were things left hanging that I needed a conclusion for. I did not re-read the first two in the series before I read this one and I'm glad I didn't because it felt very much like the first book. There were certain places that I felt like names, descriptions and jobs had been changed but the plot was the same. Of course there are differences and this is often my complaint with a series but 1. I felt like I had "been there, done that" and 2. I want the fantasy of romance but I want it to be believable and I just have a hard time believing that these three friends really go through such similar experiences on the road to love.

    more of this review can be found on the blog: batteries and bubbly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Worth the wait!

    I've been waiting for this book to come out for ages it seems! It's the last one in a trilogy about three friends (Jane, Poppy and Ava). I thought this book was sweet, real and funny. The characters are so great - you are definitely rooting for both of them! Even if you haven't read the first two books in this trilogy, this one is worth reading on its own!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    high recommended if you like Susan Andersen

    It was great. A little myserty. great sex scene. good mother and doughter flights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enemies to Lovers

    My Review:
    They have a lot of history between them and the majority of it has played out in a highly contentious way. Cade found himself in elementary school being drawn to Ava's infectious laughter and joy in life, so he reacted in the way that most little boys do...by tormenting her. In turn, she called him "Buttface Gallari." This type of interaction continued through high school until they found themselves as biology partners for 6 weeks. There was a mutual attraction, but unfortunately in the midst of it all, Cade found out some devastating news and, acting as an immature teen, he acted out in a way that shattered Ava's fragile heart and humiliated her. Now it's 13 years later and they are having to figure out how to get past it all to work together.

    What a wonderful book. There is so much emotion between Cade and Ava even if a lot of it is truly bad. Heartbreak and humiliation make up a lot of it, but underlying it all for both of them is an undeniable attraction. Cade is still incredibly drawn to Ava. He has tried to apologize to her many times over the years, but she doesn't even want to discuss it. She would rather ignore the subject, even though there are also huge lingering trust issues for her because of the "incident." They both were left scarred from the events that happened in high school. The question is can either of them work past it all...

    I loved both of these characters. They are working so hard to be mature and not to lash out at each other, although that is the automatic reaction for both of them. They can deal with anyone else in the world just fine and pleasantly, but they get together and they react to each other like oil and water.

    I liked the overall story line for this book. Cade is making a film in the old mansion that Ava inherited with her childhood friends Poppy & Jane. It creates a wonderfully elegant ambience for the book. Unfortunately, there is also a mild suspense story line about a missing fortune in diamonds. It is such a minor part of the book, that it could have been left out and personally, I wish that it had been. That small part of the story line did nothing but detract away from Cade and Ava's story. It was really the only part of the book that I didn't like.

    This book did have a great cast of characters. I have read a ton of Susan Anderson's books over the year and with this being #3 in the series, I am guessing that I have read at least one of the other books in the series before. Regardless, I think that I need to find the first 2 in the series and read them. And personally, I think that we need to put a little bug in Ms. Anderson's ear that we need Beks (Cade's asst) story as soon as possible!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Loved It!!!!

    Cade and Ava have known each other all of their lives, and truth be told Cade has always had a serious crush on Ava, but a lousy way of showing it. He'd put spiders on her, and look up her skirt and then the ultimate betrayal; he slept with her, the 'fat girl' to win a $200 bet and humiliated her in front of the whole school. 13 years later after this life altering betrayal finds Cade and Ava working together. Cade is a Hollywood documentary producer and Ava a personal concierge. Cade offers her a deal she can't refuse and their professional relationship begins. Keeping it professional though might be a little bit of a problem.

    I haven't read a Susan Andersen novel that I really loved since Present Danger and Obsessed. I loved her earlier darker, grittier works, but Playing Dirty was such a fun and sexy read! I loved the premise of this book; a boy who did the low down dirtiest thing a boy could do, and then 13 years later had to redeem himself. I wondered if he would be able to satisfactorily do it. I'm sort of hard to please in this department but after his numerous attempts to apologize, his honesty about his actions, and his willingness to give her space AND accept that he didn't deserve forgiveness just because he requested it repeatedly really made me believe in his sincerity and true remorse. Also this speech he gave her helped A LOT:

    .he reached across to lightly trace his fingertips over the thrust of her cheekbone and down her cheek. The edge of his thumb brushed the outer curve of her lips, dragging the lower lip open for a second before his hand continued on to her chin which he lightly grasped.

    He merely gazed at her for an attenuated heartbeat, his eyes bluer than a tropical sky.

    "If you believe nothing else," he commanded in a low, I'm-not-screwing-around-here voice, "believe this. You gotta be aware that you're a knockout now, but even then? Baby, you may not've measured up to your mama's standards, but I thought you were-God, Ava-so ripe and round and beautiful."

    His mouth quirked in that crooked smile.

    "And seeing you naked remains to this day one of the highlights of my life."

    Turning her loose, he opened the door and climbed from the car. One hand on the roof and the other holding the door ajar, he leaned back in. Gave her a look of sizzling intent.

    "Think about that."

    I loved quite a few things about this book, mostly that it was so engaging and easy to read. Once I picked it up, I could not put it down and had to return again and again to find out what was going on with Cade and Ava. I also loved how Andersen wrote Ava. She was a real woman with curves. Big juicy curves. No willowy blonde reed thin heroine, but a size 12, 150 pound lusciously gorgeous red head. And she knew how to work it. It took her some time to work through her issues, particularly and understandable her weight issues, but she worked them out. And it was wonderful that Cade, the person who aided in creating her insecurity issues, was the one who was able to help break them down. And in such a wonderfully sweet and loving way. Their relationship and interactions felt real all throughout the book and I really appreciated that. Finally, the hotness factor was off the charts! Just as I remembered from past books of Ms Andersen's that I have read. I needed a nice big cold glass of ice water after the tension had built and built and finally exploded! I just wish there had been more! Can't get too much of a good thing, ri

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an engaging second chance romance tale

    Thirteen years ago, Cade Gallari bet he could sleep with the Country Day School's fat girl. He won his $200 wager with a-hole Dylan Vanderkamp announcing publically he made it with Ava Spencer. She was abashed, but with the help of her friends (Jane - see Cutting Loose and Poppy - See Bending the Rules) and their mentor Miss Agnes, she moved on from Quick Draw McGraw. He realized he mistreated her and apologized several times over the years but she ignored his remorse.

    Documenter Cade returns home to Seattle with plans to film the life of Miss Agnes. He wants to rent the Wolcott Mansion the late Miss Agnes bequeathed to Ava and her other two friends, which will bring in some needed income; Cade also hires Ava on as a consultant. However, he is stunned when he sees the beautiful curvy woman Ava has become. They want each other but she distrusts him with her heart.

    The final Wolcott Mansion diary sisterhood contemporary romance is an engaging second chance tale due to the star, a big woman who distrusts the motive of the man who broke her heart when they were teens. The story line starts slow, but accelerates towards the middle as Ava struggles between her treacherous heart (and libido) and her cautionary brain. Readers will bet that Cade does not stand a chance against Ava and the sisterhood.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Not Anderson's Best

    Let me just start of by saying that this book is in no way a bad book, it just got off to a really really slow start. For me, it took about 200 pages to actually get interesting, which only left 150 of a really good story. If I could, I would give the last part of the book 5 stars, but since I am judging the book as a whole, I have to give it a 3. I really like Ava and how she embraced her body and tried not to care what other people thought, but I didn't really care about her story like I cared about Poppy's in Bending the Rules, which is the second book in this series. I also liked Cade and how sweet he was to Ava (after he was a jerk in high school) but their connection didn't actually come alive in the book until way later, when the story actually became good. So if you have the patience to wait through an okay story until you can get to the good stuff, then try this book out. If you don't think that it's worth the wait and effort, then this book isn't really for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 242 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13