Customer Reviews for

Playing Patience

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Loved!

Wow! What can I say, I loved this book!!! It slightly reminded me of The Barely Breathing searies & a book called Generational sins, which are both amazingly disturbing and great reads, if you can handle them. ;) I can't wait to see what this author writes next!!

posted by 16638313 on May 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

This review will contain spoilers. Consider yourself warned. :)

This review will contain spoilers. Consider yourself warned. :)

Playing Patience is labeled new adult, though I can't understand why since both the main characters are young adults still in high school. I was shocked by the similarities between the two character's bac...
This review will contain spoilers. Consider yourself warned. :)

Playing Patience is labeled new adult, though I can't understand why since both the main characters are young adults still in high school. I was shocked by the similarities between the two character's backgrounds. Abusive father. Cancer victim mother. I wasn't really convinced by Zeke's father either. He was an alcoholic, but this man would beat the crap out of Zeke without the slightest provocation. And we never saw a different side to him. I've had experience with mean drunks, and there's more to the story than: Drink beer. Beat people senseless... just cuz. People like that aren't ALL evil ALL the time.
What upset me most about this book was the amount of misogyny and obvious disrespect the characters had towards women. Zeke stereotyped and slut-shammed, and often referred to women as “females”. If he’d been hurt by women in his life this would be easier to understand, but there was literally no excuse for it. The peak of my anger towards him was when he made a joke about date-rape. (“Please. That chick’s as straight as they come. I’d have to drug her, too, to get her to put out.” We laughed.) And Zeke's friends Flinn and Chet were even worse. The men in this novel saw women as sex toys. They had no respect for them at all. And it doesn't change. Yes, Zeke's opinion of Patience changes with his character development, but his opinion towards women in general stays the same.
The writing itself was decent, but not the strongest. Secondary characters were barely described apart from the color of their hair/eyes. The author backtracked each time the POV switched. Around the middle of the book it started to wear me out. We'd read a scene, then it would switch to a different POV and we'd have to read a summary of that exact scene from their perspective. It wasn't even a reliving of the scene, it was a summary of it. That was another thing that frustrated me. The author had a habit of summarizing things instead of writing them out. The biggest climax of the book was given away right in the prologue. Another plot twist, aka Zeke cheats (big surprise), was easy to predict because every book that features a bad-boy/good-girl relationship has to have the man cheating on her. To me it felt like contrived drama, and I think the book would have done better without it. And Patience's reaction to catching him cheating was appalling. She was like a doormat; apologizing, and running away like she'd done something wrong. And I was really upset by the first sex scene between Patience and Zeke too. Patience is a victim of serious sexual abuse, and she fit the profile for about half the book. Then as the romance interfered, she did a sudden flip. I expected her first time with any other man to be tender, and careful, but instead it was rough and violent almost. Not sacred or believable at all.
This book serves no purpose other than romance. For a novel almost completely centered around physical and sexual abuse, I expected there to be a strong message for overcoming and rising above abusers, but in the end we got Zeke beating the hell out of his dad while Patience kills hers. Neither father was held accountable in a court of law, so there was no real sense of resolution. Most of the abuse felt contrived to bring the characters together. This book needed WAY more revision, and I think Tabatha needed to be more respectful, dealing with such sensitive subjects.

posted by Anonymous on May 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Loved!

    Wow! What can I say, I loved this book!!! It slightly reminded me of The Barely Breathing searies & a book called Generational sins, which are both amazingly disturbing and great reads, if you can handle them. ;) I can't wait to see what this author writes next!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    So good!

    Oh my goodness...this is literally one of the best books i have ever read and I read one or more books a day. Wow I loved all the characters and it was soooo freaking emotional with some of the things that happened I just wanted to hug everybody in the whole book. I won't give anything away because I hate plot spoilers but whenever I read a review I always wanna know if there is sex in the books because I like erotic romances and lemme tell you the sex in this one is perfect and HOTTT and sweet and wonderful all at the same time. Lovvvved it!!!!! You gotta read this!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    The question I have to ask myself is why I let this sit in my Ki

    The question I have to ask myself is why I let this sit in my Kindle for so long before reading it.

    Heartwarming and Heartbreaking, Funny and Frustrating, Love and Loss, Self Acceptance and Self Loathing.....

    This book is a hurricane of emotions wrapped around a touchy, loving, funny at times and heartbreaking at others story of life, love, acceptance, hope, desire and dreams.

    The character development is brilliant leaving no detail unturned leaving the reader with a complete understanding of each and every detail. You will become some involved with the characters in this book you will laugh with them, cry with them, feel the flirt, and relish in the friendship that evolves.

    The storyline is gripping and compelling. Dealing with a subject that is a hard one to cover the author presents the story to us with grace and ease. The topics covered are presented in such a way you will find that you can't put this book down. You will root and cheer for the stolen moments of freedom and you will hold your breath as the darkness prevails.

    I found myself completely lost in the authors words as the outside world shut down while I read. I would love to see more from the characters in this book.

    I know based on this book alone I will read everything already written by this author and continue will any new releases in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    lovedd this book the characters will pull you in. The romance an

    lovedd this book the characters will pull you in. The romance and the emotional roller coasters these two young lovers faced through the struggles of what life brought  their way was gut wrenching...but they proved love can conquer all!!! One of the best books i have enjoyed  reading  couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    Yet another one day read for me from this author. I can never pu

    Yet another one day read for me from this author. I can never put her books down till they are done and then I am left wanting more. The ending feels a little rushed but Tabatha has already announced plans to do a sequel to fill in the gaps and give us the rest of Patience and Zeke's story in Perfecting Patience. You have to love any author that listens to her fans as much as this woman does. What I love most about her books is her characters are not perfect. They have real flaws (not the superficial ones most authors serve up)and she shows their pain along with the good.
    Tabatha covers very heavy subjects in this book and does it perfectly. As a survivor of sexual abuse I can completely relate to Patience and what she went thru, her coping mechanisms and reactions. I was lucky enough not to have it as bad as she did but this story hit me in the gut as I read it. Her characters are real and have real reactions..she does not sugar coat it and I would have been disappointed if she did. Even though the subject matter is dark it shows you can survive abuse of all types and come out stronger in the end. The journey Patience and Zeke go on is one WAY too many kids have to deal with.
    Enough of the pain.... the sex scenes between the two main characters are HOT!!!!!! I do not know how she was able to cover the subject she did and still have the sex steaming hot but Tabatha Vargo has the skills needed to pull it off. Tabatha can write sex scenes that will have you searching for your special someone before you are done ;). In the end this is a love story about two very flawed, damaged people who find each other under less (WAY LESS) than perfect conditions. I love how she switches between characters to show what each one is thinking as things are happening. More authors need to do this otherwise you are left with gaps...what is the other person thinking, why did they react like that.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone that has survived abuse it shows that it does get better and you can heal with the right people in your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Amazing book

    I loved this book it dealt with real feeling and situations i love zeke he said exactly what he was feeling no holding back amazing book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Awesome book

    I love Zeke!! This book relates to real life events that happen everyday. I loved how the 2 characters could relate to each other because home issues! Im so excited for more!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Wow.

    Thrilling read. Real sympathy for both main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    This is a dark, emotional read. This book is about love, hope an

    This is a dark, emotional read. This book is about love, hope and trust.

    Patience is a young woman who has been abused by the one who should be protecting her. She keeps her secret because her has cancer and is dying. She hasn't left or done something crazy because she is protecting her little sister. But her parents have been keeping a secret from her, a secret she finds out one night after she meets Zeke.

    Zeke is the bad boy from the wrong side of town. He's rude and nasty but he saves Patience in every way possible. He is also being abused. He considers Patience a light in his dark world. It's ironic that Patience represents light in Zeke's life when her world is so dark. Zeke makes Patience feel alive when he's around her.

    He fights his attraction to her but can't stay away. He's patient with her and takes thing slowly in his own way even as he fights his feelings for her. Patience slowly starts to trust Zeke which is why it's easy for her to respond to him even after she's faced such horrible abuse. I liked who Patience became when Zeke was around. She was young and started to loosen up.

    This book isn't for the faint of heart. The sexual abuse is horrible as well as the physical one. But through it all there's hope and a light at the end of the tunnel. The author does need someone aside from the editor to proof read her story. There were words missing which made you go back abs read a sentence a few times and it still made no sense.

    Overall it's a heartbreaking story because its something that goes on in the real world. I thought I wasn't going to be able to get through this book because my heart hurt for Patience. I felt all her emotions. But I'm glad I finished it. It's a really good story because its so real. I highly recommend it to those 17 and older who can handle hard subject matters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    EXCELLENT!!!!!!!

    This was a great read!!!!!could not put it down. love love Zeke ! next book FINDING FAITH BY THE SAME AUTHOR!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Book

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    I love love loved this book!! :)

    I love love loved this book!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    It was captivating story, you want to allow yourself enough time to read, cause once you start you can't put it down

    Loved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    LOVED IT, couldn't put it down for nothing. Started this book in

    LOVED IT, couldn't put it down for nothing. Started this book in the morning and finished it at 10:30 in the night. Its a MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Aww Zeke

    Loved him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Great book

    Loved the book, cant wait for the nect one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Anonymous

    Loved it!!!!!!! Couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    I couldnt put this book down.

    I couldnt put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    You have to read this.

    Great read i could not put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    I have just finished the most amazing heart stopping, gut wrench

    I have just finished the most amazing heart stopping, gut wrenching emotional book I have read in a long time. It was full of so much that I do not know how to describe what is going through my head right now, much less my heart. My heart kept breaking and healing, breaking and healing again and again... I devoured the book from start to finish in less than 24 hours, I enjoyed it that much.

    I felt such a connection with Patience, and Zeke for that matter, that it was hard to control tearing up at times. Don't get me wrong there were some amazing moments and scenes that would blow my mind and make me so giddy I could not help but smile or laugh out loud. Other times when I wanted to scream along with the characters, or shake with fear not knowing what was coming next.

    The author has such a way with words and knowing that she had to be connected to both Patience and Zeke on such a personal level to write from both perspectives is just amazing. I would think she had some sort of personality disorder to be able to complete this amazing book, but I know better. There were times when I felt the author poured her heart and soul into the characters, describing their thoughts and feelings, emotional none the less.

    Even as Zeke and Patience bond grew throughout the book I could feel them both as if they wore their hearts on their sleeve. Putting up a front like you just don't care is hard for anyone. Being able to go from thoughts and feelings so deep and caring straight into a quote or remark from a character that says "I've built these walls to protect myself and my heart" takes amazing writing skills to achieve.

    Will someone please wrap Zeke up for me in nothing but his guitar boxers?!?! Oh and don't forget the huge bow! Everyone knows who my all time fictional crush is, and if not you should. I do believe Zeke has just topped my fictional crush, JZB. "I'm definitely a freak for Zeke!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2