Customer Reviews for

Playing the Part

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Playing the part was full of passionate moments that will take c

Playing the part was full of passionate moments that will take capture you until the very end. Piper James is a bestselling author recovering from a monumental blow to her career and self-confidence when her publisher sends her to be Mick Blackwell’s “acting coach,” the...
Playing the part was full of passionate moments that will take capture you until the very end. Piper James is a bestselling author recovering from a monumental blow to her career and self-confidence when her publisher sends her to be Mick Blackwell’s “acting coach,” the sparks begin to fly. Robin Covington jumped right into what felt like the “heart of the story,” but it was only the beginning! Mick Blackwell exudes confidence, charm and raw sexual appeal. From the get-go, they both draw the lines and set up the rules but I loved that Mick was really the strongest of the duo. He was completely swoon worthy and every single thing about him screamed passion (and not just the lustful kind). I connected to him quicker than I did Piper but that’s because we share a couple of the same tendencies and I’m a sucker for smart ass, confident men. To me initially, Piper had some contradictions between her thoughts and actions but further into the story as details were revealed and you read more of her story, all her choices made sense. 
On that note, Piper was everything you could want in a heroine. She was strong-willed, determined, and aggressive (the good kind. She’s a girl who gets what she wants). Once I got a little into the book and had more insight on how Piper’s mind worked and her feelings about different things going on, I started cheering her on big-time. Seriously I might have to start a girl crush list to put Piper on. It was a relief to read a heroine who embraced her sexual nature instead of being naïve or a virgin. She gave Mick a real run for his money and a challenge because in that area, she was definitely his equal. Even in her shining moments of glory, I never thought of her as slutty. I really enjoyed that she wasn’t a completely broken person that needed a guy to fix her. Instead, Robin Covington delivers a story that’s engaging and full of sexual chemistry.
The relationship between Mick and Piper explodes off the pages. Some scenes are so sizzling hot you’ll be left turning the page and begging for more. Covington completes the cast with Linc (another man who exudes his own sexual swagger) and Piper’s best friend Chris. As much as I’d like to share with you about these two, I feel like you’ll appreciate discovering them and their roles all on your own. I can’t tell you all the good parts. It was an easy read, full of fun, and witty banter. The sexual tension, dialogue and moments that fill the pages of Playing the Part will leave you needing a fan and a bottle of water. If you’re reading my review because you’ve stumbled upon Playing the Part and are curious, Read it. I loved every moment of Piper and Mick’s stories, they were both relatable and their journeys were realistic. I couldn’t help but to be enticed. 

posted by HopeWasHere on June 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of Ms. Covington's newest b

I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of Ms. Covington's newest book Playing the Part. This book was deliciously sexy and just plain hot.  The leading character was so  clear in my head I thought he was just going to materialize from the pages.  Robin truly knows how to ...
I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of Ms. Covington's newest book Playing the Part. This book was deliciously sexy and just plain hot.  The leading character was so  clear in my head I thought he was just going to materialize from the pages.  Robin truly knows how to engage her readers with characters that you can relate to and understand.  She leaves you with a vivid idea how that when you close your eyes you can see the character for who they really are.  Mick is the hot smoldering action star who can have just about any woman and Piper is the broken hearted romance author.  When the two connect, there a lot of hot and steamy going on!  This book was so as boring that I found myself turning the pages faster and faster-then I wished I hadn't because there was no  more left to read..  You need to buy this book, you will not be disappoint, it's money well spent.   “I knew...” he said, his words in perfect cadence with the slow glide in and out, filling her after leaving her aching and empty, “the minute I saw you, I knew I had to have you.”  With lines like this you know you are in for a bumpy ride.  I can say Ms. Covington has quickly become my new favorite romance author!      

posted by ADIGI on June 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of Ms. Covington's newest b

    I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of Ms. Covington's newest book Playing the Part. This book was deliciously sexy and just plain hot.  The leading character was so  clear in my head I thought he was just going to materialize from the pages.  Robin truly knows how to engage her readers with characters that you can relate to and understand.  She leaves you with a vivid idea how that when you close your eyes you can see the character for who they really are.  Mick is the hot smoldering action star who can have just about any woman and Piper is the broken hearted romance author.  When the two connect, there a lot of hot and steamy going on!  This book was so as boring that I found myself turning the pages faster and faster-then I wished I hadn't because there was no  more left to read..  You need to buy this book, you will not be disappoint, it's money well spent.   “I knew...” he said, his words in perfect cadence with the slow glide in and out, filling her after leaving her aching and empty, “the minute I saw you, I knew I had to have you.”  With lines like this you know you are in for a bumpy ride.  I can say Ms. Covington has quickly become my new favorite romance author!      

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

                                                                   

                                                                                                         
    a good read with satisfying ending

    Playing the Part is a contemporary romance.  The heroine is Piper, a Caucasian romance book writer trying to make a comeback after being humiliated by her ex-fiancé who cheated on her and then dumped her publicly. The hero is Mick, a bi-racial, famous action hero movie star.  He has a reputation as a playboy/ “love them and leave them guy”.  Mick’s dream is to be considered a more serious actor by doing “deep” movies instead of action.  However, whereever he goes, everyone wants to associate him with the rough and tough character in his action films.

    When Piper’s romance book gets picked up to be made into a movie, Mick jumps at the chance to perform as a deep and sensitive character in the movie.  He wants to prove to the world and himself that he can be a “real actor”.  The two meet up on the movie set and the chemistry flies.  Mick falls for Piper almost immediately.  She is unlike the models and actresses he dates.  Piper is smart, complicated, and looks like a “real woman”.  Piper, although attracted to Mick, cannot afford any more bad publicity and seeks only a physical relationship, and even dreads to be seen in public with Mick.  Also, she is scared of getting her heart broken again by another playboy like her ex.  Of course, this good-in-bed yet hard-to-get Piper causes Mick to really fall in love, a situation in which he has never been in before.  Throughout the book, Mick, the man who hates commitment, desperately tries to prove to Piper that he can be a good guy and is trustworthy.

    The book starts off a little slow at the beginning, but gets better as it moves along.  The grand gestures of Mick are really heartwarming and nicely written.   The book would have been even better if we got into Mick’s ethnicity and childhood more and how those helped shape him as a person.  That would have made the book deeper and developed the character more. Nevertheless, it was a good read.  The ending is satisfying.

    -Reviewed by Pamela

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    This book is reminiscent of Bella Andre's Come a Little Closer.

    This book is reminiscent of Bella Andre's Come a Little Closer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    So-so

    ## Not the best, not the worst. Didn't like that the hero had to be a man-slut once again. It's hard to fathom that this guy will be commited to one person. I doubt it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    After a disastrous break up a year ago, resulting in a lot of ne

    After a disastrous break up a year ago, resulting in a lot of negative publicity for Piper, she is trying to make amends with her publisher.  Piper is an author whose book is being adapted for a movie, and she's agreed to consult with the actor playing the leading part.  Mick has never been in love, and he doesn't have relationships, so he has no idea how to act like he's in one!  It is Piper's job to help him get into character.




    As soon as Piper and Mick meet there are not just sparks, but fireworks!  The last relationship Piper was in was also with an actor and look how that turned out...  Piper is media shy and trying to stay out of the spotlight, but there's no way she can ignore the heat between her and Mick.  She knows she'll be leaving Hollywood soon, just as she knows he's not a relationship kind of guy.  "...hunger for Mick Blackwell was a very dangerous proposition, because while the bad boy was a nice little fantasy, the reality sucked."  Mick lusted for Piper as soon as he saw her, before he knew who she was "She'd turned him on the moment he'd noticed her on the set, and she'd responded to his flirtation, giving it as good as she got.  As long as she wasn't the relationship type..."




    Piper and Mick soon give into the heat between them (and there is a lot of that!), having some fun while neither is looking for a lasting relationship.  Piper and Mick are good for each other...whether due to the intensity between them or that they're both feeling much more relaxed, Piper is able to write again and Mick starts hitting his scenes.  They have their rules (no staying over for one), and Piper is sure she can keep her heart out of this thing with Mick.  The last thing she wants or needs is another relationship with someone in the spotlight.




    As determined as Piper is to stay out of the limelight and a relationship, she starts to feel really good with Mick - and not only when they're having sex!  Mick has a sensitive, caring side that he keeps pretty well hidden from the public.  "The problem wasn't even the epic sex that left her aching for more.  The problem was the ordinary, in between times with Mick.  The times where they talked, read quietly, or napped in the early afternoon, the long dinners...conversation..."  And now Mick wants to change the rules, and have a relationship beyond a temporary fling.  Piper makes him feel like no one ever has before.




    But between the press, her past, and who Mick is, Piper is afraid of starting another relationship, of letting her heart become involved.  It might be too late for that though...and with another media scandal looming, Piper leaves and heads back to New York.  But can Piper let Mick go that easily?  Can they both find a way to deal with the constant limelight and press coverage, real or not?  Piper might need to let her heart lead her after all...




    I liked both Mick and Piper.  We don't get a lot of background on them, but enough to give us an idea of who they are and where they're coming from.  They are both honest with each other, no game playing or secrets which I really like. Piper is a fun young lady, quite comfortable with her sexuality, out for what she thinks will be a temporary good time.   It's harder for her to accept the evolution of the relationship than it is for Mick, because she's been burned before. She needs to decide who she's going to trust...the press or Mick?  




    Even though Mick is a movie star and Piper is a famous author, the feelings that both of them go through are easy to relate to, especially Piper!  Outside of the limelight they are a real couple, quickly falling for each other.  I felt like their professions, so different yet so similar added a fun twist to the romantic story line.




    Robyn gives us a good, steamy, romantic read with Playing the Part.  There are a lot of explicit sex scenes through out Playing the Part, but they work well with the story line and she writes them very well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1