Customer Reviews for

The Pledge (Pledge Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 233 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(117)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Derting writes at a whole new level of awesome!!!

In a world where language divides the classes and everyone is expected to behave according to their stature in life, Charlie is no ordinary vendor's daughter, she can understand every language she hears. Try as she might to keep her head down and avoid drawing attention...
In a world where language divides the classes and everyone is expected to behave according to their stature in life, Charlie is no ordinary vendor's daughter, she can understand every language she hears. Try as she might to keep her head down and avoid drawing attention to herself, she makes a potentially grave mistake one night when she overhears a handsome stranger speaking in a tongue she's never heard before.
I used to refuse to read dystopian fiction. I know, I know. I was missing out on some really spectacular books and I have long since seen the errors of my ways. The thing is, I thought that they were just filled with death, destruction, and totally depressing themes. I might have had one bad experience with a book I will not name, for fear of reprisal, but now I know the real value of the genre is in the fantastic world building and the courageous characters.
The Pledge is no exception, I was pulled into Charlie's world right away and I couldn't stop reading until I knew what fate held in store for her. I loved Derting's twist on language and its role as a barrier amongst people, but the happiest surprise was how brave and strong the minor characters turned out to be. I was biting my nails as much for them as I was for the main character. While I liked Derting's The Body Finder series, I have to say this book takes her writing to a whole new level and I can't wait for the next book!

This is an advanced reader's copy courtesy of Simon & Schuster GalleyGrab.

posted by Lostnthestax on October 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Predictable

Interesting idea and setup, but not at all carried to fruition, although fast-paced action. The plot twists were easily guessed, and the ending incredibly non-original. That said, the love story made no sense. Besides base attraction, Max and Charlie never have any conn...
Interesting idea and setup, but not at all carried to fruition, although fast-paced action. The plot twists were easily guessed, and the ending incredibly non-original. That said, the love story made no sense. Besides base attraction, Max and Charlie never have any connection, there is no dialogue or action where they really get to know one another. I kept reading this book, due to the praise of an author I love, Carrie Ryan, and thinking that things would shape up. They didn't.

posted by Anonymous on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Derting writes at a whole new level of awesome!!!

    In a world where language divides the classes and everyone is expected to behave according to their stature in life, Charlie is no ordinary vendor's daughter, she can understand every language she hears. Try as she might to keep her head down and avoid drawing attention to herself, she makes a potentially grave mistake one night when she overhears a handsome stranger speaking in a tongue she's never heard before.
    I used to refuse to read dystopian fiction. I know, I know. I was missing out on some really spectacular books and I have long since seen the errors of my ways. The thing is, I thought that they were just filled with death, destruction, and totally depressing themes. I might have had one bad experience with a book I will not name, for fear of reprisal, but now I know the real value of the genre is in the fantastic world building and the courageous characters.
    The Pledge is no exception, I was pulled into Charlie's world right away and I couldn't stop reading until I knew what fate held in store for her. I loved Derting's twist on language and its role as a barrier amongst people, but the happiest surprise was how brave and strong the minor characters turned out to be. I was biting my nails as much for them as I was for the main character. While I liked Derting's The Body Finder series, I have to say this book takes her writing to a whole new level and I can't wait for the next book!

    This is an advanced reader's copy courtesy of Simon & Schuster GalleyGrab.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great!!

    So, Charlie resides in Ludania, a country where they keep everyone divided into a rigid caste system. Like the age-old residents of Babel (as in Tower of), Ludania's citizens cannot understand any languages other than that of their caste and a universal language, except Charlie (natch, or we wouldn't have much of a story here...).

    So, you know something's up the minute the mysterious Max comes on the scene and she can understand him although she's never heard the language before. Max (of course) is drawn to Charlie because she is so compelling. (I'm so over this device in YA novels.)¿

    However, the day is saved (in terms of me not having a diabetic attack due to sappy overload) because Charlie doesn't immediately fall head over heels for Max just because he's dreamy. She makes him work for it and that's a good thing. If every teen girl starts taking a page out of most YA novels and falls for the first hot, creepy guy that is drawn (lusting) after them, we are in BIG trouble.

    Charlie is a great FP (female protagonist) and has a good sense of responsibility and love for her family. I liked rebel leader, Xander's role and was wondering if a potential love triangle was going to pop up. Max for all of his instant-love-you-forever-sappiness eventually won me over and, by the end, I was happy with how his part of the story winded up.

    Although, I'm sure, this book is just the beginning of a series, it really could have stood alone. You can see that there is room for more to tell, but I appreciate that Derting kept the novel intact instead of treating it as an Act I, as so many YA authors are doing lately.

    The pace was fire-quick and I was able to breeze through The Pledge with a quickness. The Pledge introduces us to an amazing and unique world. Derting has created a tale that I definitely want more of and her characters kept my attention at every turn. Bring on the sequel!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    *****Originally posted on amoustachebookshelf.blogspot.ca*****

    *****Originally posted on amoustachebookshelf.blogspot.ca*****

    The Pledge is about a girl named Charlaina, or Charlie, who lives in a queendom where the language you speak depends on what class you're born in. There are strict rules and if you break the law, you die. However, Charlie has a power that might lead her to her death: she understand all languages. 

    I heard about the book over the Internet, but I wasn't sure if I should give it a try because of the different reviews I read. But here I am, recommending it to all of those of love dystopian books with a touch of romance. We really understand what she goes through and the author adds some details that, at first, don't have any meanings, but as the story goes on it start to make you go "Oh my god! So that's why blablabla". All little details in The Pledge had a meaning. Also, there is no typical friendzoned best friends, and I am really glad about it. It always make me sad and kind of guilty when the sweet best friend get friendzoned by the main protagonist. But it didn't happened, so let's party!!! *woop woop* 

    What I less enjoy was the fact that Charlaina wasn't the fighting-for-myself kind of girl, you know what I mean? Yes, she was understanding, caring and trustful but there was this little thing missing that would make her be the I'm-calm-but-don't-mess-with-me kind of girl. That made it hard for me to slip into the skin of the character. But I can't have everything I want. But since I am getting the second book...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    I Pledge to be 100% Honest

    I loved the cincept of the book, the whole divison because of language is what caused me to read the book in the first place. As I continued in the book I realized that this book is as slightly dark and twisted as I hoped it would be. As I dont want to ruin the book for future readers, I will refain from devulging too much information, but this book will really have you hooked...I pledge to you(lolz...I couldn't resist)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Loved it

    This story was everything a book should be. The story sucked you in within the very first chapter. The charters were strong but not over powering and i couldnt put in down until the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Really Good Dystopian Story

    Charlie is a Vendor, a class designed strictly to serving people. She is only supposed to know her language. If she hears someone speaking in another language, she is supposed to avert her eyes and be passive. Unfortunately, Charlie has the ability to understand all languages spoken and written. She has hidden this from people, with the help of her parents, for several years. But when she is at a club with her friend Brooklyn, she hears a language never spoken before and almost gets caught. Then we learn that the Queen of Ludania is dieing. But she has magical powers that let her transfer here Essence from her body to a female heir. The problem is she has no female heirs and is on the look out for the last surviving family from the time when all royalty was killed. She has sent her grandson Max out to look for the girl. Max stumbles upon Charlie at a club and has the feeling that there is something special about her and vows to protect her. All this happens as Ludania is about to erupt into war. Rival monarchies and rebels are tired of the Queens rule. Xander is the leader of the rebels. After a chance meeting with Charlie, he has thinks that he has found the key to getting the Queen off the throne. I really liked this book. I hate to say it, but I liked Charlie¿s friend Aron better than Max or Xander. I will admit that I might have been a little slow in the beginning but the ending came with a bang. After reading this, I¿m really excited to read The Body Finder series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    THE PLEDGE pairs dystopian setting with a classical form of gove

    THE PLEDGE pairs dystopian setting with a classical form of government, the monarchy. Kimberly Derting takes us to a future world ruled by Queen Sabara. To the land of Ludania, where people are divided by their language. They could be executed if they ever try to speak or understand another than their own language. Those numerous languages were occasionally mentioned, unfortunately we don’t get a sample of their sounds.
    It’s an interesting concept that Kimberly Derting gave a woman the power to rule the kingdom and decide over life and death. We are fast introduced to all the rules and restrictions determining daily life of citizens and our heroine Charlaina. She understands every language and that mystery really got me. How come she can do that? I was so eager to find out what was behind that special ability of hers.
    The story is told from two point of views. Our main character is Charlie who tells the story in the perspective of 1st person narrator. Then we got a third person POV of the Queen which creates a great contrast between protagonist and antagonist.
    It took some time for the story to lure me in. Since that one point where a few secrets and a growing romance start becoming a more dominant part of the story, I got more involved in Charlie's story. Unfortunately sometimes the love story between Charlie and that guy, Max, felt a bit too vague.
    Kimberly Derting captures the moment of Charlie being on the fence about her growing feelings for Max, but at some point Charlie’s struggles were just too much for me to take any longer. It was not that turbulent and cute love story that I’m a fan of, but effortlessly fit the overall style of THE PLEDGE.
    THE PLEDGE shows that the same author can write books that couldn’t be more different. I’m a huge fan of Kimberly Derting’s THE BODY FINDER series and am a bit spoiled when it comes to mystery-action factor and super sweet romance. THE PLEDGE is much slower in pace and even Kimberly’s writing, which I know is really really good, didn’t feel that impressive in her first book in the THE PLEDGE series.


    3,5/5 ***/* THE PLEDGE- A dystopian read, highlighted by historical character!

    THE PLEDGE is definitely no comparison to Kimberly Derting’s THE BODY FINDER series, which is one of my favourites. Several moments of surprise, a well developed course of actions and the general good intuition for an interesting world though, make THE PLEDGE a book worth giving a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    Starts off slow, but turns into an awesome book

    It's slow at the beginning, but it turns into a really good book. I can't wait for the last one to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Love it

    Was great. Page turner. Up till 2 am reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Really great :)

    I finished this recently and may I say that I loved it very much, definatly worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    The Pledge

    Cool book of magic and royal bloodlines. Truly was a great book and I look forward to reading The Essence (book 2) :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Enjoyed!!

    I started hooked and ended hooked. I truly enjoyed this book. I read it in two days. One aspect I found intriguing was my inability to guess what would happen next. The character development is good- I only wish the reader could enjoy more depth in each character, far more than current thoughts or events. Overall very pleased and reccommended for others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    Best story to read...

    Best story to read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    this book was a great read. I couldn't put it down the moment I

    this book was a great read. I couldn't put it down the moment I got it in the mail. Finished it in two days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Wow

    I'm really into the dystopian YA lit, so this book had high standards to live up to...and it did. When are the next 2 coming out??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Good book!

    I enjoyed reading this book. I was not sure what to expect at first, but I am glad that I decided to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Well worth the read!!!

    This book was a very enjoyable read with just the right amount of action and romance to keep you questioning throughout the novel. In the end causing you to want more and more! Kimberly Derting did a fantastic job! :) I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Entertaining

    Definitely has a hunger games feel to it, which i like. I like the premesis of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Loved It

    I loved the story line. I bought the book on a whim. It was interesting hearing the story from the other characters. I loved the romance, but wished Max had proved himself more. Great book. Cant wait to read the sequel. I hope that Max and Charlie are still holding strong . Definitely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    This book is inteseresting

    I really liked this book because of how different their civilization was. I just wanted to keep findingn out new things about it and of the main charecter and her awesomebability!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4