BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Please Be with Me: A Song for My Father, Duane Allman

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    This book almost reads as excitingly as a train schedule. She wo

    This book almost reads as excitingly as a train schedule. She would have been better off dictating this to a professional writer.

    It's in chronological order, but your REALLY have to look for dates, hints about dates, or anything else. There's NO index. There are 3 sections listing in the contents of the book, but when you get into the pages, you find there are different "chapters." Those couldn't be listed???

    The last "chapter" of the book is merely loaded with acknowledgements.

    There's no personality to the book.....little in the way of descriptions to transport the reader into the scenes. It's mostly a recollection of memories from OTHER PEOPLE - which is fine, but it's written in a format of, "Then he went here...." "The next thing he did was...." Ugh! No color, no soul.

    If you have a low standard as a reader and are merely interested in anecdotal information about Duane Allman, I suppose this book is for you.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Being an Allman Brothers fan for so many years, it was great to get an insight into Duane's life , the legacy he left behind and the loving tribute Galadrielle has written.
    She writes with heart and passion in this considerable undertaking. I enjoyed it and have passed it on to my dear friends. It reminded me to pick up my guitar and play. (I also enjoyed Gregg's autobiography.)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Amazing read. Very well written

    I loved this book - I could not put it down. Galadrielle is so honest and lets us in to her thoughts and feeling about her father and his crazy but very happy life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A most excellent 5 star read... This is a book written straight

    A most excellent 5 star read...
    This is a book written straight from the heart by a daughter who never really knew her famous father. Galadrielle Allman was only 2 years old when her father was killed in a motorcycle accident, he was at the very young age of 24 in 1971.
    Howard Duane Allman, "Skydog" to those that knew him, was a guitar player and founder of one of the most famous bands of southern rockers the country has seen since... The Allman Brothers band.
    The Allman brothers band was the soundtrack of my youth as well as a generation of kids back in the 1970's. This is a heartbreaking yet, surprisingly uplifting and honest tribute to a man she loved yet, never really knew. The name dropping of huge rock and roll bands and legends they met, hung out or played with is mind boggling... Eric Clapton, Delanie and Bonnie, Blind faith, Derek and the Dominos, Jackson Browne, Traffic, Cream, Buffalo Springfield, Otis Redding, James Brown, Taj Mahal, Richie Havens, Jimi Hendrix, Donovan, the Beatles, Stephan Stills, King Curtis, Joe Cocker, The Beach Boys, Jim Morrison, leon Russell, Johnny Winter, Graham Parsons, Chet Atkins, Janis and Big Brother and the Holding Company, Paul Butterfield, Eric Burden, Boz Scaggs, Wilson Pickett, Country Joe and the Fish, Jefferson Airplane, Herbie Mann, Aretha Franklin, Ry Cooder, The Nitty Gritty Dirt band and on and on....
    Duane & his little brother Gregg were born in Tennesse to a spunky mother and a father who was a military man. They moved and played in and around the southern states where rock and roll and the blues were born. They were heavily influenced by all the great blues and jazz mucisions of the time, the men who set the standard for what would become rock and roll, That's how the brothers found the sound that would shake up the music industry by electrifying the blues and thanks to a little glass bottle of cold medicine, crazily enough, a sound was born.
    The brothers formed and played with many bands before they decided on the name Allman Brothers, they liked the way it included "All men" All men could enjoy it. Howard Duane Allman was a tall, lanky red headed, mutton chopped moody guy who, once he found the guitar, just wanted to play.
    Duane's favorite book was The Lord of The Rings and he named his daughter Galadrielle after the royal elf in the book. He was a dreamer and when you put a guitar in his hand he made magic just like in his favorite book. He had one true love and that was his guitar, much to the heartbreak of the people who would love him.
    One of the saddest lines I have read in a long time is "My father is killed in the first paragraph of every article ever written about him."
    I never knew much about the Allman brothers other than what I could gleen from the albums or magazine articles back in the day but, every song makes me want to dance and every song I know by heart. This book is a real and honest look at a couple of small town boys chasing the dream, falling in love with music and the wild life that could be had, the stories it coulld tell. The saying sex, drugs and rock and roll is very true in this story as well. There were lots of girls, bikers, booze and the drugs were ubiquitous.
    A memory of 2 year old Galadrielle's just after the death of her father is of her young mother handing her small diapered daughter off to her uncle Gregg with his long blond hair tucked behind an ear as he stepped up on stage to a huge crowd and said "this is my brothers little girl and he lives on through her" ... This is an incredible book by a daughter just looking for her dad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    What a moving story!,

    You have to read this if you ever
    Listened to the ABB or just Duane

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    I couldn't put this book down. I found the author's prose to be

    I couldn't put this book down. I found the author's prose to be articulate and heartfelt. She does a wonderful job of recreating a world that she was not part of, but is trying to understand. I knew little about Duane Allman's personal life and his musical experiences. She pulls it all together beautifully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    When I came to the last chapter (appropriately titled "Outr

    When I came to the last chapter (appropriately titled "Outro") I stopped and didn't come back and finish for a couple days. The reason was I didn't want the book to end. One sign of a good book is that it doesn't leave you at the last word. It stays with you for all of time. I have read a few other books like this, but they are few and far between. Galadrielle Allman's story of her search to know her father, arguably the world's finest guitar player, touches all the senses. I have always been a fan of The Allman Brothers, so familiarity was a friend while reading this book. What separates it from other books on the band is that it's from the view and journey of a daughter that never knew her dad. This book is so much more than music. I look forward to more from Galadrielle Allman. In some ways the feel of her spirituality in words brought me to sense a style slightly that of Anne Lamott. But in the end I think Galadrielle's writing will stand on it's own merit. This book was a wonderful gift from the universe. Gary Lorenz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    highly recommended !

    haven't read it yet.but it is in my stack to read,skimmed thru it. i think i will enjoy it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1