Customer Reviews for

The Pledge (Pledge Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 233 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(117)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Derting writes at a whole new level of awesome!!!

In a world where language divides the classes and everyone is expected to behave according to their stature in life, Charlie is no ordinary vendor's daughter, she can understand every language she hears. Try as she might to keep her head down and avoid drawing attention...
In a world where language divides the classes and everyone is expected to behave according to their stature in life, Charlie is no ordinary vendor's daughter, she can understand every language she hears. Try as she might to keep her head down and avoid drawing attention to herself, she makes a potentially grave mistake one night when she overhears a handsome stranger speaking in a tongue she's never heard before.
I used to refuse to read dystopian fiction. I know, I know. I was missing out on some really spectacular books and I have long since seen the errors of my ways. The thing is, I thought that they were just filled with death, destruction, and totally depressing themes. I might have had one bad experience with a book I will not name, for fear of reprisal, but now I know the real value of the genre is in the fantastic world building and the courageous characters.
The Pledge is no exception, I was pulled into Charlie's world right away and I couldn't stop reading until I knew what fate held in store for her. I loved Derting's twist on language and its role as a barrier amongst people, but the happiest surprise was how brave and strong the minor characters turned out to be. I was biting my nails as much for them as I was for the main character. While I liked Derting's The Body Finder series, I have to say this book takes her writing to a whole new level and I can't wait for the next book!

This is an advanced reader's copy courtesy of Simon & Schuster GalleyGrab.

posted by Lostnthestax on October 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Predictable

Interesting idea and setup, but not at all carried to fruition, although fast-paced action. The plot twists were easily guessed, and the ending incredibly non-original. That said, the love story made no sense. Besides base attraction, Max and Charlie never have any conn...
Interesting idea and setup, but not at all carried to fruition, although fast-paced action. The plot twists were easily guessed, and the ending incredibly non-original. That said, the love story made no sense. Besides base attraction, Max and Charlie never have any connection, there is no dialogue or action where they really get to know one another. I kept reading this book, due to the praise of an author I love, Carrie Ryan, and thinking that things would shape up. They didn't.

posted by Anonymous on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not as frightening as synopsis made it out to be.

    I felt like this was much more of a fantasy novel than a dystopian.

    The queen has been in power much longer than anyone realizes. She has a magical essence (her soul) that she uses in new bodies. Her time is almost up and she needs to find the One so she can inhabit that body.

    The synopsis says that Ludania is violent, but the pages of the book don't really depict that. The citizens run their own businesses and the teens go to clubs during the evenings. Yeah, everyone has to wear a passport to get checked in with, but even that isn't made violent because Brooklynn (Charlie's friend) flirts with the guards while they're getting their passports checked.

    The cool thing about this book is the language aspect. Each class has a different language and the only common language all the classes can speak is Englaise. Charlie can understand all of them.

    The beginning of the book was good as well as the last part of the book, but the middle was slow for me. Not only that, but approximately 2 - 3 chapters in, I already knew the outcome of the story.

    Max was a typical male character. He swore to protect Charlie and was intrigued by her when they first met, you all know how this goes.

    The story idea itself was awesome, but I felt like it didn't quite live up to the synopsis.

    I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    The only thing i really didn't like was how she made the love co

    The only thing i really didn't like was how she made the love connection toward Charlie and Max it seemed more of a love at first site which I'm not a big fan of. Otherwise the book was amazing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    The idea of this plot is unfortunately better than the actual bo

    The idea of this plot is unfortunately better than the actual book. I felt it had so much potential, but the writing style just did not capture me. I felt it almost to be written in a very juvenile tone. Nothing descriptive or really emotionally capturing. I didn’t feel a strong connection to any of the characters, and often felt that things were happening too quickly, without much explanation. I really was not planning on reading the second book until I came to the very end, which finally drew my attention. Overall, it was a good read, but nothing spectacular, when you consider other dystopian series that are out there. I just finished reading the Chemical Garden Series, and felt that the world built around it was so descriptive and believable, the writing style made you fly through each chapter. Whereas, throughout the Pledge, I didn’t feel satisfied with the way characters suddenly became someone else entirely, with a very thin explanation, or the way it felt we were told just the bare minimum in order for the story to make sense. I’m hoping the next book will go into more detail and will strengthen the characters!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Good story

    This was a good story but it lacked detail. I must admit thought, that the language class was a brilliant idea.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    A dystopian fairtale

    Very good a little cheesy but an extremely good concept and definetly worth reading. I love the twust on languages and howbit can affect society. Thiugh i wished that she had deved into a little bit more cgarcterization sj that we gt to know then betterbad key max and charlie fall in love slower but ohh over all very good :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    The pledge

    I enjoyed this book, but found it lacking in the ending, I felt it ended pretty quickly and left you with a... " ok now what? feeling"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book review: The Pledge by Kimberly Derting

    The premise for this story definitely had a unique twist. Caste distinction and social oppression defined through language. That said I found it to be a bit unbelievable.I think that had the same world building been done, the same class lines drawn but without the whole language barrier.and had Charlie carried a different manifestation of her power it would have made a lot more sense.

    I also tend to have some trouble with the whole "love at first sight" premise. Rarely is it done well enough that compulsion is visceral enough for me to believe it. This time it was a bit of a stretch.

    That said I did easily fall in love with her character and most of the secondary characters. There backstories and inter personal relationships were rich and warm and I quickly came to care for all of them. Sadly, Max felt a bit hollow.I never really "got" him.

    Although it was entertaining enough to keep me reading and not feel as if I'd wasted my time, I don't know that I'd recommend this book. Though I suspect that it will probably go over better with a younger audience .ie. the YA audience for which it is targeted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disliked the concept, compelling regardless...

    The Pledge had failed to impress me with the language division concept that becomes the groundwork of this series, although she did manage to captivate me with the story alone and also the paranormal element involved in the monarchy. In the end, the sinister, haunting add kept me curious and glued to the book until the last page. I don't necessarily anticipate the sequels; then again I'll give them a chance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    okay

    okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    i like the story plot and i think it is worth reading, yet the r

    i like the story plot and i think it is worth reading, yet the romance between charlie and max is not explored enough i wish their relationship would have been more than just love at first sight. they don't get to really know each other 
    in any point of the book. if the romance would have been played right, i would have given it a full five because of its importance in the book. yet, since it was done only barely decent i give it a three for lack of an actual
    relationship. i mean i felt like she wanted for the reader to assume they fell in love, but it seemed almost forced. this is a good book yo read only if you are willing to put up with the lack of realism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Great book

    This is a good book, it takes you a different world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    One of the things I love most about reading are the worlds creat

    One of the things I love most about reading are the worlds created inside a book. I am a huge fan of anything that can take me outside of my own life and plant me firmly inside a fantastical land. Derting's The Pledge did just that for me.


    Ludania is a world were the class system is clearly defined and enforced. You are never learned in any language other than two; your casts language and the one universal language. However, Charlie understands all languages - even the most rare. She always has and it is a secret her family guards with their lives.


    “I loved voices, I always had. Words held meaning, but voices held emotion.”



    Charlie's ability is not their only secret that would sentence them all to death if the Queen was aware. When Charlie learns her family's entire story her world is turned upside down and she is forced to make hard decisions, all while the country is at war and she finds herself pushed into the middle of it all.


    Max enters her life at both the worst and best time. His presence could end her or save her. Yet she can't seem to pull away from him. Not that I blame her, Max is hot! Charlie and Max make a good couple, they are both strong, determined, selfless and caring. They are both willing to make unlimited sacrifices for those they care and feel responsible for.

    “He leaned in then and kissed me again, sweet and soft and tender, silencing my arguments and stealing my breath, making me wonder how one simple gesture could be so tragically lovely.”


    Another aspect I loved about The Pledge was the Queen. She is so deliciously evil. She is a bit of a Maleficent from Sleeping Beauty. Gorgeous, powerful and absolutely horrible! I am a fan of sinful and immoral royals and this queen epitomizes that.

    Though I loved the world and the underlying story of The Pledge, it was not without its faults. Ultimately, I think the book was too short. Had it been longer there could have been more development of the characters and their relationships. I found those to be slightly lacking. Also, with a plot so focused on languages and words - this writing needed a little more magic in its words.


    Not that either deters me from continuing the series, I'm eager to see where it goes and excited to see how the world develops.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    The Pledge was a decent book, not the best of the Dystopian soci

    The Pledge was a decent book, not the best of the Dystopian society books I've read. It reminded me of Divergent and the Hunger Games, in the aspect of them being divided by class or groups. The one thing that didn't sit well with me was the romance. The author just didn't portray the love story between Max and Charlie right. It was very awkward at certain parts and annoying how Charlie seemed to struggle between whether or not she liked Max. Max wasn't my obsession, like so many other romanitic characters in other books. I just didn't like him. He was poorly written. The book was poorly written. There was something confusing in the way she wrote it, she tried to explain too much in certain scenes, which threw me off and made it hard to follow. It was sort of fast-paced but in parts it dragged on or over explained. It was a good idea, however not properly executed. The characters could've been stronger, the writing should've been darker to set a mood (like the Mortal Instruments), and the flow of the book could've been better. Overall, a decent read, probably wont be interested in reading the second...then again I just might.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Events in the story were sometimes loosely connected, and the a

    Events in the story were sometimes loosely connected, and the author makes quick jumps from one event to the next. I was not very connected to the love story, unfortunately. That's usually one of my favorite parts of dystopian books, because it gives hope to a hopeless society. The love story was rushed, things just seemed to happen too fast for me. Charlie's best friend Brooke was actually the most interesting character for me, she definitely had some surprises up her sleeves that changed the whole book, so keep an eye out for her. The evil queen was pretty...well evil, and the connections she had with other characters and with the plot were the strongest in the entire book.The concepts were intruiging, while I found the execution lacking. I would recommend it to girls between the ages of 15 to 20. I think the book is part of a series, and it ended very openly, yet I'm really not sure where Derting is going to take the story because I felt the characters were so underveloped. Overall it was a good read, and a pretty quick one at that. I'm hoping to read The Body Finder (another one of Derting's books) next because I've heard good things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    Not amazing, the writter dwelled a lot on the same things throug

    Not amazing, the writter dwelled a lot on the same things through the
    entire book. She painted a picture but it lacked plot and action. Action
    meaning something other than touching or feelings. She has a lot of good
    ideas but they were over shadowed by the close-to-soft-porn descriptions
    that were on every single page. Buy it, but only if theres nothing else
    you want.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Could have been better.

    It wasnt as exciting as the summary made it out to be. I felt it was predictable, flat and a bit rushed. From the mention of a lost royal family, I knew (what was her name again?) was going to be the missing princess of that family. I knew from the mention of Max that she was going to be with him. I knew the queen was going to die in the end and be replaced by whats-her-face. I knew a lot of things. Why was this book so short? Descriptions could have been a bit more and transitions into scenes could have been a bit longer and smoother. The book lacked character development. I couldnt really connect with oh yeah, Charlie, and Max. I also couldnt get into their relationship. It felt forced like the writer felt she HAD to just throw in some romance to spice thing up a bit (and it didnt really). I only really liked Angelina and that was because she was unusual. I might read the next book because it shows promise. This novel reminds me of Cinder and the Divergent trilogy. 3 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    Pretty good book

    Was pretty good probably read a second book if there is going to be one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Pseudo Dystopian Fairytale

    While the story is likeable, it's incredibly predictable. This story is what would result if Disney made a dark, dystpian story. Wicked queen, hidden princess, love story etc. It's a quick easy read which doesn't truly leave much to discover. The only suprise for me was Charlie's friend, Brooklyn and who she was allied with. Otherwise, who was royal, related and important were easily deduced upon the character's introduction into the story. The plot was easily predictable as well and definitely set up for future books in a series. It eas okay but nothing phenomeal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Interesing, but not brillant

    The Pledge is an interesting concept for a novel which mixes fantasy into a dyspoian society. There are Queens, princes, lost royality, a rebelion, and a simple Vendor's daughter all thrown together to create a new world where language and classes separate everyone.

    I enjoyed many aspects of the story, but found myself wanting to reach into the book and strangle Charlie (the protagonist) many times.

    Overall, it was enjoyable but not a anything above normal for writing style, characters, plot, or interest level.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    Predictable and Boring Ending

    IN AN OPPRESSIVE LAND, A TRUE QUEEN WILL RISE
    In Ludania people are divided into casts based on language. It is forbidden to look a person in a higher class in the eye while they speak their own language. It is forbidden to understand any language, but your own.
    Charlaina is special. She can interpret any language. It is her most precious secret. Her family protected has her, kept her safe.
    Ludania is in constant threat of attack from the rebels. Families are turning on each other. In all this chaos, Charlie still manages to keep her secret, until one fateful night when she mets Max.




    Kimberly Derting¿s new book will not disappoint. The world she has created is fantastic. Readers will fall in love with the characters. Max is wonderful, and the readers will be shocked to discover who he is. Charlie¿s sister is magnificent and so brave for being so young. The Pledge contains many surprises, readers will not see coming. Sadly the ending is not so shocking. The book was ruined with its predictable and boring ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2