Customer Reviews for

Playing the Part

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Playing the part was full of passionate moments that will take c

Playing the part was full of passionate moments that will take capture you until the very end. Piper James is a bestselling author recovering from a monumental blow to her career and self-confidence when her publisher sends her to be Mick Blackwell’s “acting coach,” the...
Playing the part was full of passionate moments that will take capture you until the very end. Piper James is a bestselling author recovering from a monumental blow to her career and self-confidence when her publisher sends her to be Mick Blackwell’s “acting coach,” the sparks begin to fly. Robin Covington jumped right into what felt like the “heart of the story,” but it was only the beginning! Mick Blackwell exudes confidence, charm and raw sexual appeal. From the get-go, they both draw the lines and set up the rules but I loved that Mick was really the strongest of the duo. He was completely swoon worthy and every single thing about him screamed passion (and not just the lustful kind). I connected to him quicker than I did Piper but that’s because we share a couple of the same tendencies and I’m a sucker for smart ass, confident men. To me initially, Piper had some contradictions between her thoughts and actions but further into the story as details were revealed and you read more of her story, all her choices made sense. 
On that note, Piper was everything you could want in a heroine. She was strong-willed, determined, and aggressive (the good kind. She’s a girl who gets what she wants). Once I got a little into the book and had more insight on how Piper’s mind worked and her feelings about different things going on, I started cheering her on big-time. Seriously I might have to start a girl crush list to put Piper on. It was a relief to read a heroine who embraced her sexual nature instead of being naïve or a virgin. She gave Mick a real run for his money and a challenge because in that area, she was definitely his equal. Even in her shining moments of glory, I never thought of her as slutty. I really enjoyed that she wasn’t a completely broken person that needed a guy to fix her. Instead, Robin Covington delivers a story that’s engaging and full of sexual chemistry.
The relationship between Mick and Piper explodes off the pages. Some scenes are so sizzling hot you’ll be left turning the page and begging for more. Covington completes the cast with Linc (another man who exudes his own sexual swagger) and Piper’s best friend Chris. As much as I’d like to share with you about these two, I feel like you’ll appreciate discovering them and their roles all on your own. I can’t tell you all the good parts. It was an easy read, full of fun, and witty banter. The sexual tension, dialogue and moments that fill the pages of Playing the Part will leave you needing a fan and a bottle of water. If you’re reading my review because you’ve stumbled upon Playing the Part and are curious, Read it. I loved every moment of Piper and Mick’s stories, they were both relatable and their journeys were realistic. I couldn’t help but to be enticed. 

posted by HopeWasHere on June 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of Ms. Covington's newest b

I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of Ms. Covington's newest book Playing the Part. This book was deliciously sexy and just plain hot.  The leading character was so  clear in my head I thought he was just going to materialize from the pages.  Robin truly knows how to ...
I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of Ms. Covington's newest book Playing the Part. This book was deliciously sexy and just plain hot.  The leading character was so  clear in my head I thought he was just going to materialize from the pages.  Robin truly knows how to engage her readers with characters that you can relate to and understand.  She leaves you with a vivid idea how that when you close your eyes you can see the character for who they really are.  Mick is the hot smoldering action star who can have just about any woman and Piper is the broken hearted romance author.  When the two connect, there a lot of hot and steamy going on!  This book was so as boring that I found myself turning the pages faster and faster-then I wished I hadn't because there was no  more left to read..  You need to buy this book, you will not be disappoint, it's money well spent.   “I knew...” he said, his words in perfect cadence with the slow glide in and out, filling her after leaving her aching and empty, “the minute I saw you, I knew I had to have you.”  With lines like this you know you are in for a bumpy ride.  I can say Ms. Covington has quickly become my new favorite romance author!      

posted by ADIGI on June 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 36 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    This is the third book I have read by Ms. Covington , and I have

    This is the third book I have read by Ms. Covington , and I have to say, it is a heated page turner! By the time I had finished I had so many pages highlighted, I was not sure I could write a review without spoilers.....here is my attempt.




    Piper James is a best selling author of romance novels, recovering from a very bad, very public break up. Her ex fiancé was a popular actor, caught in a liaison with her best friend. Her career suffered after all the bad publicity generated by her well documented anger and pain . She is now trying to get her career back, by helping another actor understand the role he is to play in one of her novels brought to the screen. "All she had to do to salvage her career was teach the leading man, Mick Blackwell, the sexiest playboy in Hollywood, how to act like he was in love."




    Mick Blackwell is the star of several action adventure movies, trying to make his mark in a more dramatic role. He lives with his best friend Lincoln St. John known to all his fans as a "rock god." Mick had a difficult childhood growing up in the shadow of his Oscar winning actor father. "Since I was seven I've spent more time pretending to be other people than I’ve been myself. My life isn’t exactly normal.” My first reaction to Mick was "slick." He was all charm and seduction. The cameras were his friend. Piper enjoyed his charm and seduction, but she had rules. Good sex, no sleepovers. 




    We learn a lot about our hero and heroine. They each have friends and staff they believe in. Some not worthy of their trust. Ms. Covington shows us in small ways Mick's true self. He's caring, and loyal, and not really the thoughtless playboy he shows to the world. This is a love story about two people who don't want to love, not even sure how to love, but it's in their hearts. With so many forces working against them can they hold on to it? 




    I enjoyed this novel very much. I liked both Mick and Piper, and the side characters. Hopefully Linc St. John will have a future story! I highly recommend this novel!




    I received this novel from the author for an honest review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I GREAT start to a new series.

    Reviewed for Read Your Writes Book Reviews

    This is the first book I’ve read by Robin Covington; someone I’ve wanted to read for awhile. Oh my GOSH! To say this book is hot is an understatement. For her character inspirations, Robin used Shemar Moore and Lisa Loeb. Shemar’s voice came through LOUD and CLEAR for me in this book.

    Mick Blackwell is Hollywood’s action hero golden boy. His John Dark movies make millions of dollars at the box office. Mick is from an acting family and has been acting since he was child. Having proven himself as a successful action star, Mick now wants to prove to Hollywood and everyone else that he’s more than just an action superstar. He has fought hard to land the lead acting role in Regan’s Gift. However, Mick isn’t connecting with the character and feeling the romantic passion his character should feel.

    With Mick known for his playboy ways, his studio decides that he needs to learn how to act like he’s in love. Enter Piper James, The New York Times bestselling romance author who just so happened to write Regan’s Gift. In order to save her career and the movie, Piper must get Mick to search within himself and express love and passion. The problem is...Mick has NEVER been in love.

    There is instant attraction but Piper is skittish. Her last encounter with a movie star destroyed her and almost her career. Mick isn’t one to give up. With his playboy ways and policy of never having anything serious, Piper decides that she should at least have some fun with Mick while she’s in Hollywood. After only one encounter with Piper, Mick is able to nail his love scene, which shows how much his character is in love.

    With Piper, Mick decides that casual isn’t what he’s looking for. He isn’t ready for things to end when she flies back to New York. To Piper’s surprise, she isn’t ready either. What is supposed to be something quiet just between the two of them ends up on the first page of every magazine. This puts Piper back in the public spotlight and paparazzi crosshairs that she hates. What will Mick do to protect the one person who means more to him than anything? And just who is it that leaked their private time together? Sometimes when you’re playing at something, that something becomes very real and more powerful than you could ever expect.

    PLAYING THE PART is a passionate, hot, and sexy story of two people coming together for the sake of a movie but finding themselves fighting for a part of a lifetime.

    Rating: 4.5

    Source: Publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    First of all I want to express my love of Robin Covington. I am

    First of all I want to express my love of Robin Covington. I am in love with this book. I can always get a good picture in my head of your characters. Your characters are so realistic and jump off the page. It's like I am reading a movie. Mick and Piper are a great couple that I would love to see more of. 
    Your dialogue is one of the best. The banter between the main and secondary characters were fantastic. I would say more but I don't want to spoil it for anyone.

    I tore through this book. Excited to get into and sad that it had to end. I HIGHLY recommend you read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    Wow!! 5 flames!! I am an avid reader and enjoy a lot of books.

    Wow!! 5 flames!! I am an avid reader and enjoy a lot of books. But the ones that are fantastic are rare. This book is one of them. The frustrating part is not being able to put into words how good this book is. I actually read it through twice before beginning to review. I LOVED this book. A winning combination of strong, likeable characters mixed with fun, humor, drama, and SIZZLE. Once again Ms. Covington has also created secondary characters that are important to the story and make you want to know them better. (Linc!) It all comes together for a fun, sexy read you don't want to miss.

    I can't wait to see what Robin Covington writes next!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    This was my first book by Ms Covington. I was not disappointed.

    This was my first book by Ms Covington. I was not disappointed. If you are looking a romance novel to keep you warm this summer this book is for you! I devoured it in a matter of hours. It had a steady pace, interesting characters, steamy hot love scenes (wow cars and lounge chairs!!!) and a good story line to keep you entertained until the end. The chemistry and passion between the two characters, Piper and Mick, really jumped off the page. Who doesn't like a love story that you wish you could replace the female lead for a while. Being the center of affection from a millionaire playboy that you are special enough for him to change his ways and to make you feel special and desired! I know the readers would love to see a second book with Lincoln and his story told for all us ladies to dream about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow!  This book was so hot.  I fell for the couple right from th

    Wow!  This book was so hot.  I fell for the couple right from the start.  Piper and Mick were so good together.  I liked how even though they had combustible chemistry they built a friendship and respected each other.  Although I had a feeling how the angst would come about, it was still fun to see how the HEA would play out.  And the ending was super romantic.  I loved the story from start to finish.  The whole book had such a sexy sensual air about it and only enhanced it by the words of Piper and Mick.



    Favorite line, "I am Mick f...ing Blackwell!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    After publicly self-destructing over a heartbreak a year ago, be

    After publicly self-destructing over a heartbreak a year ago, bestselling romance writer Piper James is now making nice with her publisher by agreeing to teach Hollywood's favorite action star how to act like he's in love. Only playboy Mick Blackwell has no clue what love looks like. When a seductive heat ignites between Piper and Mick, she jumps at the chance for a bit of fun between the sheets, but with two stipulations: she's kept out of the public eye and things end when she returns to New York. Only Mick keeps changing the rules on her. Tempted by America's favorite bad boy, Piper is wondering how far she's willing to bend...


    Review:


    I have never read any of Ms. Covington's books, but I can tell you right now she is going on my auto-buy list from here on out. She kept me invested in the story and characters from page 1 and I devoured this story in a single day. I really liked Ms. Covington's writing style and it helped keep the characters real for me.



    Holy Chemistry, these two characters spark from the minute they lay eyes on each other. I love Piper, even though she has been hurt; she is still strong, sexy and smart. She has been hurt by her friend and finance and lashes out in public. Which I think most of us sympathize with her reactions/actions. Unfortunately, it hurts her image and career and she goes under the radar to get her career back on track. In comes Mick, uber-movie star hunk and all around good guy and I am calling it right now...Mick is MY book boyfriend. Piper comes to help Mick get more in touch with his character on the movie set of Piper's book. Even though the scenes between these two are exciting and hot; each has their own reasons for being gun-shy. The progression of their relationship made sense and went along with the characters and their trials and tribulations. The end was great with lots of emotion and drama.


    Will we get to see Mick's best friend Lincoln have a story? I hope so!


    4.5 Licks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book had me hooked from the beginning. The chemistry betwee

    This book had me hooked from the beginning. The chemistry between Piper and Mick was off the charts. This book made me laugh, cry and made my temperature rise. I loved how she made a scene that most would run away from so sweet and hot at the same time. I look forward to many more great books by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Having read Robin Covington¿s first two novels, A NIGHT OF SOUTH

    Having read Robin Covington’s first two novels, A NIGHT OF SOUTHERN COMFORT and
    HIS SOUTHERN TEMPTATION, I knew she wrote steamy, romantic books with characters
     so well defined that I felt I knew them for a long time by the end of the books.
    She has done it again in PLAYING THE PART, a heart-pounding novel that hooked me by the
     title page where it said it is a “playing around novel” which is a huge and wonderful
     understatement! PLAYING THE PART is a sexy, romantic feel-good-to-be-alive novel and it made
     me laugh, sigh, get teary-eyed, fall in love with her two main characters, wished the book to never
     end and wanted to read it again right away. 
    I loved Piper James, a curvy, smart, gorgeous, and well known author with a witty and
     sarcastic sense of humor. I found myself wanting to be her! Her humor helps her handle her
     insecurities and her vulnerability in matters of romance.   Add Mick Blackwell, a drop dead gorgeous,
     mixed-race, rich and famous action movie star who also matches Piper James with his brand of
     humor. I so wanted get to know him like Piper does which made me laugh with joy! Mick is only
     seen publicly with many of Hollywood’s “air brushed” famous beauties, perfect PR for him and
     his way of dealing with his own romance vulnerability issues.
     Combine Piper James, appointed to work with can’t-take-my-eyes-or hands-off- you Mick on
     love scenes he has to do for a movie being made from a book she wrote.  Together this creates
     from large sparklers to whole fireworks going off from each paragraph you read.  This book is
    not just a MUST READ, it is a MUST READ AGAIN book, so you can experience the mouth open
    wide, spectacular ending one more time. This is a five star times hundreds book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    So Hot. So Steamy. So Sexy. And oh, so fabulous. Robin Covingt

    So Hot. So Steamy. So Sexy. And oh, so fabulous. Robin Covington hit it out of the ballpark with this one. Piper is fun and spunky, though she has a bit of a past that tries to get in the way of her relationship with Mick. And Mick. Oh, my. I've seen the inspiration photos and hot DAYUM. He's cocky, in just the right way, funny and hides a surprising side that we get to see through Piper's eyes. Don't even get me started on the love scenes. *fans self* Loved every minute of reading this one and look forward to more from Ms. Covington in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hot ,hot. Loved the story of Mick and Piper. Hot attraction betw

    Hot ,hot. Loved the story of Mick and Piper. Hot attraction between the two immediatly. Wanted a no strings attachment. Trust issues develop but also true love., can they over come the barriers. 
    Hot , hot sex scenes. Loved the ending. Robin you did a wonderful job casting the charactets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    This was an absolutely amazing read it pulled me in from the fir

    This was an absolutely amazing read it pulled me in from the first words on the page! Mick and Piper are extremely relatable characters. The supporting characters in this book were also amazing. This tale has little bit of everything love; betrayal, heartbreak, as well as people will always have your back no matter what. Who of us haven't gone through bad breakup and let that breakup impede us from trying to move out and who of us hasn't fallen for the bad boy every once in a while and tried to redeem him? This is a story about overcoming any obstacles to give truelove a chance. This tale is so creatively written that it inspires us to believe in happy endings. Not only that but it also inspires us to reach out for dreams and no that nothing is an unattainable once you set your mind to it. I would 100% recommend this book for thumbs-up yes for yes four it deserves more than just two!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    I loved every minute of reading Piper and Mick's story. Their at

    I loved every minute of reading Piper and Mick's story. Their attraction for one another is hot and steamy, and wanting more. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of this book. I'm a HUGE f

    I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of this book. I'm a HUGE fan of Robin's books "A Night of Southern Comfort" and His Southern Temptation" so I was anxious to read her latest.

    From the beginning the chemistry between Mick & Piper sizzled off the page. His cocky arrogance and bigger than life personality had me saying 'yes' the first time he opened his mouth! And of course, Piper felt the same. Her head constantly told her to run the other way, but of course her head (and other body parts) were unable to resist Mick's charms and sexy good looks. These two don't have an easy time of it, but they certainly make the ride lots of fun.

    A sexy, steamy read full of smart and funny dialogue. You won't be able to resist falling in love with these characters. Just be sure to have a fan and ice water handy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 36 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2