Customer Reviews for

Pleasure

Average Rating 4
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Unexpected Erotica

EJD is so talented. So many writers can get pigeon holed into one style of writing or plot, but EJD although he has a signature style, has so many layers, so well traveled and so demonstrative. I thought Pleasures was unlike any other EJD books. It stands on it's own....
EJD is so talented. So many writers can get pigeon holed into one style of writing or plot, but EJD although he has a signature style, has so many layers, so well traveled and so demonstrative. I thought Pleasures was unlike any other EJD books. It stands on it's own. It is NOT a repeat or a continuation. I liked that EJD stepped out of his comfort zone and wrote something uninhibited and powerfully sexy! Pleasures kept me interested, entertained, and aroused. This book is for open-minded readers that enjoy the intrigue and exploration of female sensuality. Caution this book is for the Grown and Sexy, not for the cold and stiff.

posted by Sunny_Dawn on November 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I expected more from Eric Jerome Dickey

I am an avid reader of Eric Jerome Dickey, and I expected alot more from this book. Yes, it is written in traditional 'Dickey' style with his occassional peppering of literary terminology and geographical references but in terms of the plot, the book is weak. It is fil...
I am an avid reader of Eric Jerome Dickey, and I expected alot more from this book. Yes, it is written in traditional 'Dickey' style with his occassional peppering of literary terminology and geographical references but in terms of the plot, the book is weak. It is filled with gratuitous sex, and shallow mannerisms that made me gag. I am on page 250, and I am finding this book difficult to complete, unlike the other 7 EJD books I have read. I think that EJD wrote the main character, who is female, in the voice of a male, and I think he was too subjective in forming this book. I still love EJD as a writer, but I definitely think he dropped the proverbial ball with this one.

posted by Anonymous on July 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    2 1/2 stars. I SO wanted to love this book. Erotica, from a mal

    2 1/2 stars. I SO wanted to love this book. Erotica, from a male author? Thought it would be an interesting POV, but then he goes and writes it from the POV of a female character.

    Okay, fine. Still on board. Surprisingly, he gets most (if not all) of the sensations right. A set of identical twins, or as the character dubs them, identical sins. Hot menage sex, hot F/F sex, more hot menage sex. There was also the interesting look at black life in Atlanta among the people who've emigrated from the Caribbean: the protagonist, Nia Simone, and her mother are from Trinidad, and they still have a house there; the twins are from Barbados; one twin's wife has an islands connection.

    I read this on my Kindle, and there were some crazy formatting issues. Maybe it's better on the Nook, I dunno. The word "pleasure," used repeatedly, yet (almost) always spelled out as plea sure. Was it deliberate or a formatting goof? Other words oddly split were im port ant, Ca rib bean, and a couple others, so I am thinking it was a formatting accident, not an author affectation, but every time I hit one (every screen or three) it stopped me dead in my tracks. Kind of like it bugged Nia to have her ex keep texting her with "your always on my mind" messages.

    There were repetition of phrases, like "identical sins" that were striking the first time, a nice callback the second time, still somewhat cute the third time, but with continued use, simply annoying. I hope I never see a reference to a woman's "chocolate star" again. I did like the tie-in to Anais Nin, another sensualist on a journey of discovery, but while I have always been able to relate to Anais, I could not relate to Nia.

    It was MUCH too long (476 pages). There really wasn't a plot, or any sense that Nia, the main character, learned, changed, or grew during the course of it. She just had lots of (unsafe) sex with men (and women) who were emotionally and/or legally unavailable to be with her, not that she seemed to want a permanent partner anyway. The complication of Mark's wife Jewell, a television personality, seemed unnecessary, and what really ticked me off is there is a scene near the end, where the reader is led to believe it involves one brother, but actually involves the other, so there's a ta-da! moment. In rereading it, it is clearly contrived; somebody's "calling out his name," so Nia, the narrator, knows who it is, but it's withheld from the reader. There's a fine line to play that kind of trick on the reader/viewer and have it still be satisfying, a la The Sixth Sense; in this case, I just felt PLAYED.

    I will read more of this author's work in the future. Based on the other reviews I have read from his fans who were deeply disappointed in this offering; he has done much better than this. It's worth a look to see how male writers imagine sex from a female POV, but if you're looking for something deep as well as sexy, this ain't it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    Whomp! Whomp! Whomp! :(

    I was anticpating crazy lust-filled thoughts! I wanted to not be able to focus for a week because this book was so good, but I was able to focus on my normal life. This was a dissapointment. I've read pretty mech all of EJD's books, he is a very good story teller and has a unique way of writing & perspective. His books are like a roller coaster sometimes they are wonderful then there are those times when its like "huh". EJD is still a good author, you just should not get your hopes up for this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    An average read

    This was the first book that I read from Eric Jerome Dickey. It was not what I expected. It was more of a Zane style of writing. I have heard that his writing stlye is a lot different than what I have read from Pleasure. I have another book that he has written but have not read. I'm looking forward to the other side of Eric Jerome Dickey.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    It was OK...

    It was okay to read. It's not my cup of tea but interesting to read about someone else's wants and desires. Other reviews stated Nia was brave to explore her sexual desires. I say Nia was gender confused. She sabotage her own happiness with the choices she made. I wish it had a better ending, but I guess that's life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Enh

    This book left me conflicted. It got to the point where I stopped enjoying reading this book, but continued reading it and was glad to be finished with it. I did like the uniqueness of the main character, Nia. I also liked how the author, a man, could write so vividly an erotic story from a woman's perspective. While I'm all for sexual freedom and exploration, the weird plot twist just didn't work for me and seemed too far fetched. It seemed to come out of nowhere, but exposed the hypocrisy of Nia, Jewel, Mark and Karl. Although this book left a funny taste in my mouth, I will read the other installments about Nia to get more insight into how she became the woman she is in Pleasure. Hopefully the other installments don't disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Too Wordy

    Don't get me wrong, I'm a huge fan of EJD. But this book was entirely too wordy as if to take up space. I found myself skimming through most of it towards the end because it started to become quite repitive. The book was ok nonetheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A decent book by EJD

    I have to admit, if you're into porn, this my be it's literary equivalent targeting women though, not men. That being said, everyone likes a little porn now and then! Lol. I guess EJD's objective was to write a story that defied the social judgements of permiscuous women in society, and sought to create a character that celebrated her sexual freedom to explore new things. But despite trying to portray her as this classy girl who was simply exploring her sexual side, she came off a bit whorish to me, and I believe her character struggled with that self image herself. She kept telling the reader that she wasn't. Which, to me, achieved the opposite goal. There were some scenes that I was so confused as to the realistic nature of switching from such extreme emotions of anger and betrayal to sexual acts with practical strangers. Don't quite know how realistic some of this would even be. That being said, EJD's writing was in classic form.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    Super Sexy

    I've read ALL EJD's books. Honestly, they all have that sexy flavor of putting you there with the characters and feeling their heat. They allow you to fantasize within the pages. The story-lines are realistic and contain scenes that you can, or wish to, relate to. I wasn't too crazy for the Gideon series but LOVE every other title he's put out. He writes with such passion and detail that you don't want to put the book down. I'm almost sad when I get to the end because I want more!!!! Please keep it coming Eric!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    Is this ZANE or EJD???

    I am so shocked at how this book was so unrealistic. I love EJD, but I felt like i was reading a Zane novel. Ejd is an awesome writter, he did not use his full potential. I am a Trinidadian like Nia Simone and i found her very unbelievable, even other trinidadians that i know didnt connect with this character

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1