Customer Reviews for

Please Kill Me: The Uncensored Oral History of Punk

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 10, 2014

    great book

    read it twice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    A tour of punk rock life

    Please Kill Me is a great read. It tells of the endeavors of the creators of punk rock and evokes all human emotions. It's a book that could be read over again and bring about new information and reactions every time. I highly recommend for lovers of punk and anyone beyond.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    Sex, Drugs, and Rock N' Roll

    The book Please Kill Me is a first hand look into the punk era. We get to sit down and have a one on one with people such as Lou Reed, Iggy Pop, Dee Dee Ramone, and Patti Smith who were some of the major idealists that made punk happen. They go through explaining the start of punk and how they were all outcasts and the weird group. Eventually, their abnormal behavior sparked a huge trend which swept through the whole teenage generation. They were into music and drugs and against authority. All about partying and having a good time, without working or even going to school. This book gets you upfront and center with how punk was going on all over the country, and even other parts of the world. I very much liked the way the authors gave it the impression that the reader was sitting right there as each individual told their stories and views as the punk scene was going around. Also, they didn¿t hold back. Every gruesome detail and all the foul language gave you ability to see everything exactly how the musicians and real punks saw it. They put you there with them at the parties and concerts. As far as themes or messages go, there really was none. Honesty was what the book was written on. To show how the people being interviewed lived in the late 70¿s and 80¿s. They didn¿t preach against or for drugs they didn¿t show their opinions about government, outside the anarchist characteristics a lot of punks had. They just told it how it was. I would very much recommend someone to read this book for a better understanding of what the teenagers went through in the punk era. It shows how depressing a life of playing music and partying could even be, while at the same time, how much of a blast it was. Also, it shows the lack of control teenagers really have over themselves, which could be good for most teenagers to learn from. I feel it would be impossible to pick one passage as a crux for this book. So many things were going on through those few years and so many things were constantly changing that you can¿t pick just one passage. You could pick one about the insane amount of drugs and drinking people would do and the extent they would go to just get high or get their hands on some drugs. You could also pick the first time people had seen The Doors and how groundbreaking they were. This book was full of important parts that effected the outcome of the punk era that even effects us today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2004

    the best book covering the true side of the punk movement

    i started reading this book just for fun in college, i wanted to learn a little bit of history on 'punk' so i picked up a copy in the school library and started reading it; soon i went out and bought my own copy that's how good it is. i remeber my teacher saw me reading it once in class and she told me to wite an essay on the book as a 'punishment' and to present it to the entire class, i did and everone was really astonished by the reality of it, it was really great, i had people afterwards telling me that they read the book themselves and that they enjoyed it. i passed the class thanks to that book, thats another reason why i liked it so much if you read it you will find yourself not able to put it down. well hopefully by reading this you can be inspired as i was and go out and get yourself a copy its worth it really!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2003

    this book is amazing

    im reading it right now and its one of the greatest most interesting books ive ever read. i have a hard time putting it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    the best book i have ever read

    the best, every true punk will enjoy this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2002

    The Best Punk Book Ever Written

    The title says enough. The most comprehensive book documenting the New York punk movement around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2002

    Please Kill Me

    It will make you cry, it will make you laugh, it will make you wish you were born earlier(if you didnt already live their.) It was told by the people who lived their. Dee Dee, Joey Ramone, Richard Hell, Sid Vicouis, ..ect. A great eddition to the growing population of punk books and a great add to you libary. A great overview of punk era with those who've been their.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2002

    wonderful book

    this book was amazing. i loved how it read. it skipped around a lot, which was so cool because you could always tell what everyone was doing at the same time and what everyone's views were about the same topic. this book is such an awesome fast pace novel, that i want to read it a million times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2001

    Read it if you want to...

    The authors cover all of the important aspects of punk culture from the 60s through the 80s with an amazing amount of details from the people who lived it. I was able to learn many new things about the culture and about myself from reading this book. The only negative thing I can say about it was that it was difficult to me to remember who all of the people were through the course of the book, but the cast of characters in the back helped a lot. This is a very intriguing book with many important facts that are crucial to fully understand this intricate cultural movement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2001

    From one punk to another

    Buy this book.... I can say only two things. I've lived only half the life that most of the people in this book have lived. And I've never done hard drugs and after reading this I'm glad I never got into them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2000

    Please KiLL Me

    This book was the best!! I loved it! It had great stores on all my favorite bands!! i LOve this book1 It tell u everything u ever wanted to know!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2000

    The best thing I ever got for christmas

    This book is addictive I got it for christmas and was done reading it in 3 or 4 days. It is the most reality based book I've ever read on punk. It tells you about how things were before they got commercialized and destroyed and afterwards. It fills you in on all the little secrets going around the new york punk scene and gives you different variations of popular rumours you've heard. Since the book is written in the form of interviews it makes it very easy to follow and more interesting. If you like punk know where your roots are and what they were about read please kill me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2000

    An Essential for those interested in the Birth of the Punk Movement

    This book dispels the myth that punk culture began in England, brings to light interesting information on lesser known bands, and is full of delightful tidbits if gossip straight from the horse's mouth. Compiled entirely of passages from actual interviews with artists, scenesters, groupies, etc., this book often contradicts itself and leaves final judgement to the reader. Overall, a fun and interesting book- I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2000

    Punk made easy

    This is a great book. the authors make it interesting by having people's accounts of what was happening, not just telling about it. this book is great for learning about the beginning of punk, it's punk made easy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1