Customer Reviews for

Pleasing the Pirate

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed ¿Pleasing the Pirate¿ very much. Her stories are differ

Enjoyed “Pleasing the Pirate” very much. Her stories are different with good characterization. I had read “Loving the Earl” and plan on reading “The Notorious Lady Anne” (even if I’m reading them backward they are still good. Look forward to more of her books in the ...
Enjoyed “Pleasing the Pirate” very much. Her stories are different with good characterization. I had read “Loving the Earl” and plan on reading “The Notorious Lady Anne” (even if I’m reading them backward they are still good. Look forward to more of her books in the future.

posted by booklover10CM on March 23, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Writing ruined with vulgar language

This author's stories are exciting, witty page-turners, bringing the reader close to the emotions and nature of the characters. I wish she would skip the lude, debased language and stick to intelligently conveying the transformation of the heroes as they fall in love. ...
This author's stories are exciting, witty page-turners, bringing the reader close to the emotions and nature of the characters. I wish she would skip the lude, debased language and stick to intelligently conveying the transformation of the heroes as they fall in love. It reduces the quality of the work to something less appealing when vulgar descriptions are used. I am interested to know whether it is the author, the editor, the publisher or all three who decide to add this content to a story that easily could stand alone without the smut. It robs the reader of reading a worthy romance by reducing it to rubbish.

posted by 10689387 on May 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed ¿Pleasing the Pirate¿ very much. Her stories are differ

    Enjoyed “Pleasing the Pirate” very much. Her stories are different with good characterization. I had read “Loving the Earl” and plan on reading “The Notorious Lady Anne” (even if I’m reading them backward they are still good. Look forward to more of her books in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    PLEASING THE PIRATE by Sharon Cullan is a fast paced, adventure

    PLEASING THE PIRATE by Sharon Cullan is a fast paced, adventure filled Regency Historical Romance. What happens when you cross a Scottish lass with a dangerous,ruthless pirate? Passion,danger and love of course!!

    Meet, Scottish lass, Mairi McFadden,whose brother is a traitor to the Crown and English pirate Phin Lockwood, the pirate who either has to bring in the traitor or forfeit his life to the crown. Which means he will be hanged in the traitor’s place. But Mairi, knows nothing of her brother’s disgrace or traitorous behavior and is determined to get him back to her beloved Scotland to save her clan. Meantime, Phin, has to find, and deliver the traitor or hang himself.

    Will Phin, chose his life over Mairi’s love for her brother? Will Mairi chose her love for her brother over the powerful attraction she feels for the ruthless pirate, Phin? Love is a powerful thing along with passion. Powerful questions and decisions to be made!!

    Together, the two embark on a journey of trust, love, romance, danger, passion and justice. Will Mairi give up her beloved brother for the love of her life, an English pirate, Phin? You see Mairi’s brother is not what she remembers him to be as a young lass. He has forever changed. You must pick up “Pleasing the Pirate”, for it is a fast paced, adventure filled romance filled with passion, engaging characters and a storyline that will capture the reader throughout. Well done, I loved it! Received for an honest review from the publisher and Net Galley.

    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: HOT

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Courtsey of My Book Addiction and More

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A tough Scottish lass banishes her pistol at the Pirate of sexin

    A tough Scottish lass banishes her pistol at the Pirate of sexiness to get him to help her find her brother, but he wins her body instead!

    Phin Lockwood is the happiest at sea as a pirate, but he jumped the wrong ship on the way back to England. How he suppose to know the ship belong to an all powerful Duke's cousin! He was under arrest, put in a smelly cell & not fed for over a week, he thinks. Now he being dragged out for parts unknown & the next thing he knows he is face to face with King George & his spy buddies Sebastian & Sir Colin. Phin gets a "Hail Mary" from friends Sebastian & Sir Colin, but he must find the traitor, Gavin McFadden, & bring him to the King. If he does this than his neck will not have to swing at the end of the King's rope. Simple to do right, but Phin will have to use Gavin's sister to do it.

    Mairi McFadden has held together her clan full of homeless women & children, but she needs her brother, Gavin, to come back from England & be the Clan Chef they need. All the other men are dead from the uprising of 1745 (like her da) or left to find paying work. The smelly neighbor, Edmond, wants her clan's land & her in his bed for heirs, but she makes 1 last ditch attempt to get Gavin back & that means bargaining with a dastardly pirate. So she hides in the crowd of prostitutes, boards his ship, hides out until morning & awaiting this pirate in his cabin with her trusty pistol.

    When Phin & Mairi met face to pistol, she has to pick up her mouth because his is super yummy & Phin can't believe his luck at finding his wee prey so quickly. She offers him £50 & her family gems if he will help her find her brother, but he says that isn't enough money. What's a girl to do when she has nothing but herself? She bites the bullet & offers herself & he is no fool & agrees, but doesn't plan to collect. They begin their search by sailing to England (as Mairi puked everywhere, including his favorite pair of boots) & arriving in smelly, dirty, loud & no sun thru the black haze London. Phin takes her to a nasty Inn to get Gavin's attention, but when he brother does show up, he isn't the man she remembers, tells her to go home & flees out the window. Soon a lot of Phin's spy buddies, Sebastian, Gabrielle, Emmaline, Nicolas & Claire come involved to help parade her about London Society to draw Gavin out.

    As Mairi gets to know his friends she starts to think that maybe not all English are cruel, but just like Scots, some are good & some are bad. Mairi craves Phin, but fights against the electricity building inside her. Phin wants to escape inside her body & never come up for air, but it will cost him his own neck. With all the lies, Phin's hard & sinful kisses hard up against wall, intrigue, a fancy opera, Gavin's baddies, changing beliefs on both sides, the loving help of Phin's spy friends, some sexy & hot pirate moves, unexpected Kingly help & many nights of tangles sheets, legs & arms to either begin these 2 together forever or watch Phin hang. Can Mairi sacrifice Gavin to save her pirate? Will Phin hang up his cutlass for his woman & her bootie? Will King George leave Phin's neck intact?

    This is the 3rd Sharon Cullen book that I have read & again she took me out of my comfort book zone with a story in the 1700s. I was 100% invested after the 2nd page & I was shivering with poor Phin in that stinky & cold prison. I loved Phin since I read The Notorious Lady Anne & the deep friendship between him & Emmaline. As I read this tale, I fell in love with him more because what he thought were his weakness were actually what made him the hero. Mairi was a woman who was worn out to the bone from all the hate & war that destroyed her world. She desperately needed some help from her brother & I love had she had to put on her BIG GIRL PANTS on & go get that help herself. Ms. Cullen brought some other characters from the other romances, like Emmaline, Nicolas, Claire & Sebastian & they did have a great part in this storyline with all their spying talents & sailing the high sea again. I look on Ms. Cullen's website & saw that Sebastian & mysterious spy/wife Gabrielle have their own story coming out in 2015 & she totally made me crave their story, too. All romances need some heated sexiness & Ms. Cullen doesn't disappoint, but she builds up the heat slowly & then HELLO explosion! I enjoyed this romance read with all the hard choices that Phin & Mairi had to make & how they learned to lean on 1 another thru the good & bad times. I must give Ms. Cullen a score of 4 fingers up & 8 toes for this spicy spies galore read.

    NetGalley ARC given for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Good read.

    This is my first book by Sharon Cullen. It is over 600 pages. The book is intriguing and filled with suspense. The male and female are brave. I feel that Grant was justified in the side he chose. After the events that ocurred, i think the king should have made the male at least an Earl! The romance will not disappoint! I would have liked a more personal detailed epilogue on the lead male and female.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Good

    Really enjoyed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Love it

    You will to and I have yet another writer to add to my list of great writers. And once you read it I am sure you will give it the review it deseve. Ms. D from Bromx NY

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Set after the Jacobite Rebellion of 1745 and during the reign of

    Set after the Jacobite Rebellion of 1745 and during the reign of George II, this mid 18th century story combines pirates, family loyalty, prison breaks, possible commutations, duplicity and an undeniable attraction in a fast-paced and well-crafted story, redolent with historical references, details and clever characters. 




    Mairi McFadden is the sister of a wanted man, Grant, deemed a traitor for the Scots side after the massacre at Culloden.  Her clan and lands are struggling without his presence, and she is desperate to locate him and bring him home to solve the issues.  




    Phineas Lockwood is a privateer – one of the many men who danced the fine line between piracy and legitimate shipping, an attack on the wrong vessel resulted in his condemnation to death.  When the King presents an offer: find and return the traitorous Scot, Grant McFadden to the crown, Phin and his crew will be allowed to continue their exploits, and Phin shall keep his life.  He accepts the bargain, and heads to find McFadden.




    Mairi, understanding that Phin is seeking her brother, takes the chance to stowaway on the ship. When discovered, she convinces Phin that she will be helpful in the search, yet she doesn’t understand that her brother will not be returning to their lands.  Throughout the story Cullen plays on the emotions and attraction between Phin and Mairi: there is a certain chivalrous streak that is deeply ingrained, yet the attraction to Mairi is undeniable.  For her part, even though Mairi is no Sassenach, she has the ability common to many of the higher-born women of her day, to manipulate and adjust her reactions and deportment to be pleasing for the English she mistrusts.  




    There are quick appearances from couples in Cullen’s other stories, and the interplay between the blossoming couple of Mairi and Phin  and more settled couples is interesting to see: although the secret that Phin holds about the reasons for his search is a huge one, and his reticence to share with Mairi kept me wondering just what would happen.  




    One of those stories that has more reasons the couple cannot make a happy ending together, and yet they are so well matched and paired: Mairi is smart, determined, stubborn and loyal, all qualities Phin both exhibits and admires.  Early on, Phin is more flexible in his loyalties, which sounds cold, but his fear for his own head are paramount and his intention to use Mairi to gain his own desires is slowly depleting, as he starts to realize that he cannot deny his love for her any longer. 




    I really do enjoy Cullen’s writing and her manipulation of the characters as she drags them, or they drag her to a happy ending.  What seemed an impossible situation and connection was given options and opportunities, all taken with best intention, which changed the perceived destiny of the character’s pairing.  Keeping close to, but taking some license with, historical accurate details, the scenes and settings feel honest and are easy to visualize, while the conventions of the time and the curious sense of chivalry juxtaposed with the more conventional thoughts of pirates will have readers redefining their pirate heroes as they cheer for the connection and happy ending for this pair. 




    I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1