Customer Reviews for

Please Don't Tell

Average Rating 3.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This is a good mystery thriller and a guick read. As some reader

This is a good mystery thriller and a guick read. As some readers have said, the mystery can or will be figured out early, but how the story plays from there remains interesting to the end. I hoped that after the first gruesome murder at the beginning of the book we wou...
This is a good mystery thriller and a guick read. As some readers have said, the mystery can or will be figured out early, but how the story plays from there remains interesting to the end. I hoped that after the first gruesome murder at the beginning of the book we would not have to be "as close" to the rest, and fortunately, we didn't. Good characters, also a love story intertwined with the crimes. A bit of psychology re: the killer and his methods. 

posted by Atthebeach on July 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Poor

Was so disappointed in this book! No surprises, nothing like the author's previous books.....seems as if it was hastily written and very poorly done , at that!

posted by gwennypenny on July 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Poor

    Was so disappointed in this book! No surprises, nothing like the author's previous books.....seems as if it was hastily written and very poorly done , at that!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    This is by far one of the worst books I have ever read. It is p

    This is by far one of the worst books I have ever read. It is poorly written and the editing is incredibly sloppy, I think the average reader should feel insulted by the author's apparent belief that readers will accept this as a well written story. I want my money back. I am an avid reader and frequently give new authors a chance - sometimes I am disappointed, other times I am delightfully surprised and pleased to have discovered a new author to follow. Don't buy thhis book "Please Don't Tell", borrow it or lend it. It should be put out of its misery.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Excellent Summer Read

    Great thriller for those of us over 40! Bring to the Beach!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    This is a good mystery thriller and a guick read. As some reader

    This is a good mystery thriller and a guick read. As some readers have said, the mystery can or will be figured out early, but how the story plays from there remains interesting to the end. I hoped that after the first gruesome murder at the beginning of the book we would not have to be "as close" to the rest, and fortunately, we didn't. Good characters, also a love story intertwined with the crimes. A bit of psychology re: the killer and his methods. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    Eizabeth Adler is my favorite author. I've read all of her book

    Eizabeth Adler is my favorite author. I've read all of her books, although I must say that I prefer her earlier ones (Leonie, Peach, Legacy of Secrets, etc.) This is a thriller, and the characters are well-drawn, the plot is gripping and the romances interesting. However, I was really annoyed by thr errors that popped up continutally. For example, several times Fen Dexter was referred to as" Dixon." A character born in January was described as an Aries.
    There were a number of others, and I wonder -- don't they believe in proofreaders any more?
    In addition, I figured out who the murderer was very early. That said, I would recommend the book, and look forward to Ms. Adler's next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Recommend

    It was a pretty good book. I'd recommend this book to family and/or friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Good read

    Enjoyed reading.finished it in 2 days.hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    5 out of 7 five star reviews 7/10 & before were just texter

    5 out of 7 five star reviews 7/10 & before were just texters playing at sex - get off of the review pages & just go away. You all sound as if you are so immature and you think you know everything but don't know anything. Girls - get some pride and self respect about who you are and quit giving in to anyone. Guys, show a little respect and help girls understand that they don't have to give it all up to have you like them. Getting really tired of this Barnes and Noble. Please do something soon so readers don't get so discouraged that we quit supporting your review process.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Completely predictable, no surprise, and a pretty shallow story

    Completely predictable, no surprise, and a pretty shallow story line. It seemed rushed, and the there wasn't much mystery or thriller aspect. First book I've ready from this author, so far not looking for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    SOME WHAT TORN!!!! IF I WAS ASKED TO RECOMMEND A BOOK FOR READI

    SOME WHAT TORN!!!!

    IF I WAS ASKED TO RECOMMEND A BOOK FOR READING, THIS WOULD NOT BE IT.  WHEN I FIRST STARTED READING THIS BOOK, IT GRABBED ME AND SUCKED ME IN FROM THE FIRST FEW PAGES.  THEN ENTERS DR RALPH AND EVERYTHING WENT LEFT TO ME.  I WAS TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHAT SHIFTED AND WHY.  I NEVER COULD REALLY GET INTO THE DR RALPH CHARACTER FOR SOME REASON.  I CAN'T EXPLAIN IT BUT, TO ME, THAT IS WHEN THE BOOK STARTED GETTING BORING TO ME.  BUT AFTER INVESTING SO MUCH TIME AND ENERGY INTO THE BOOK, I HAD TO SEE IT TO THE END.  WAS I SHOCKED WITH THE ENDING, YES.  WAS I WONDERING HOW WE CAME TO THAT ENDING, YES.  AGAIN, SOMETHING WAS OFF TO ME WITH THIS BOOK.  WILL I GIVE THIS AUTHOR ANOTHER TRY, YES.  I WOULD NEVER SAY NOT TO READ A BOOK.  SO DO READ AND TELL US WHAT YOU THINK.  ENJOY.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Please Don't Tell - Gripping from the Beginning Title: Please D

    Please Don't Tell - Gripping from the Beginning

    Title: Please Don't Tell
    Author: Elizabeth Adler
    Narrator: Bernadette Dunne
    Length: Unabridged; 8.8 hours
    Publisher: Blackstone Audio
    Published: July 9, 2013
    Genres: Fiction; Mystery; Suspense









    My Rating: ¿¿¿¿




    Synopsis:
    Fen Dexter’s quiet life on the idyllic California coast is interrupted one stormy night when a blood-covered man shows up on her doorstep, claiming to have had a car accident. He tells her that he is on his way to San Francisco to help the police solve the murder of his fiancé. Unable to make it to the hospital because of the storm, he stays the night at Fen’s, and the attraction between them is obvious. The next morning he heads to the hospital where Fen’s niece, Vivi, is an ER doctor. Vivi is treating the most recent target of a serial killer whose signature move is to leave a note saying “Please Don’t Tell” taped across his victims’ mouths. When Fen’s mysterious stranger comes to Vivi to have his wounds stitched she agrees to set him up to talk with the police about his fiancé. Who is this man, really? What does he want with Fen and her family? And will they live long enough to uncover the truth? Told with Elizabeth Adler’s knack for terrific female characters and breathtaking twists, Please Don't Tell will keep you guessing, right up to the end.




    My Review:
    I listened to the audio version of this book and I really felt like it started out with a bang and held my interest instantly. I was just browsing the online library and the cover intrigued me, so I borrowed it and started it instantly, and loved it from the very beginning.




    The narrator did a wonderful job of reading this story and being able to keep me interested throughout the entire novel. She was great at distinguishing herself for each character and made it easy to follow along with who the story was about. She captured emotion and the story with great gusto! I wouldn't hesitate to search out more books read by this narrator just because she did such a wonderful job!




    This was my first novel by Elizabeth Adler, and I was very pleased in totality with this book, so I would not hesitate to pick up another Adler book in the future. The Title and the Cover were enough to pull anyone in, and I felt that she did a great job with character and story development. She also did a great job of not letting the romance overwhelm the mystery and suspense, which any mystery/suspense fan will love! 




    There were a great diverse set of characters, some that I couldn't help but love from our first meeting, and others that I couldn't stand from the first meeting, to a few that I had to learn to tolerate and grew to love by the end! You have Fin with all of her infinite wisdom, Vivi, the charismatic doctor, JC, the ever-so-dependent little sister, Alex, the intriguing intruder, Dr. Ralph, the older psychiatrist and colleague to Vivi, and Brad Merlin, the big, strapping detective. 




    The only thing that bugged me about the story, was the predictability of it. I had guessed very early on who the killer was, and knew with certainty, who the guilty party was a little over halfway through the book, with my predictions being right. However, even though I was able to predict WHO the killer was, I was surprised at the actions of the killer, as well as the reactions of the remainder of the characters. I do feel that this was a well written story, full of suspense, mystery and intrigue.




    That being said, I did enjoy listening to this story, thoroughly enjoyed the narration of the story, and will at some point seek out another Elizabeth Adler novel and most definitely will seek out other works read by Bernadette Dunne!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Bill

    Hey.Im interested.

    0 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1