Customer Reviews for

Please Look after Mom

Average Rating 4
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

This is an intriguing look at a Korean family

In an overly crowded Seoul subway station, Park So-nyo becomes separated from her husband rushing to make a train. A rural farmer who is totally lost in the big city Park vanishes.

Her spouse and adult children panic as mom's steady consistency is the magnet that ke...
In an overly crowded Seoul subway station, Park So-nyo becomes separated from her husband rushing to make a train. A rural farmer who is totally lost in the big city Park vanishes.

Her spouse and adult children panic as mom's steady consistency is the magnet that kept the family together. Each of Park's family feel guilt for taking her for granted as they all assume she will always be there. Her spouse who has never had a kind word for his rural wife realizes how much she means to him and how she ignored her desires to be there for him. Her daughter who thought her mom was an illiterate barbarian who could not read a book misses her as she fondly recalls how her mother encouraged her to read and be much more. Her son who treated her with disdain as he made demands of his mom wants to make amends for his treatment of her. Meanwhile mom wanders the city while recalling her family's embarrassment and disdain of her for being a throwback from a previous century.

This is an intriguing look at a Korean family who could be any ethnic group in which taking for granted a loved one until you lose what turns out to be most cherished is a common fault. The husband and two children were embarrassed by their mom until she vanishes; now they're worried and remorseful while mom reflects back on her loneliness due to her performing her motherhood duty. Filled with pathos and a strong underlying message to cherish those you love before it is too late, readers will relish this profound tale made even more poignant by the rotating viewpoint.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on March 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Powerful Message

I wanted to read this book to explore the inner workings of a Korean family. My surprise was that Ms Shin's deeply emotional story transcends culture and nationality and touches sons, daughters, wives and mothers universally. I felt myself experiencing the daughter's ...
I wanted to read this book to explore the inner workings of a Korean family. My surprise was that Ms Shin's deeply emotional story transcends culture and nationality and touches sons, daughters, wives and mothers universally. I felt myself experiencing the daughter's neglect and the mother 's love and sacrifice and I was deeply moved. Kudos to Ms Shin, she is very insiteful and expresses the human spirit in a powerful story. I recommend this read to all.

posted by Johanna197 on July 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an intriguing look at a Korean family

    In an overly crowded Seoul subway station, Park So-nyo becomes separated from her husband rushing to make a train. A rural farmer who is totally lost in the big city Park vanishes.

    Her spouse and adult children panic as mom's steady consistency is the magnet that kept the family together. Each of Park's family feel guilt for taking her for granted as they all assume she will always be there. Her spouse who has never had a kind word for his rural wife realizes how much she means to him and how she ignored her desires to be there for him. Her daughter who thought her mom was an illiterate barbarian who could not read a book misses her as she fondly recalls how her mother encouraged her to read and be much more. Her son who treated her with disdain as he made demands of his mom wants to make amends for his treatment of her. Meanwhile mom wanders the city while recalling her family's embarrassment and disdain of her for being a throwback from a previous century.

    This is an intriguing look at a Korean family who could be any ethnic group in which taking for granted a loved one until you lose what turns out to be most cherished is a common fault. The husband and two children were embarrassed by their mom until she vanishes; now they're worried and remorseful while mom reflects back on her loneliness due to her performing her motherhood duty. Filled with pathos and a strong underlying message to cherish those you love before it is too late, readers will relish this profound tale made even more poignant by the rotating viewpoint.

    Harriet Klausner

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    a worthwhile read

    beautiful story of how we often don't appreciate something until its gone !
    we can all learn from the story of this family's tragedy.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    Oh my...

    This story is so sad... I cried so much. It reminded me of my mother. People, you must read this story. This story will move you so much, you will actually bring back the past in front of you. Thank you so much, Korean author. Thank you.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An amazing read

    Please Look After Mom is an amazing read and one of the best books that I've read in a long time. While on the surface it is a story about an older South Korean woman, it is really a story about love, parenthood, sacrifice, and family. It's message is universal - read the book and share it with people that you love.

    ISBN-10: 9780307593917 - Hardcover
    Publisher: Knopf (April 5, 2011), 256 pages.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    Powerful and Poignant!

    Grippping from the beginning. A 'must read' for all genders.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    It is awesome masterpiece!

    really great story I could recommend without hesitation.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Wonderful!

    This is a beautiful, very well written story about family and especially a mother's love and sacrifice. It kept me interested right up to the tearjerking end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Wonderful

    I like this book. This book was so sad and made me about my parents.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Perfectly Beautiful

    When I started this book I wasn't sure if it was something that would hold my interest. However, I continued reading and soon became enthralled with the story of this very special woman. Too often I finish a book and immediately forget plot lines and characters. This does not hold true for Please Look After Mother. I am still haunted by the beauty of the writing and the strength of it's main character. Her love of family is true and deep and I grew to love this cantankerous, determined lady. The translation may make a few sentences awkward, but don't let that put you off. This book is very special and will stay with you for a long time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Highly recommended... a fascinating book.

    I really enjoyed this book. It made me tear at some points and really take a good look at my relationship with my mother. This is an amazing book that really draws you in from the first page. Highly recommended!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Powerful Message

    I wanted to read this book to explore the inner workings of a Korean family. My surprise was that Ms Shin's deeply emotional story transcends culture and nationality and touches sons, daughters, wives and mothers universally. I felt myself experiencing the daughter's neglect and the mother 's love and sacrifice and I was deeply moved. Kudos to Ms Shin, she is very insiteful and expresses the human spirit in a powerful story. I recommend this read to all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Love it

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Uplifting, Heartbreaking

    This novel is magic. The author writes with the beauty and clarity of spring water. She brings every image crisply to mind, and brings out the truth in every character's heart. I wanted to go and live in Mom's world for a while, to harvest, prepare, and preserve food as her author does images and emotions. What a gift!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I just couldn't get into it, but heard great things.

    I tried to read this book, but I just couldn't immerse myself. I'm disappointed because while I was in South Korea, there was a lot of talk about the book and author. There wasn't any one thing that detracted me, but I just couldn't get into the book and want to read it. It was more of a chore and not enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    I enjoyed this book very much and appreciated the writing style

    I enjoyed this book very much and appreciated the writing style and a look a life in Korea.  Having lived in Japan I had even more of an interest.  but, I waited through the book to get the answer as to where Mom went/.  At the end death was assumed, but would have liked more answers as to what happened to her. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I think adults would understand the writing of this author.Very good story about relationship of children and Mother. I would read another book by this author and very good book for discussion in book club.Good insight into korean way way of life and I enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    The Giving Tree Meets The Good Earth

    The unique point of view makes this book. My heart breaks even more for Mom's quietly frantic, guilty, and repentant family as much as it does for Mom, who actually lived a meaningful, authentic, and even joyous life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Heylo..

    Heylo..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Sex to girls

    Sex

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Jon

    Im not i just love you

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5