Customer Reviews for

The Pleasure of My Company: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Good book!

    Very enjoyable. A quick read too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Interesting, Entertaining Read, that can be a bit hard to follow

    The Pleasure of my Company is probably the one book I've read that seemed very different from all the rest I've read. The concept behind the story (following the life of a man who "suffers" from OCD) is not something I come across often, but I liked it... a lot.

    The story is about a very intelligent man, named Daniel, who has a pretty severe case of OCD. You'll learn about his struggle to live with this problem, and how he copes with the outside world. You see him grow out of his shell, and that makes it a truly heart warming story.

    I did; however, find the story to be a little hard to follow some times. I suspect that may just be me though. There are several names in the book, and at first I had trouble keeping them straight. There were also a few parts of the story that seemed overall unnecessary (the pharmacist.) While it can help show what Daniel was like, in the end it just didn't seem like it needed to be there completely.

    All in all, this story is a great read, and I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a fairly relaxing read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Heartfelt and smart

    This book is one of the best modern fiction i have read - real human folly treated with honesty and compassion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2007

    Martin Improves in Second Novel

    Martin's second novel is a bit of an improvement over his first, but he still needs improvement to be taken seriously as a novelist. In The Pleasure of My Company, characters are more fleshed out than the dull caricatures in Shopgirl, Martin's first effort. Also, Martin didn't write himself into the book, as he so obviously did last time out with the Ray Porter character. Writing from the first-person perspective of Daniel Pecan Cambridge, the obsessive-compulsive protagonist, allows Martin to better unleash some of his droll observations on life in Southern California which seemed so out of place in the detached third-person perspective of Shopgirl. Also, Martin has learned to show action, especially conversations, instead of talking about it, even though he is still too overt with his character's feelings, not trusting his story to the telling detail. Still, with the exception of Martin's main character, most of the rest of the cast are two-dimensional props, or almost non-existent, as in the case of some family members who are not introduced at all until the final pages. The ending feels rushed, with Pecan's happily-ever-after character arc feeling a bit too pat. Like Shopgirl, it's an interesting mess, somewhat enjoyable while it lasts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2004

    Fantastic Read!

    I was very pleasantly surprised with this book! It hit all the right buttons. My husband can relate (somewhat) with this character, which made me laugh and CRY!! Must read - pure pleasure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2004

    Great read, I didn't want it to end

    This was a great story, and shows the imagination that Steve Martin has (I would have never guessed, I never really liked him as an actor). The main character is easy to relate to, I think that no matter how normal we think we are, we all have our own neurotic behaviours. I would have given it five stars, except it is too short, another two hundred pages would have been good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2004

    A Weekend Read!

    Martin proves himself, once again, as a talented storyteller. Flawed characters are realistic ones! Wonderful! Simply wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2004

    Dry, intelligent, funny

    I really enjoyed this book. I don't have a ton of time and this was definately a quick read. I was impressed by Steve Martin's intelligence and also his knowledge of nerotic behavior (makes you wonder.) I thought it was very funny and a nice story line. Very light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2004

    Wry, charming, disarmingly sweet

    Steve Martin's novella 'The Pleasure of My Company' is wryly comedic and winsomely sweet, a charming little puff of a story written with clear affectionate attention to detail and narrative voice by Steve Martin. With occasional sharp satirical jabs as life in Southern California, Martin gives us a neurotic, obsessive-compulsive hero who's as sweet as Forrest Gump and as endearingly loopy as a Larry McMurtry sidekick. This brief (less than 170 pages) and sprightly book is a one-night stand worth taking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2003

    the book contains much of the 'MY'!

    an insight to one's 'own' world is brought out in this novel! The viewpoint is interesting and well-sritten. It is 'sad' and yet 'funny' at the same time. It does show how 'love' outside one's self can change a person within...worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    It really made me laugh, it really made me think!

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. I was beginning to get a little obsessive-compulsive, myself, by the end of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2003

    I was a sincere pleasure to read...

    ...but I felt it didn't carry the same dramatic impact the Martin's first novella, Shopgirl, held.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2