BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Playing for Keeps

Average Rating 4.5
( 884 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(589)

4 Star

(184)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

46 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Hillarious!

I laughed so many times while reading this book. I read the book in one day because I couldn't put it down. I am going to read more from the author. Only thing that needs to change is the cover.

posted by Kriston on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Awful

This book read like it eas written by a 14 year old girl. The dialogue was repetative, and the story was rediculous.

posted by Anonymous on July 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Awful

    This book read like it eas written by a 14 year old girl. The dialogue was repetative, and the story was rediculous.

    9 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Does this author not have an editor?

    How did such poor writing get published? Misspellings, misused punctuation (has she ever heard of hyphens or parentheses?), and nearly-nonexistent sentence structure. Wow.

    8 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    very poor writing

    flat, shallow characters. weak plot, jumps in story line confusing. humor relies on bad language and rudeness.

    7 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Don't read it EVEN if you have time?

    Bad......! Really bad!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Not that great

    Having a hard time finishing this book. Had to come back to the reviews to see if I am missing something with all of the high reviews that lead me to buying this book, I am certainly missing the humor. I am not into all of the swearing, the repetative talk about the characters addiction to food etc. All in all I am waiting for the story to blossom and it hasn't.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    DID NOT RECCOMEND

    DID NOT DESERVE THE RATING IT RECEIVED.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Not at all what I hoped for. Would be better if re-written.

    This was a huge disappointment and I barely got through it. Perhaps this is for rebellious young people with an "I don't care what people think" attitude, but I found the book horribly immature. I read to entertain and ENLIGHTEN. I found it remotely entertaining by way of the obvious errors (IMHO), which I point out below, but it's not like other books that have taken me to new places, taught me about a new experience, or uplifted my day in some wholesome or courageous way. It was mind numbingly shallow. If I had the choice, I would not have spent the $.99 on it to begin with. Why?

    Because...

    The relationship moved to quickly. After five years of intense dislike for her neighbor, I find it hard to believe Hayley spends a few hours trapped in the same house with Jason and "poof"... they're friends.

    The food thing wasn't realistic at all and was a sad sub-plot.

    I can cope with a weak plot or a few reality stretches if the characters are strong and the writing is good, but this book was horribly amateur. There were grammatical errors, missing words, and the repeated use of certain phrases and gestures became a distraction (eye rolling, "grasshopper" and "cute" to name a few). Why limit oneself in writing to the same descriptive adjectives?

    On this same line of thought, the overuse of foul language and the "F" word really ruined it for me (Note that I said OVERUSE, not use). Again, it was too much. Swearing in anger I can understand, but swear words as daily vocabulary shows ignorance (again, IMHO) It made me dislike Jason almost instantly. He came off abrasive, selfish and shallow. What really sealed it was his repeated curses at his friends and ESPECIALLY his father. If the author was going for arrogant, disrespectful jerk, kudos, but he wasn't a likable jerk.

    The love scenes lacked any real emotion and were mechanical in nature.

    Fixing even half of these problems would make for a better read. I won't be buying more books by this author without first reading a sample to check for the fundamental building blocks of writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Wish

    After reading the reviews, I decided to try this book. I shouldn't have. I have read bad books, silly books, stupid books, books that are not well written. This one tops all of them. This is, without a doubt the worst book I have ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Annoying

    I tried. I really tried to like this book but man this was one of the most annoying books ever! The characters started out normal but quickly began acting like stupid tweens. Everything about this book is cheesy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Nice try...

    I don't usually give poor reviews. If you're desperate for something to read that will keep you busy go ahead. To date this is probably the worst thing I have ever read. I hate to say that because it takes a lot to put yourself out there, but the characters were a little unbelievable...I mean she spends the first part of the book really showing why there is no way they would get together and then BAM they are in bed as "friends"? Not buying it. And the eating habit she gives the hero is so unrealistic. The guy would have to spend every waking moment in the gym to burn all of those characters.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Wfgbcsfvzdg zxnb

    Fxfbddhcxdnxrvj

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Help...

    Is this book appropriate for my 7th grade students?

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    I had very high hopes for this book seeing that it had such high

    I had very high hopes for this book seeing that it had such high ratings/reviews. This book is bad. Plain and simple. The grammar is horrible and the book is rampant with run on sentences misspelled words. I feel as if though this author must be self published because there is no way this book had any form of legitimate editing whatsoever. While those factors are annoying, they could have been overlooked. But, sad to say, the story itself is just bad. The story line is  very choppy and at times hard to follow. The supporting characters play off of cliched, overly used stereotypes to a point that's ridiculously unrealistic. The reported humor in this book died down after the first twenty pages when it became clear that the characters would repeat a small array of catch phrases. (The characters, as in multiple ones, use the phrases "thieving bastards" or "stealing bastards" a minimum of 75 times throughout the entire book). This reads like a story written by a 13 year old on a fan fiction website who decided to venture into writing smut. The only difference is the fact that I actually paid to read this.  I've never written a book review before this, but I  felt passionately enough to do so in this instance. This isn't a bitter bashing of a book just for the hell of it. This is a warning. Read at your own risk, but I urge you not to pay for this, even if it's only a buck. It really is just straight up bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Creepy

    The only way to describe the frequent use of "my little grasshopper"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Quick, easy read but mindless

    This book is good if you want to clear your mind after a "real" book. The story was pretty rediculous and could have been finished in 200 pages tops. Of course the pages of idiotic sex would have to be left out. I'm glad I only paid $.99 for it. I did get through it so that's worth one star I guess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Not recommended! I read many books and enjoy a good story but t

    Not recommended! I read many books and enjoy a good story but the constant use of the f work and other slang, plus the over-worked sexual situations was a total turn-off for this book. I will not read another book by this author and certainly will delete this book, being thankful that it was cheap to begin with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Stupid

    This is dumb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Not Recommended

    I could not get into the story. Course and base language is not my cup of tea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Terrible book

    Maybe if you are 25 and female and have no sense of self worth and no morals. Would not recommend to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Got the book because of the reviews and was so disappointed. Ho

    Got the book because of the reviews and was so disappointed. Horrible sophmoric writing, full of bad cliques. I made a valiant effort to continue this book through the first few chapters but just couldn't do it. At some point, you get tired of waiting and hoping for it to improve. Don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2