BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Pleasure (Shadowdwellers Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

An enjoyable story line

Below ground in Alaska is a concealed city that humans are unaware of its existence. It is the place where the Shadowdwellers race reside. The underground is darkness as even the slightest ray of light can kill these people.

Sanctuary priest Sagan is kidnapped by a ...
Below ground in Alaska is a concealed city that humans are unaware of its existence. It is the place where the Shadowdwellers race reside. The underground is darkness as even the slightest ray of light can kill these people.

Sanctuary priest Sagan is kidnapped by a serial torturer killer and her minions; they bring him to the house of Valera, a born witch. She uses her magic to kill his captors shocking the underground priest that a human magic user has no taint of evil oozing from her.

Magnus, the head of Sanctuary, wants Sagan to bring his beloved Valera to the "dweller" city to demonstrate to the Night Riders that not all magic practitioners are evil. The senate governing the Shadowdwellers is trying to force Chancellor Malaya to marry a person of their choice and produce an heir. Her bodyguard Guin, who has protected and loved her (unrequitedly) for fifty years, detests his beloved having to marry a man not of her choosing. Unable to cope he leaves her for the first time in five decades. His departure makes Malaya realizes what she has taken for granted and how much she loves her bodyguard. Acadia, whose uses another name in the senate, attacks Magnus' wife and Guin, leaving it to the outsider Valera to mitigate damages although few Shadowdwellers trust her.

Thus ends the exhilarating Shadowdweller trilogy (see ECSTASY and RAPTURE) and while the enjoyable story line fails to wrap up everything in a nice tidy package, readers will gain much PLEASURE from this fine entry that hopes for peace amidst the night walker species. The romantic subplot between Guin and Malaya is fascinating as he tries to hide his feelings especially his ire over what the leaders are doing to his beloved while she fails to see him beyond a trusty protector and to a degree friend. The other romantic subplot is also terrific as the human witch and the Shadowdweller are natural enemies. Jacquelyn Frank is a master fantasist who makes her paranormal earth seem real with a spark of hope for peace, but frankly this is an author known for her twists and spins.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Two stories... but would have been better as one

I was not expecting this to be two seperate stories. Both were ok but I wish Segan's story would have been just as long as Malaya's. Segan's part ended so quickly. It left me with a million questions. It would have been great to see Val entering his world, meeting p...
I was not expecting this to be two seperate stories. Both were ok but I wish Segan's story would have been just as long as Malaya's. Segan's part ended so quickly. It left me with a million questions. It would have been great to see Val entering his world, meeting people, etc. Not to mention how people reacted to the changes in Segan's status. It left me wishing there was more but not finding it. Disappointing.

posted by C3_1991 on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An enjoyable story line

    Below ground in Alaska is a concealed city that humans are unaware of its existence. It is the place where the Shadowdwellers race reside. The underground is darkness as even the slightest ray of light can kill these people.

    Sanctuary priest Sagan is kidnapped by a serial torturer killer and her minions; they bring him to the house of Valera, a born witch. She uses her magic to kill his captors shocking the underground priest that a human magic user has no taint of evil oozing from her.

    Magnus, the head of Sanctuary, wants Sagan to bring his beloved Valera to the "dweller" city to demonstrate to the Night Riders that not all magic practitioners are evil. The senate governing the Shadowdwellers is trying to force Chancellor Malaya to marry a person of their choice and produce an heir. Her bodyguard Guin, who has protected and loved her (unrequitedly) for fifty years, detests his beloved having to marry a man not of her choosing. Unable to cope he leaves her for the first time in five decades. His departure makes Malaya realizes what she has taken for granted and how much she loves her bodyguard. Acadia, whose uses another name in the senate, attacks Magnus' wife and Guin, leaving it to the outsider Valera to mitigate damages although few Shadowdwellers trust her.

    Thus ends the exhilarating Shadowdweller trilogy (see ECSTASY and RAPTURE) and while the enjoyable story line fails to wrap up everything in a nice tidy package, readers will gain much PLEASURE from this fine entry that hopes for peace amidst the night walker species. The romantic subplot between Guin and Malaya is fascinating as he tries to hide his feelings especially his ire over what the leaders are doing to his beloved while she fails to see him beyond a trusty protector and to a degree friend. The other romantic subplot is also terrific as the human witch and the Shadowdweller are natural enemies. Jacquelyn Frank is a master fantasist who makes her paranormal earth seem real with a spark of hope for peace, but frankly this is an author known for her twists and spins.

    Harriet Klausner

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    What a wonderful spin off for her Nightwalker series

    I have been reading Frank for a couple of years now and love her work. Please try and read her series in order, it's easier to understand the world she has built. I knew that Malaya and Guin would get their story. A couple of readers suggest that this work is disjointed because it starts off immediatly with where book 2 leaves off with Sagan's dissapearance and we get his story and it introduces his mate. And then we get Malayas story. As a reader, you need to treat this book as two novellas under a single title, and again, I encourage the reader to start with book 1 for world building and character references. Sagan's story being a novella works just fine and Malaya doesn't need a complete novel as her story with Guin really picks up in book 2. I cant say another thing without "spoilers," but do read her books, they are wonderful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    A Great Read...

    Jacquelyn Frank is an excellent writer. This book is just as captivating as the first. I would recommend it to everyone. If you liked reading the first in this series, you are definately going to like the second and third. Enjoy!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Gripping!

    From the first page, the story will pull you in and grip you! Vivid scenes, non-stop action, supernatural characters...Great! Someone please make a movie!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Continuation of the series!

    Loved this book! I wasn't sure I was going to like a story on Sagan - I thought he was a rather boring addition to the last book. But I should have had faith in Frank, all her books are phenomenal! And of course, I couldn't wait for the story of Guin - he is hot!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    I loved this book, I couldn't put it down till I was done with i

    I loved this book, I couldn't put it down till I was done with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    I'm definitely a fan

    I enjoyed all of the books in this series. Jacquelyn Frank has definitely captured the imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Best sovfar

    I loved this book!!!!! I recomend 10000000000%!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Enjoyed it!

    Loved this series! What about Tristian?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    Simply perfect

    As usual I opened the book and did not put it down until I finished. The title says it all. I had read the first two books and was not disappointed by this volume. It would have been even better to develop Sagan's story though. Overall, an excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Great!

    I have wanted a book about these two for so long and it was worth the wait! What great chemistry!
    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5