Customer Reviews for

Pleasure

Average Rating 4
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Unexpected Erotica

EJD is so talented. So many writers can get pigeon holed into one style of writing or plot, but EJD although he has a signature style, has so many layers, so well traveled and so demonstrative. I thought Pleasures was unlike any other EJD books. It stands on it's own....
EJD is so talented. So many writers can get pigeon holed into one style of writing or plot, but EJD although he has a signature style, has so many layers, so well traveled and so demonstrative. I thought Pleasures was unlike any other EJD books. It stands on it's own. It is NOT a repeat or a continuation. I liked that EJD stepped out of his comfort zone and wrote something uninhibited and powerfully sexy! Pleasures kept me interested, entertained, and aroused. This book is for open-minded readers that enjoy the intrigue and exploration of female sensuality. Caution this book is for the Grown and Sexy, not for the cold and stiff.

posted by Sunny_Dawn on November 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I expected more from Eric Jerome Dickey

I am an avid reader of Eric Jerome Dickey, and I expected alot more from this book. Yes, it is written in traditional 'Dickey' style with his occassional peppering of literary terminology and geographical references but in terms of the plot, the book is weak. It is fil...
I am an avid reader of Eric Jerome Dickey, and I expected alot more from this book. Yes, it is written in traditional 'Dickey' style with his occassional peppering of literary terminology and geographical references but in terms of the plot, the book is weak. It is filled with gratuitous sex, and shallow mannerisms that made me gag. I am on page 250, and I am finding this book difficult to complete, unlike the other 7 EJD books I have read. I think that EJD wrote the main character, who is female, in the voice of a male, and I think he was too subjective in forming this book. I still love EJD as a writer, but I definitely think he dropped the proverbial ball with this one.

posted by Anonymous on July 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    Pleasure is a Erotica

    This book will have you walking around feeling funny inside, the details are so explict. It's as if I were a fly on the wall, Pleasure is an sexy and seductive novel that most women only fantasize about. It's full of sex and romance in such an taboo way. Pleasure also has a twist at the end that will through you for a loop, if your like me you'll have to reread it just to make sure your read what you just thought you read. The book end okay kinda left me wondering....I would recommend you purchase this book if your into sexy, romantic taboo's with some DRAMA!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    HOT HOT HOT

    If you are reading this one, make sure you have a man (or a woman if you are a man) close by. After you put this one down, you make be ready for a little nookie nookie. Lol! A really good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Hot hot hot

    Being a huge fan of Eric I was taken back by this lusty novel, but enthralled by the passion. The characters were sexy. I wished I had a Mark and Karl for my dream. Can't wait to read the next adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    A Good Read!

    I enjoyed this book very much. It was a quick easy read. I definitely identified with Nia on many levels. I

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Very Spicy! I like the twists and turns and the excitement.

    Very Spicy! I like the twists and turns and the excitement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    great read

    I really enjoyed this book - it was a great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    Nicole from the Lou

    The most sensual and sexual from Dickey. He completely went all in and I couldn' t get enough. This page turner had me wanting more and more of either Karl or Mark. Their entanglement was more mind blowing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Pleasure has done it agian 1 more time!

    I've read that book a 1,000 times & it is so good. When I take a good look at the characters, it tells me a story about them. I really like Nia Simone Bijou she reminds me of someone who's tarpped in the island of Trinidad but she lives in L.A but moved to Atlanta/Stone Montain GA. When her ex-boyfirend Logan wanted to marry her, it was time for her to moved on with her life. She fells in love with the twins Karl & Mark. At the begianng for the middle chapter of each book Nia finds a ture lesbain love with Kiki Sunshine she was born in Brzil but lives in North Carolina. Eric Jerome Dickey is a good author which means I've the time to read the rest of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Waiting for more....

    Can't wait for the sequel!!This can't be the end for Nia and the twins. I would recommend this book only if the sequel will follow ;)...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Need Twins!

    This sexually charged novel is appropriately titled - "Pleasure." Honestly, I almost put this book down for good several times. The beginning was rather slow. Only at the urging of others did I keep reading. After the introduction of the twin brothers did the story actually start moving and became interesting. Overall, the story was good. However, I was disappointed in the ending. With a slow beginning and disappointing ending, this is a book I'd recommend but more so as a library read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2008

    An Interesting Read

    I love EJD's books. He always comes out of the bag with something you can get into. And, this latest novel is no different. A good read. When's the next one?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    good read

    i really liked this book. its a very different from his previous as far as content and writing style is concerned. Thought i was reading Zane there for a minute. But what i really like about the book is that it gives the womans perspective about sex and relationships. i believe that a lot of women in general stuggle with the things that are discussed in the book. and one of the biggest things in the book that i could relate to was the need to be accepted by the oppisite sex. all in all i loved the book and i really does shine a light on some of the catch 22 situations that women face in the world i.e. if you are sexually free you are considered 'loose' but i think he did a wonderful job with the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    I loved this book, just as I loved all of Eric's book. I can tell you this, it's different from the other books he has written as long as he continues to write, I will support him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Not the same, but still EJD

    I have read every book written by EJD and I have loved all of them except for Sleeping W/Strangers and Waking W/Enemies. Pleasures was right on time. The erotica of this novel is in tune with my womanhood. I became more aware of my power, regardless to how unrealistic this novel and these characters may seem. I would like more of his old way of story-telling, but I'm an avid EJD reader and supporter. Can't wait for the next book. Make is holiday novel like Naughty or Nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    This book is HOT!!!!!!!

    This book is about a woman who decided to go for her own sexual needs, not what society interpret what they should be. If you are afraid of your own sexuality, this is not a book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2