Customer Reviews for

Pleading Guilty

Average Rating 3
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Beware: Turow at work

It seems to me that Scott Turow's books ought to be stickered with a warning, something like: "This is not a John Grisham Book." This is the fourth Turow book I've read in the last six or eight months, and I really enjoy his style. He tells a good story, but his real st...
It seems to me that Scott Turow's books ought to be stickered with a warning, something like: "This is not a John Grisham Book." This is the fourth Turow book I've read in the last six or eight months, and I really enjoy his style. He tells a good story, but his real strength is in his characters. Each one is severly flawed, but each is clearly loved by the author. In this book the protagonist is Mac Malloy, a (recovering?) alcoholic who stumbles through a maze of sorry circumstances. Of the four Turow books I have read, this is by far the darkest, but even amidst the somber tone there is an occasional glimpse of hope. Turow is not for the fan of the quick read. Turow pays off the reader who is willing to invest him(her)self in the wonderfully rich characters he develops.

posted by Anonymous on February 10, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tortured

Good story, but hard, slow reading. Seemed like author wanted to show how many adjectives he could throw in and how flowery he could make the language. Do not recommend.

posted by Anonymous on February 27, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    Beware: Turow at work

    It seems to me that Scott Turow's books ought to be stickered with a warning, something like: "This is not a John Grisham Book." This is the fourth Turow book I've read in the last six or eight months, and I really enjoy his style. He tells a good story, but his real strength is in his characters. Each one is severly flawed, but each is clearly loved by the author. In this book the protagonist is Mac Malloy, a (recovering?) alcoholic who stumbles through a maze of sorry circumstances. Of the four Turow books I have read, this is by far the darkest, but even amidst the somber tone there is an occasional glimpse of hope. Turow is not for the fan of the quick read. Turow pays off the reader who is willing to invest him(her)self in the wonderfully rich characters he develops.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Turow is a master

    His characters in this novel like all his others are multifaceted and surprising. The plot turns are always surprising yet once he throws you a loop, you realize that the turn was inevitable. I've always liked legal novels and I enjoy Grisham too. But Turow consistently puts Grisham to shame. Read this. You won't regret it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    A great read. I just couldn't put this book down. Loved thhe story.

    If you like Terow, you should like this one. Twisting story and a surprise ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Plenty of Words

    Can you imagine a book with too many words for the reader to plow through?
    Well, sure, of course. But when the book is a captivating tale of deceit, corruption, sex and lawyers, and written by Scott Turow, how could it be too long or too wordy? Pleading Guilty is a tale with many twists, but well told as it is, I enjoyed turning every page to see what happens next. Most fans of mysteries will do the same.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2002

    Tortured

    Good story, but hard, slow reading. Seemed like author wanted to show how many adjectives he could throw in and how flowery he could make the language. Do not recommend.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Dedicated to the proposition that all men are created evil

    The difficulty I had with this book is the absence of good guys. I've worked in the criminal justice system in some capacity since I graduated from law school over 30 years ago. I've seen my share of people making poor choices. Happily, not everyone I have dealt with has made poor choices. Some who have chosen poorly have sought to change, and rise above their choices.

    Not true of the characters here. Not only are they all flawed, they all succumb to their flaws. When work of fiction is more depressing that a difficult reality, it's time to put it down.

    Hoping someone would choose wisely, on I read. No one did. I regret finishing the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    To dawn

    I meant to ask if you couod advertise for someone to rp them. Im locked out of there. Blue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Dawn to below

    Wowowow. No. I protect your clan. Mabye ill join if i find interest in your clan; but here you sign up your clan so i can protect them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Satisfying sequel

    I loved "Presumed Innocent" (both the book and the film) and found the sequel to be a very satisfying follow-up to the original story. My mind's eye was able to place Harrison Ford and Brian Dennehy within the story, which made the book even richer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Great Disappointment

    I have been a huge fan of Scott Turow and read all of his books. I found this book to be very, very disappointing and doubt I will ever buy another of his books. So sad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Waste of money and time!

    I really, really wish I hadn't bought this book. I'm having such a tough time getting through it, way too wordy! I don't have to know in 500 words or more the background on every character and every room a character in this book enters. I'm not going to finish it, can't even keep me interested enough to care whether or not the main character succeeds in what he's supposed to do for his law firm. I've read other Scott Turow books and enjoyed them but this one is a failure!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2003

    a good one, but...

    the book is too verbose, as if the author wants his readers to know he is the master of english language. could have been a pleasant read if put in more simple terms.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1