Customer Reviews for

Please Please Please

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Refreshing break from the norm!

This was a great read! What I loved the most was how real Babysister was, and by real I mean a truly flawed, normal, dumb woman. There was no sugarcoating in this story line. The women weren't all beautiful with hair down their backs and money in the bank. It sounds lik...
This was a great read! What I loved the most was how real Babysister was, and by real I mean a truly flawed, normal, dumb woman. There was no sugarcoating in this story line. The women weren't all beautiful with hair down their backs and money in the bank. It sounds like something I would have heard from my friends at work. The only down fall is the flashbacks to the past. While some were helpful in understanding Babysister, others were not needed and slowed down the story, but not enoug to make you want to stop reading. I can't wait to suggest this book to my book club, the discussion about trifling Babysister will be crazy!!!! Can wait to read the next book!!!

posted by VinsonJenkins on November 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bad

This book had a very very very slow start. I am use to reading books that from the first word grabbing my atttention, i didn't even get past the 3rd chapter. If you have patience and a beg. reader then you might like this book if you can push through the first couple of...
This book had a very very very slow start. I am use to reading books that from the first word grabbing my atttention, i didn't even get past the 3rd chapter. If you have patience and a beg. reader then you might like this book if you can push through the first couple of boring chapters.

posted by Anonymous on August 18, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    To Help

    Recess? What grade are you in? Fifth? Wait a frw years sweetheart. It's not worth it at that age. Take it from someone with experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2004

    This book came to life while I read!

    This book was so based on real, everyday situations, which is why it was so hard to put down! I think Renee Swindle did a excellent job on this book, which is why I also recommend friends/others to read this book if your interested in reading about surreal life issues such as: gossip, he-say,she-say, love, hatred, antimosity, relationships, attitude, and rumors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2003

    THIS BOOK WAS OFF THE HOOK

    THIS IS ALSO A MUST READ, I READ THIS IN ONE DAY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2001

    Page Turner

    Very good read.Definitly a page turner.Renee had her characters so life like.Babysister had you wanting to tell her to wake up there is more to life than just a man.Why risk everything for nothing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2001

    Breaking out of the bubble!

    I truly enjoyed reading Renee Swindle's work. Someone recommended it to me after reading Carl Weber's Looking for Luv (another great book about Black men and their adventures looking for love)... Babysister (the name already tells you that she is not just spoiled, but also a spoiled BRAT) is a character that you love to hate. She knows what she's doing is wrong, but ever since she was four years old, everyone gave her whatever she wanted... and if it wasn't given freely, it was given out of guilt. This is how Babysister grew up in a bubble... she was always protected by somebody... her father, her best friend, her brother (although jealous, he still protects her)... There had to come a day that the bubble was going to burst... and I'm glad it did!!! This book is more than just a story about cheating on your best friend... it's about growing up.... and you truly watch Babysister grow up..... Wish I could have read a little more about Darren's fate... but then again... that could be Renee's next book!!!! *wink*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2001

    Good, Edgy, Surreal and Redeeming

    Renee Swindle's Please Please Please was a delightful read and redeeming. I would pass this book onto others for the lessons it reveals to you. Like, honesty, love, trust, compassion and redemption. I laughed, cried and fussed as Babysister went along with her life as though no one else's feelings matter. She didn't even care who she hurt as long as she got what she wanted. I cheered when this lesson was revealed to her. She had the love and support of family and friends but, that wasn't enough and besides when you don't have self-love there's an emptiness that no one can fill. She had to learn that and I was grateful she had Lisette to tell her that constantly. Babysister thought Darren could fill that void in her life and almost loss her bestfriend Deborah because of it. As you read you see Babysister's growth and ahh ha moments. Renee needs to write a part II to this book because, it left questions for so many readers, including me. I look forward to a possible sequel and wish Renee the best with her second novel and writing career.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2001

    IT WAS GOOD ENOUGH

    The book was ok i can't give it 5 stars because I've read better but it's a good book to keeps you reading. I recommend it to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2001

    Watch out for Babysister!

    I picked up this book blindly; however I was not disapointed... Babysister makes you happy and sad as you accompany her on her journey to follow her heart!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2000

    Please, Please, Please write another one...

    This book was great. I couldn't put it down. The characters were so real and not boring by far. The feeling was there as well. I was feeling love and hate for the right people at the right time. The conclusion up was great also. Swindle didn't leave you hanging about any of the characters in the end. Ms. Swindle did an exellent job with this book. She put her heart into it and I can't wait until the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2000

    OUTSTANDING

    This book is a must read. It make you think about telling your friends all of your business. I loved every thing about this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 1999

    Simply Awesome!

    When I read an excerpt of the book I knew it was a must read. It was as if I knew all the characters myself and I could barely put the book down. Ms Swindle, you did a great job on your first novel and 'please,please,please,' don't make me wait to long for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1