Customer Reviews for

Playing Dirty

Average Rating 4
( 241 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great read

This was a great read. The writing is beautiful, the story wonderful. I can't wait for the next book to come out.

posted by BookaholicTracy on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

BORING

I could not get into this book so I gave up. The story is slow to unravel and the characters have no substance.

posted by 6569506 on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Great story! Easy read. Believable characters. Written with true emotion that allows you to feel what the character is feeling...hurt, anger, insecurity, determination, happiness. Very well done story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    great book

    I enjoy everything that I have read by Susan Anderson. I pre order her books and read them as fast as I can.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2014

    I had been waiting for Ava's Story¿.  And, I enjoyed it. I would

    I had been waiting for Ava's Story….  And, I enjoyed it. I would have given it a 5 stars… had it not gone a little overboard in
    talking about her being too plump still. [SPOILER ALERT] Even the guys perspective was not described as the normal "this woman is hot",
    it even had him making up excuses to himself, as to why she was hot at her weight.
    It was still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    Susan Andersen wrote another good book in Playing Dirty. I have

    Susan Andersen wrote another good book in Playing Dirty. I have to say Ava had more forgiveness in her than I would have had, had I
    been in her shoes. Cade was a grade A jerk in high school, but to give him his due over the years he had tried repeatedly to apologize.
    What he did though would have required years of apologies in my opinion. Andersen wrote another good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    New fan of S. Anderson

    Fun ,sexy and a great read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Really enjoyed the whole triolgy. Humor, romance and a hint of mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    great read

    keeps you on your toes, a very worth while buy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    A must read!

    I LOVED it! What a fun read. Only one criticism in that the weight issue was a bit overpowering here, especially for someone who had supposedly conquered this problem years before. Fun stuff, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Worth the wait!

    I've been waiting for this book to come out for ages it seems! It's the last one in a trilogy about three friends (Jane, Poppy and Ava). I thought this book was sweet, real and funny. The characters are so great - you are definitely rooting for both of them! Even if you haven't read the first two books in this trilogy, this one is worth reading on its own!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enemies to Lovers

    My Review:
    They have a lot of history between them and the majority of it has played out in a highly contentious way. Cade found himself in elementary school being drawn to Ava's infectious laughter and joy in life, so he reacted in the way that most little boys do...by tormenting her. In turn, she called him "Buttface Gallari." This type of interaction continued through high school until they found themselves as biology partners for 6 weeks. There was a mutual attraction, but unfortunately in the midst of it all, Cade found out some devastating news and, acting as an immature teen, he acted out in a way that shattered Ava's fragile heart and humiliated her. Now it's 13 years later and they are having to figure out how to get past it all to work together.

    What a wonderful book. There is so much emotion between Cade and Ava even if a lot of it is truly bad. Heartbreak and humiliation make up a lot of it, but underlying it all for both of them is an undeniable attraction. Cade is still incredibly drawn to Ava. He has tried to apologize to her many times over the years, but she doesn't even want to discuss it. She would rather ignore the subject, even though there are also huge lingering trust issues for her because of the "incident." They both were left scarred from the events that happened in high school. The question is can either of them work past it all...

    I loved both of these characters. They are working so hard to be mature and not to lash out at each other, although that is the automatic reaction for both of them. They can deal with anyone else in the world just fine and pleasantly, but they get together and they react to each other like oil and water.

    I liked the overall story line for this book. Cade is making a film in the old mansion that Ava inherited with her childhood friends Poppy & Jane. It creates a wonderfully elegant ambience for the book. Unfortunately, there is also a mild suspense story line about a missing fortune in diamonds. It is such a minor part of the book, that it could have been left out and personally, I wish that it had been. That small part of the story line did nothing but detract away from Cade and Ava's story. It was really the only part of the book that I didn't like.

    This book did have a great cast of characters. I have read a ton of Susan Anderson's books over the year and with this being #3 in the series, I am guessing that I have read at least one of the other books in the series before. Regardless, I think that I need to find the first 2 in the series and read them. And personally, I think that we need to put a little bug in Ms. Anderson's ear that we need Beks (Cade's asst) story as soon as possible!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Loved It!!!!

    Cade and Ava have known each other all of their lives, and truth be told Cade has always had a serious crush on Ava, but a lousy way of showing it. He'd put spiders on her, and look up her skirt and then the ultimate betrayal; he slept with her, the 'fat girl' to win a $200 bet and humiliated her in front of the whole school. 13 years later after this life altering betrayal finds Cade and Ava working together. Cade is a Hollywood documentary producer and Ava a personal concierge. Cade offers her a deal she can't refuse and their professional relationship begins. Keeping it professional though might be a little bit of a problem.

    I haven't read a Susan Andersen novel that I really loved since Present Danger and Obsessed. I loved her earlier darker, grittier works, but Playing Dirty was such a fun and sexy read! I loved the premise of this book; a boy who did the low down dirtiest thing a boy could do, and then 13 years later had to redeem himself. I wondered if he would be able to satisfactorily do it. I'm sort of hard to please in this department but after his numerous attempts to apologize, his honesty about his actions, and his willingness to give her space AND accept that he didn't deserve forgiveness just because he requested it repeatedly really made me believe in his sincerity and true remorse. Also this speech he gave her helped A LOT:

    .he reached across to lightly trace his fingertips over the thrust of her cheekbone and down her cheek. The edge of his thumb brushed the outer curve of her lips, dragging the lower lip open for a second before his hand continued on to her chin which he lightly grasped.

    He merely gazed at her for an attenuated heartbeat, his eyes bluer than a tropical sky.

    "If you believe nothing else," he commanded in a low, I'm-not-screwing-around-here voice, "believe this. You gotta be aware that you're a knockout now, but even then? Baby, you may not've measured up to your mama's standards, but I thought you were-God, Ava-so ripe and round and beautiful."

    His mouth quirked in that crooked smile.

    "And seeing you naked remains to this day one of the highlights of my life."

    Turning her loose, he opened the door and climbed from the car. One hand on the roof and the other holding the door ajar, he leaned back in. Gave her a look of sizzling intent.

    "Think about that."

    I loved quite a few things about this book, mostly that it was so engaging and easy to read. Once I picked it up, I could not put it down and had to return again and again to find out what was going on with Cade and Ava. I also loved how Andersen wrote Ava. She was a real woman with curves. Big juicy curves. No willowy blonde reed thin heroine, but a size 12, 150 pound lusciously gorgeous red head. And she knew how to work it. It took her some time to work through her issues, particularly and understandable her weight issues, but she worked them out. And it was wonderful that Cade, the person who aided in creating her insecurity issues, was the one who was able to help break them down. And in such a wonderfully sweet and loving way. Their relationship and interactions felt real all throughout the book and I really appreciated that. Finally, the hotness factor was off the charts! Just as I remembered from past books of Ms Andersen's that I have read. I needed a nice big cold glass of ice water after the tension had built and built and finally exploded! I just wish there had been more! Can't get too much of a good thing, ri

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5