Customer Reviews for

Pleasure Me

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

a very personal love story

"Pleasure Me", by Monica Burns, spoke to me on numerous varying levels. Many times in people there is a difference between age and maturity. There is also a great difference between youth and youthfulness. There are certain women, like the heroine Ruth, who are "timeles...
"Pleasure Me", by Monica Burns, spoke to me on numerous varying levels. Many times in people there is a difference between age and maturity. There is also a great difference between youth and youthfulness. There are certain women, like the heroine Ruth, who are "timeless". With "Pleasure Me", Ms. Burns succeeds in creating a sensual romance about two very attractive people who met not at the same place in years, but at exactly the right time for their hearts. This is the type of romance which I find the most compelling and the most rewarding for me as a reader. The characters are well-drawn and the story line is compelling and involving. The hero, Garrick, had made his way through life carrying a great personal secret which affected his self-esteem and his ability to think of himself as truly attractive to women. Meeting Ruth, a celebrated courtesan and beauty, he was immediately drawn to her sweetness and warmth. Her age, twelve years his senior, did not detract from her appeal. However, Ruth had many doubts about her continued attractiveness, and she never expected to become involved with a younger man. As they revealed their vulnerabilities to each other, their growing regard and undeniable passion strengthened them both and enriched their lives beyond their wildest dreams. "Pleasure Me" is much, much more than a sensual romance. It is a love story about two people who see each other with lovers eyes wide open, and together they are truly a sight to behold. Highly recommended!

posted by gincam on March 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Blackheart

Smokey black tom with golden eyes. He can go rough and har or soft and gentle

posted by 10690252 on November 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    A MUST READ!OLDER WOMAN YOUNGER MAN WITH SECRETS!A GREAT LOVE STORY!!PLEASURE ME BY MONICA BURNS!!!

    PLEASURE ME by Monica Burns is an exciting erotic historical romance set in 1897 London. It is well written with depth and details,It is the story of an older woman,a courtesan and a younger gentleman.He is twelve years younger than her,who is forty one.This story has passion,mystery,love,romance, suspense,a murder,erotic sensuality and shows that age does not necessary mean you should be put out to pasture. When Lady Ruth,meets the handsome Baron Garrick Stratfield sparks fly. Secrets will be revealed slowly,past hurts will begin to heal and all will not be lost.While Baron Stratfield is a very virile man he is also a virgin,which he has kept hidden for years.By having a mistress,who won't tell his secret.He has a small birth defect,which his uncle has belittled him for years over.His shame has kept him from letting any woman touch or see him naked until he meets his Lady Ruth than..... Lady Ruth believes she is simply too old,not attractive any more especially after her last lover left for a younger mistress.Together, Lady Ruth and Baron Stratfield will begin the process of healing,acceptance,their true love,and forgiveness. This story is more than a sensual romance it shows even if you think you are to old,or you have a physical impairment that does not take away from your attraction or your appeal... it only strengthens your character.Old wounds,hurts,betrayals can heal with the love and strength of another.This story also has an intertwining story of the care and upkeep of the orphans of London.This book was received from GoodReads and the author and details can be found at The Berkley Publishers Group,published by Penguin Group(USA),Inc. and My Book Addiction and More.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    a very personal love story

    "Pleasure Me", by Monica Burns, spoke to me on numerous varying levels. Many times in people there is a difference between age and maturity. There is also a great difference between youth and youthfulness. There are certain women, like the heroine Ruth, who are "timeless". With "Pleasure Me", Ms. Burns succeeds in creating a sensual romance about two very attractive people who met not at the same place in years, but at exactly the right time for their hearts. This is the type of romance which I find the most compelling and the most rewarding for me as a reader. The characters are well-drawn and the story line is compelling and involving. The hero, Garrick, had made his way through life carrying a great personal secret which affected his self-esteem and his ability to think of himself as truly attractive to women. Meeting Ruth, a celebrated courtesan and beauty, he was immediately drawn to her sweetness and warmth. Her age, twelve years his senior, did not detract from her appeal. However, Ruth had many doubts about her continued attractiveness, and she never expected to become involved with a younger man. As they revealed their vulnerabilities to each other, their growing regard and undeniable passion strengthened them both and enriched their lives beyond their wildest dreams. "Pleasure Me" is much, much more than a sensual romance. It is a love story about two people who see each other with lovers eyes wide open, and together they are truly a sight to behold. Highly recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pleasure Me is a refreshing late Victorian erotic romance

    In 1897 London, Marston kindly tells his mistress forty-one years old Lady Ruth Attwood that he has formed a tender with Ernestina Fitzgerald. Ruth knows he is being kind as the tendre is because Ernestine is much younger than her until she asks for the money he promised her. He becomes a sanctimonious pig telling her to sell the jewelry he gave her; she knows that will bring in a paltry sum considering her loyal servants Simmons and Dolores and the orphans at St. Agnes she funds. She knows her career as a prime choice courtesan is over.

    Considered a stud Baron Garrick Stratfield learns like the rest of the Ton that Marston cut off Ruth. Being the son of a mother who abandoned him and his sister and a father who committed suicide masculine Garrick is extremely discreet. However even after bashing in a lord who insulted his sister, he has a secret that has left him a virgin. Garrick hires Ruth to teach him how to make love with a woman. As they begin their tryst, they shockingly begin to fall in love though he is so much younger than she. However, a serpent wanting to blackmail one of them and bury the other begins using insider knowledge to tell lies.

    Pleasure Me is a refreshing late Victorian erotic romance starring two unlikely lovers in a May-September relationship. Ruth is a rare protagonist as an experienced woman "passed" her prime falling in love; Garrick is as rare male lead as a virgin. Although the villain's actions detract from a profound gender bending character study, historical romance readers will appreciate the love story of the older courtesan and the very virile virgin.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love Monica's books; they make you feel, and not all writers can do that.

    Pleasure Me is a historical romance that features an aging courtesan and a young nobleman crippled by a hidden birth defect. Ruth Attwood is a woman who has not chosen her place in the world, it was a last resort but despite the circumstances that pushed her into becoming a courtesan, she behaves with grace and dignity. Ruth Attwood is the kind of person you want to know, and the kind of woman who could be very dangerous Garrick Stratfield and his secrets.

    This is unlike Monica's other books in that there is no immediate, serious physical danger to the characters. Pleasure Me is more about two people finding themselves and each other. That's not to say that there isn't external danger, but they stand to hurt one another far more than others.

    Each of the characters has a crutch: Ruth is hung up on her age, and Garrick believes his defect is more debilitating than it really is. I read this book straight through, so if you're like me, you're probably going to get to the last quarter of the book and shrug each time Ruth brings up her age. I pity Garrick getting through that stone wall! But it was Garrick's crutch that really hooked me. At a young age he was mocked for his defect and has spent much of his adult life compensating; so much that he's let much of life pass him by. I cheered for Garrick the whole time. He stole bits of my heart as I read. The characters, in Monica Burns style, come alive; not just Ruth and Garrick, but Garrick's sisters and Ruth's friends.

    The supporting cast is just as endearing as the two main characters. Ruth and Garrick are not the only ones with a story going on in this book. A lot of books seem to forget that life goes on for people surrounding the pivotal couple, but not in Pleasure Me. The whole cast of characters connect with you on some level; from the character who got the second chance at life, to those struggling through the pitfalls of life.

    As with Monica's writing, there's plenty of hot, steamy stuff between the sheets and everywhere else. There's also other elements of Ruth and Garrick's lives that intertwine through the story that just goes to show that age and disability mean a person doesn't live and do great things, even if those great things are small acts of kindness.

    I love Monica's books; they make you feel, and not all writers can do that.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Loved this

    Erotic, sweet, fun. Heroine was a bit older than the usual heroines and I loved that. She didn't feel sorry for herself or the life she created. The hero was hot and then scenes were steamy without being uncomfortably vulgar. Nice bit of fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    This was the first monica burns story I read! and I was hooked!

    This was the first monica burns story I read! and I was hooked! from the very first the older woman younger man got to me and the fact that he was still a virgin and she a courtesan made it so much more worth it! :-) It was amusing and loving and very well done! even at the end it was an amazing read for me! I have no read all of monica's books and have loved every one of them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Good

    The book was good, I enjoy reading a book about an older woman and younger man falling in love. I too married a younger man. This book was definitely not worth 12.99, maybe 2.99! It was so redundant about Ruth's age and Garrick's missing part. Anyway it had an ending, HEA!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Pleasure Me was an enjoyable read. The characters were well dev

    Pleasure Me was an enjoyable read. The characters were well developed and easy to like. Monica Burns gives her characters depth and vulnerability. I liked that Ruth was older than Garrick. The age differences between the main characters and the attitudes toward physical deformity were central themes that made this story compelling and engaging. It was a pleasure to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Julie

    Long black hair soft and glossy . Lovely hazel eyes. Slim body looking for a boy to can take it rough

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Amy

    Hey i smile

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Bramblefire

    Red pelt, sharp claws, blue pads, and green eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Seth to amy

    A lean guy with messy brown hair and honey gold eyes. Ruggedly hansome."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    My den for toms only

    Oh hey sexy. Leve a desc of your tom above. Might pick more than one for extra fun..hehehehe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    THE TOM

    LEAVES.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Good Read

    Good Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2