Customer Reviews for

Playing with the Enemy

Average Rating 5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Great read - Great story

    This captivating book is a baseball story and a lesson in history, but it's more than that. It's a story of family relationships, difficult choices, and unconditional love. 'Playing with the Enemy' is a heart-warming tribute to the author's father. If I was still teaching middle school reading, this book would be in the hands of my 'reluctant readers' and I know each reader would actually finish the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    Couldn't get past page 40

    I know that many people think this is a heartwarming book, and a great story. That's why I really, honestly, tried to read it through. I knew there had to be a good story somewhere. However, I couldn't get past the awful dialog. I think the story would have been much better served if the author had not tried to make it "read like a novel," and had invested some more time into researching the era, and less into idolizing his father.

    The final straw was the scene when the main character finds out about the bombing of Pearl Harbor. It was just too trite.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2008

    Baseball Fans & Military Buffs Rejoice

    Gary Moore has written a wonderful book. As a baseball fan and a military buff, Playing With the Enemy has become, simply, one of my favorite non-fiction reads of all time. It has earned a place on my shelf of books to keep, and will be one of those books I give as gifts. But it won't be given only to fellow baseball and military historians, as this is a story that will peak the interest of anyone who likes to read of ordinary people doing the most extraordinary things while living out their private lives. Moore's book tells the story of his father, Gene Moore, a baseball prodigy whose promising baseball career was interrupted by the Second World War. Drafted by the Brooklyn Dodgers as a teenager, Gene Moore entered the Navy in a little-known program that allowed Major League talents a chance to serve their country, play the game they love, and entertain the troops. Unlike Steven Bullock's Playing for Their Nation '2004', an exhaustively researched book which explained the various baseball programs that existed in the U.S. military during The War, Moore's book comes to life. While Playing for Their Nation is a must-have reference for any military baseball historian, Playing With the Enemy is a page-turner that anyone with an interest in human drama that seems too unreal to be real will enjoy. The saga of Gene Moore is as unlikely as any of the far-fetched but fun-to-read baseball stories by W.P. Kinsella but Moore's is even more compelling because it is true. Readers will find themselves rooting for Gene Moore to make it: through The War, through a tragic and impossibly unfair injury, and through his fall into the darkness of alcoholism and lost dreams. Gary Moore's book actually has much in common with another book, Flags of Our Fathers '2001' by James Bradley, the son of Iwo Jima flag raiser John Bradley. James didn't know much about his father's experiences in World War II until his father passed away. Gary didn't know much about his father's War experiences either, but was able to have a magic moment with his father just before he passed away. The result of that magic moment is Playing With the Enemy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2008

    An Awesome Book

    I really enjoyed reading this book because of its touching story line. It's a great memoir from a son to his father, talking about his past as a baseball player in the Navy during WWII. I also enjoyed the historical pieces included. Once I started reading this book, I didn't want to put it down! This book is also being made into a movie, which I can't wait to see. All in all, I recommend it to anyone who wants a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2008

    A reviewer

    I loved this book! I had to read it in my U.S. history class and could not put it down. I really liked how Mr. Moore added in history while keeping it from being boring. This is not a book about baseball or about the war, so don't let the title discourage you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    Grand Slam! (no passed balls)

    Gary Moore's outstanding book about his father Gene and his adventures in baseball and wwII would not allow me to put this book down. As a baseball fan and also an admirer of the 'Greatest Generation' Americans like Gary's father, I could feel the emotions and pressures of the time as the book very truthfully expressed what is was like for a small town boy to succeed in war and baseball only to have dreams shattered with a freak injury. Any American can be proud of our country and our people when reading this book. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Lamar Garrard Lincolnton, GA (a fan)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    DON'T DROP THE BALL - READ THIS BOOK!

    ¿PLAYING WITH THE ENEMY¿ is a book that will take a very special place in my personal library. One in which I will read again and again. The book is simply that striking! Gary Moore writes all the many lessons one finds in life here with such ease and readability. I can¿t think of a better gift from one person to another, especially to ones children. ¿PLAYING WITH THE ENEMY¿ is one of those books that come along only a few per lifetime. I¿m so elated that I had the honor of reading Gary¿s book and I am certain that anyone choosing to read it will feel the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    Powerful, can't wait for the movie !

    Gary Moore tells a personal story about his dad, Gene Moore in a powerful way that will not let you put the book down. Imagine yourself sitting in the bleachers within the stadium of life looking down at one man's progress as he 'plays the game.' You cheer for his winnings and cry at his loses and the demons that come and go. Gene Moore was a southern Illinois country boy who could hit the ball a country mile. His love of baseball was his motivation in life, but friendship, family and commitment to humanity always came first. Well written and a joy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2007

    Expressively Engaging

    It's a simply written gut punch by a first-time author that will elicit heartfelt empathy from even the hardest souls. All of us have played the 'might have been' game with our lives, but this tale about small-town Gene Moore, a once-in-a-generation baseball talent, takes that exercise over the top. 'Playing with the Enemy' emotionally involved me to such an extent that I had to put it aside from time to time so that I could take time to reflect and recover. If it were fiction, it would be a remarkable read. The fact that the story is real makes it all the more spectacular. This story is simple and pure, but is full of lessons and nuances that have kept me engaged long after I've finished it. I can't wait for the movie. Jay A. Stout

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    Baseball or War ??

    An excellent book whether you are reading it for baseball or World War II. Shows just what opportunities are available for all, even those from a small farming and coal mining town in the Midwest. The suffering and tribulations that Gene Moore went through to reach his ultimate dream are described in interesting detail. Especially touching at the end. As a former native of Zeigler, IL, just a few miles from Sesser, this book was especially interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    First time author, Mr.Gary Moore has hit one out of the park. It is a story of a baseball player'his father' from a small town who had a god given talent and a passion to succeed in what others may have considered a dream. This remarkable story will take you through his dream,his life and his reality. You will learn about another chapter in World War II that speaks of the 'human' side. You will read about a remarkable man who loved baseball, his country and his family and not in that order. Pick this book up and you will not put it down until Mr. Moore's story is told!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    For those who don't believe what they see in the movies ... sometimes a true story can be as full of coincidence, theme and moral as anything Hollywood has ever produced. Such a story is PLAYING WITH THE ENEMY, a moving account of the life of a man who should have been a world-famous baseball player -- but ended up doing something very different because of one moment that changed his destiny forever. Written by his son Gary with love and admiration, the story follows Gene Moore from his teen years when he's first signed by the Brooklyn Dodgers through World War II, to a most unconventional baseball lineup, and back home where a crippling injury destroyed his chance to be the baseball star he expected to be. The book is a beautiful tribute to a man who loved the game more than anything in the world, yet has to learn some painful lessons about his place in it, and ultimately learns it from the most unexpected source possible: The German sailor he once guarded and taught to play baseball, who returns to find him and show him what his real destiny is. Though there's actually surprisingly little about the action at the heart of the title -- Gene's time spent training and playing with the German sailors -- the book as a whole is a remarkable story. Gene himself, and his family, friends and teammates, are alive in this book and stay with you long after you close it. It doesn't surprise me that the book is on its way to movie production -- if ever a story was fashioned for motion pictures, it was this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2007

    Not really a book about baseball

    This is a great book! He writes in such a way that the joy and the pain are as real as if you were experiencing them yourself. A great book with a great lesson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2007

    Not just for Baseball fans or War buffs!!

    I have never read a baseball book and I have never read a war book (and I should add that I¿ve never written a book review either!). I only started reading this book as practically an obligation because my father grew up in Sesser, Illinois. I was really not looking forward to it all that much because I didn¿t want to read about baseball or war. But I kept the book open, almost non-stop, because it is a great read. This book really touched my heart. It is a great story and I could not put it down. Obviously baseball fans and war buffs will love this book too. But my main point in writing this review is to tell everyone else out there who usually sticks with fiction like me, that you really should read this book. I promise you will not be bored! And if you¿ve ever had a time in your life when you thought ¿what if¿¿, I promise this book will touch your heart. Gary Moore has exceeded expectations of a first-time writer and he did a great service by writing this book. Once you read it, you¿ll be sharing it with your friends and family, too, even if you don¿t know anyone from Sesser, Illinois.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    Playing with the Enemy

    Gary Moore is a natural story teller. With few words he draws the reader back into a simpler time, to a small town where everyone knew everyone, and people wore their values without pretense. The town of Sesser is proud of Gene Moore, a man who was destined to become one of baseball's greatest players. It isn't until Gene Moore's dream is shattered and he becomes a drunk does the depth of his heartbreak become clear. Late in the book, the author likens Gene Moore's war injury to spirit, not a physical scar. Every day we see broken soldiers returning from Iraq, but do we see their injured spirits too? Playing with the Enemy is part history, part baseball, partly a lesson in humanity, and all heart. Because of the open natural style of the author, the story reads smoothly, as if you are right there walking every step of the story with Gene Moore. He finally accepted the love of his family was stronger than what he lost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    Playing with the Enemy

    There's a two fold poignant tale within Playing With the Enemy. One, a story of a broken heart---not over a woman, but over the love for baseball. The second is the struggle after the broken heart, and the memories that never helped Gene Moore's spirit to heal. His love for his family finally, with some help from a former enemy prisoner, became his path back. Gary Warren Moore's book puts the reader back in time, to a simpler time, of loving your country, and having a dream. The most surprising aspect of the time, was the novelty of treating prisoners like people. Gene Moore managed to use baseball to cross war torn lines. The story is very well written, and reads smoothly, historically, and touches the love of a good story in all of us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2007

    If you read one book this year, read this!

    Don't delay, read this book! You don't have to be a baseball fan to love this book. If you ARE a baseball fan, you should know this story! It is the most awe inspiring story I've read in years. Only life can throw you curve balls and not strike out! Men and women alike, read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2007

    A Grasping of Family Values

    I found this book to be a wonderful read. Not only does it combine history with athletics, the book offers insight on family values such as taking the time to really get to know your parents/children and using such values as a basis for life. Gary Moore writes in such a way the reader cannot help but reflect on previous actions within their own lives and gives each and every reader an option on improving personal relationships. A must for those readers who enjoy various venues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2006

    Playing with the Enemy

    This was a super book, it kept me on the edge of my seat and always wanting to read farther. Hard to put down. Great emotional rollercoaster....a must for all ages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2006

    Playing with the Enemy

    This is a book for everyone, I really enjoyed reading something that was down home. As a guy its hard to find a great read like this that puts you in the story with the characters, it really made you feel like you were right there with Mr. Moore. Great read, i'd recommend to Everyone !!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3