Customer Reviews for

Playing with Boys

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Gracie black

    I never read this but im going to get it your reviews are good so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Love 2 read

    She is a great writer i enjoy her style. I lol alot while reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Loved it

    I can see this on the big screen. I hope someoone finally picks up her books and bring them to life. I'm African-American and didn't think about this as a latino story. It was about friends. We can all relate to that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    good

    It started off kind of boring, until later on in the chapters it got interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read!

    This book was very entertaining with all the dramatic twists in turns in each page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    Add this to your favorites list....

    I just finished listening to 'playing with boys' on audio & I must say that I was very pleasantly surprised! I LOVED LOVED LOVED this book! Listening to it was fun as the reader did a great job with the different languages & accents. I could not shut it off, I was so into it. It was one of those heartwarming fun reads that makes you laugh & makes your day just a little better. This one goes to my favorites list for sure. Totally worth the time as it is a little long, but it doesn't lose a thing along the way. It's great from beginning to end! Would like to see more from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    Interesting, but Predictable

    This story of three young Latino women overcoming their past to obtain success in the Hollywood business world was interesting, but very predictable. The characters, especially Alexis, were funny and engaging. However, despite the tough life lessons they each had to learn, all three still came across as being quite shallow. It made you wonder if they learned anything at all. It was a good read, just not great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    Good Read

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. The writing took me to where the stories were! I read this book so quiclky, I was sorry to have finished with it so soon. Keep up the marvelous work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    Couldn't put it down!

    Loved it! This novel was laugh out loud hilarious and you could def. relate with the characters. Couldn't put the book down. This novel def. kept me wanting to know more. I would read it again and again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2008

    Highly entertaining and funny

    I never laugh out loud at books but in this one there was so much strong opinion and so many funny remarks, I never got bored with it. The harsh reviewers may not have liked it but they have to admit that this is not your typical romance read, not at all. The characters are so in-depth, and even if it was predictable, that didn't make it any less entertaining. I stayed reading for hours just trying to get to the end! I won't forget this one! 'One of the reasons I was wondering why it was on sale' If I could change one thing about it, I'd change the title, it's about so much more than just boys!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2007

    Save your time

    Had great hopes for this read, but did not like it at all. Forced myself to finish it, just for the sake of finishing it. The characters were predictable as was the plot. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2007

    A reviewer

    This Book was so entertaining! It wasn't just a normal happy go lucky tale, it had lots of drama and characters that people can relate to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    Keep up the good work, forget these lil haters...

    I read this book a while back, as usual, you did a great job!! Love the characters and the storyline. Can't wait to read more books of yours. Your my fav Latina chik lit author!!! Congrats again Alisa. Take care.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2006

    Mediocre

    Honestly, I've read better. Interesting characters, but annoying point-of-view, not much to hold it together. It was bearable at best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2006

    LOVED IT!!! Hit home so many times!

    I'm from Dallas, TX and live in Hawaii. So reading this made me feel like I was Alexis in some sense. I loved it and couldn't put it down. I laughed out loud so many times everyone around me was like what is so funny! It's a great book to read just for fun. You can relate to the characters and it leaves you wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    Read this book!

    What a great variety of characters! The bonds of friendship are forever. This is a laugh out loud story, you will be rooting for your favorites throughout the book! I can't wait to read more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    Great Read

    3 young ladies all from totally different back grounds..break all barriers and go for what they want!! Power to the Latinas!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    Is this a JOKE?

    I decided to read this book after seeing the author in a national magazine. This book is poorly written, the characters are unbelievable, the plot (if you can call it that) is ridiculous, and it's full of stereotypes. This book is bad even by chick lit standards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    loved it

    I really enjoyed this book, i also read 'The dirty girls'. I liked the diversity in characters. It was funny sad and romantic. I can not wait till her new one comes out this spring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2005

    LATINA LOVE!!!

    I loved it!! It showed all the different aspects of what we go through!! Plus she did a shout out to all sisters of SIGMA LAMBDA GAMMA NATIONAL SORORITY!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3