Customer Reviews for

Pleasures of a Notorious Gentleman

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It is great to read about the characters in the preceding novels

It is great to read about the characters in the preceding novels. She connects them in such a way that you can't wait to read the next book! Mercy and Stephen were not as interesting as Ainsley and his crazy situation but it was still a good read.

posted by Whit25 on August 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Painful!

I loved her idea of the story, but the writing was painful! Every time something was said, it went back to a memory. Ugh I skimmed half the book so I wouldn't have to recap again and again.

posted by 8772691 on July 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    It is great to read about the characters in the preceding novels

    It is great to read about the characters in the preceding novels. She
    connects them in such a way that you can't wait to read the next book!
    Mercy and Stephen were not as interesting as Ainsley and his crazy
    situation but it was still a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Painful!

    I loved her idea of the story, but the writing was painful! Every time something was said, it went back to a memory. Ugh I skimmed half the book so I wouldn't have to recap again and again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    Such Good Reading!!

    To Stephen Lyons, women are a gift, precious treasures that bring pleasure. He made it his priority to enjoy these treasures and pleasures, becoming notorious for his prowess in London Society. However, when he returns from the Crimea War, his life has changed forever. Wounded and unable to remember anything that happened in the two years before he woke up in a hospital, Stephen tries to put his life back on track.

    Marcy Dawson, one of Florence Nightingale's nurses, becomes a connection to Stephen's time in the Crimea when she arrives with his baby in her arms. Since Stephen is staying with his family while he recuperates, they all get involved with Mercy and baby John. Thus, a tangle of omitted information, amnesia, greed, and love that is full of compassion, courage, and determination makes the conflicts in Pleasure of a Notorious Gentleman heart revving and heartrending.

    The emotional clutter in both Stephen and Mercy's lives sets up a minefield they try to navigate as their lives entwine. They seem to have almost made it, then a huge bomb falls in the form of Sarah (Fancy) Whisehunt.

    The cruelty Mercy endures just because she tries to do right by a darling, helpless baby is heartbreaking. Yet, deep down in her heart she knows her love has not been misplaced. She knows the real Stephen, not the one society sees.

    The secondary characters, most of whom were in Passions of a Wicked Earl, become vitally important as the tangle of secrets, lies, and love beyond reason bring Stephen to the full knowledge that he indeed does have character-a character that matured sometime during a horrifying war that he can't remember.

    Lorraine Heath magically brings the characters to life and creates a world fraught with the best and the worst of humankind's actions. Every Deadly Sin creeps in, but the most giving, precious love is victorious. Oh, yes, the love scenes are spellbinding. SUCH GOOD READING!

    Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Love the book,It had some sad chapters but that's life. I plan to read more books by this author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Takes place In England in the year 1855. A mysterious woman arrives with truth , lies, and a forbidding love for one of three brothers. An intriguing and heartfelt story that will keep you spell bound.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    enjoyed!!

    Liked this novel alot- romance and suspense!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Loved It!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    To Plz click

    I will have nook sex with u

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Good

    This is the second in the series It is a goid read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    I DO wish someone would tell us when a book is one of a series

    Second in a series of three novels about this particular family is a true tear jerker - in the best way. Loved all three books and it's hard to decide which one I liked the best; but, this one is absolutely wonderful, IMHO! Keep kleenex handy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Worth reading

    This is the second of three books. My favorite is the last one, about Ainsley. Mercy is very difficult to like and despite her pretense that "has never lied" to Stephen, she has. She marries him under false pretenses. Only Lorraine Heath could work through the characters ' histories and personalities such that you can almost see why she did it. She tries to hide her deception with dishonest and illegal acts ...I 'm trying not to give away the plot....but the premise that it is all for the love of the baby is thin. I would never trust this woman! Still a great read. I love Lorraine Heath...she always makes you think. But this not her best. I love the series with the cowboy earls...how could you not...and Jack Dodger and friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Romantic sequel

    This is a sequel to Passions of a Wicked Earl. The characters have a more unusual history than usual and it has a sweeter feel than Wicked Earl. Very Victorian feel and more serious. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Loved It!!!!!

    The story was great. I loved the characters. It was well written and I couldn't put it down. I will definitely be reading this again in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    Better than the first

    I liked this story, but I agree with several other reviews that it got tiresome with all the flashbacks on Mercy's part. I understand her guilt, but I got tired of the reminders. Anyhow, it was a good story. I liked the first in the series and this one was better- mainly because it left out the adultery, although it compensated with a marriage based on lies :-) Gotta have something I suppose. The last book is my favorite and these are definately worth reading to get to that one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    i fell in love with a broken heart

    BIG fan of Lorraine Heath! I love this book ! had me from the first page . made me laugh made me cry and fall in love ! thank you for another great read. this is a keeper. can't wait til next book in june.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    A DELIGHTFUL FULL OF LIFE AND THE AFTERMATH OF WAR! A GREAT REGENCY HISTORICAL ROMANCE!

    PLEASURES OF A NOTORIOUS GENTLEMAN by Lorraine Heath is a delightful historical romance set in 1855 Northamptonshire, England. It is well written with depth,details, twists,turns, a page turner, and a keeper. It is the second in the "London's Greatest Lovers " series but can be read as a stand alone. It has deception,romance,love, sweet sensuality,family, lies,wounded war hero, disgraced war nurse,aftermath of war, redemption, love scandal,loss of memories and trying to do the right thing for the sake of a child. The hero, Stephen, is a wounded war hero, has scars from the war, is a notorious rake,has bedded numerous woman, even during the war in a far off country,has no memory of the last two years in which he was in the war and has no intention of ever marrying. Enter, the heroine, Mercy, is strong-willed, determined, a disgraced war nurse, homely, has taken the responsibility of raising another woman's child and deeply in love with our war hero. When Mercy, takes Stephen's son to his family, she only tells them he is Stephen's and John's mother. She does not know Stephen is not dead. John's birth mother left them in Paris after he was born. She didn't want him. He would mess with her life.So Mercy takes him, cares for him and goes back to England as a disgraced unmarried woman with a small child. When Stephen enter the drawing room of his family's estate Mercy is shocked and happy to learn he is not dead. She does not know Stephen has no memory of his time in the war nor does he remember her. Stephen saved Mercy after she was brutal attacked by three men. They marry are happy for a while, but all does not stay that way. When John's birth mother learns of Stephen being knighted she decides to blackmail Mercy. Of course trouble follows.Will Mercy and Stephen remarry happy or will John's birth mother(Fancy) destroy their love and happiness?Pick up Pleasures of a Notorious Gentleman to find out you will not be sorry you did. Also if you have not read Passions of a Wicked Earl, the first in this series, I would also recommend you do. I would highly recommend this book especially if you enjoy high drama, some sweet sensuality, learning to trust, love and finding happiness in a blurry world with no memories of the past two years and all that happened during war time.This book was received for review from Net Galley and details can be found at Harper Collins Publishers and My Book Addiction and More.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Winner

    A ducal brother, Major Stephen Lyons returns home from the Crimean War. Before he left England, he had a bad reputation, so his relatives assume he will be back causing havoc. However, Stephen has issues from his time at war as he cannot remember anything especially when he achieved his goal of redemption.

    Combat nurse Mercy Dawson visits Stephen's family at Ainsley holding a baby that she claims is the Duke's nephew. To her shock Stephen is alive as she thought he died at war. Stephen does not remember the beautiful Mercy let alone having sex with her. She knows him as he was there for her when she suffered through an extremely painful situation. That is when she fell in love with the kind Stephen. Stephen insists they marry, but though she acquiesces, Mercy fears how he will react if he remembers what happened in the Crimea.

    The timing of this strong Victorian romance could not be better as American troops return from war zones with health issues including mental and the suicide rate is very high; to the credit of the Army they are making concerted efforts to help the soldier. The story line is driven by the emotional changing relationship between the nurse and her former patient as each has healing to go through before they might gel with their baby into a loving family. The second London's Greatest Lovers historical romance (see Passions of a Wicked Earl) is a super mid nineteenth century drama as the aftermath emotional scarring of war is best healed by the love of family and friends; no one especially those fighting for their country should be left behind mentally.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6