Customer Reviews for

Pleasing the Pirate

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed ¿Pleasing the Pirate¿ very much. Her stories are differ

Enjoyed “Pleasing the Pirate” very much. Her stories are different with good characterization. I had read “Loving the Earl” and plan on reading “The Notorious Lady Anne” (even if I’m reading them backward they are still good. Look forward to more of her books in the ...
Enjoyed “Pleasing the Pirate” very much. Her stories are different with good characterization. I had read “Loving the Earl” and plan on reading “The Notorious Lady Anne” (even if I’m reading them backward they are still good. Look forward to more of her books in the future.

posted by booklover10CM on March 23, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Writing ruined with vulgar language

This author's stories are exciting, witty page-turners, bringing the reader close to the emotions and nature of the characters. I wish she would skip the lude, debased language and stick to intelligently conveying the transformation of the heroes as they fall in love. ...
This author's stories are exciting, witty page-turners, bringing the reader close to the emotions and nature of the characters. I wish she would skip the lude, debased language and stick to intelligently conveying the transformation of the heroes as they fall in love. It reduces the quality of the work to something less appealing when vulgar descriptions are used. I am interested to know whether it is the author, the editor, the publisher or all three who decide to add this content to a story that easily could stand alone without the smut. It robs the reader of reading a worthy romance by reducing it to rubbish.

posted by 10689387 on May 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    This is book three in the series. Mairi McFadden is desperate t

    This is book three in the series.

    Mairi McFadden is desperate to find her brother to save her clan from starvation. She received a letter from him saying that he was in prison in London. With the aid of a clansman, Mairi finds her way to Phin Lockwood's ship to ask him for help.

    Phin Lockwood has been given a reprieve from hanging. If he brings in a traitorous Scot, he will be granted his life. The Home Office arranges for Mairi, the traitor's sister, to be lead to him. He plans to use her as bait to draw her brother out.

    Mairi is excited when Phin agrees to help her find her brother, but is startled to learn that he has escaped captivity and is considered a traitor to the English crown. 

    Mairi soon learns that Phin is using her to capture her brother but doesn't know that he is doing it to save his own life. As the two of them spend more and more time together, they can't fight the attraction between them. Can Mairi find happiness with the man that is trying to imprison her brother?

    I have been a fan of Sharon Cullen's work since I read The Notorious Lady Anne. This is also where I was introduced to Phin and I have eagerly awaited his story. 

    Mairi is the perfect woman for Phin. He spent years with "Lady Anne" and would need a strong woman to catch his eye. Mairi stuck by her brother's side, even when she knew what he was doing was wrong because she valued her family and all that it meant. Knowing what he would have done and did for his sister, Phin can understand this type of devotion and admire it.

    I loved seeing the H/H from Cullen's other two novels and hope that there will be more books in the series to be published.

    Thanks go to NetGalley and Random House Publishing for a copy of the book in exchange of an honest review.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Confused?

    Did I miss a book......Sebastian is married to Gabrielle? I searched all her books and nothing comes up...please let me know
    if I missed one....I am very much enjoying this series

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet, thrilling, and full of secrets and betrayals, Pleasing th

    Sweet, thrilling, and full of secrets and betrayals, Pleasing the Pirate was a wonderful historical romance. I really liked this book. From the characters, to the surprises along the way, this book was lovely.

    Mairi was a strong heroine. She was very loyal to her clan and would do anything to take care of them. Even bargain with a pirate so that she could find her brother and bring him back to care for his clan. I really liked her. I thought she was a lovely character.

    Phin was wonderful. He was very protective over his loved ones and clever enough to be a formidable opponent. He was very sweet and I totally adored him.

    The romance was lovely. Mairi and Phin were great together. They had met their match in each other and I thought it was sweet how they were both willing to sacrifice for each other. And the attraction between them was sizzling from the moment they met. I thought they were a perfect couple.

    The plot was fast paced and I was hooked the entire way through. There were a few surprises and one shocker of a betrayal that had me on the edge of my seat. Not to mention the constant anxiety over Phin needing to either find Mairi's brother or forfeit his life. I really enjoyed the story and I thought the ending was perfect.

    Pleasing the Pirate was a fantastic historical romance. I really liked this book. From the romance, to the secrets, this book was amazing. Romance lovers, this is a book worth reading.

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    *** I was provided an ARC from NetGalley for an honest review***

    *** I was provided an ARC from NetGalley for an honest review***

    I'm not sure there are words enough to describe how much I love this book. I read the previous one, Loving the Earl, and couldn't wait
    to read this one. It was NOT a disappointment. Once again Sharon Cullen has written an amazing book that is not only romantic and
    hot but is also accurate! That makes all the difference in the world to me and it makes the book so good it blows my mind. I am so
    thrilled with this story. I love the intrigue, will he find Grant in time or will he not. Will Mairi help him, will she not. There is so very much
    to this book and it had me completely engrossed from start to finish. The descriptions of the areas and the time period are spot on and
    so vivid you could almost taste the smoke in the air of London. This book fits in multiple genre's, it's historical, romance, suspense all
    rolled up into one amazingly wonderful book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    PLEASING THE PIRATE

    Pirates a hoo! ! ! ! This is an exceptional read. Fast paced romance, spy, adventure. Not really much sea action. Read it in one long night/morning. It's a book that you just can not put down. It just pulls you in and you have to go with the flow. Thank you Sharon Cullen for writing such an excellent story...keep those pirate stories coming....Buy this great story, sit back and enjoy this 230+ page book..D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Loved it

    232 pages that kept you from page 1 to page 232. Fast paced action romance. I will read more by this writer & will read this book again at a later date. GJRA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Wow great read

    Recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Excellent

    The last and best of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    highly recommended

    good story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1